We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood sensation”
Review of Casmar Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Casmar Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $2 - $75
Cuisines: Australian, Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Casmar Restaurant & Bar is the only restaurant in Palm Cove that has a balcony with stunning views. Situated upstairs, it boasts privacy and entertainment for whatever occasion. Lunch, dinner, birthdays or weddings. Trading hours are Wed-Sun 12pm-late. So call us and make a booking, or, simply pop in and enjoy the great food and relaxing atmosphere.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seafood sensation”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We found this hidden restaurant as we walked down the street one day, with a seafood platter for two catching our eye. As my boyfriend is a coeliac we find it very difficult to find places that accommodate his dietary requirements. We approached the chef who had excellent knowledge of coeliac disease and what my boyfriend could and could not eat. We came back for dinner three nights later and the chef remembered exactly who we were and what we wanted. The seafood platter was absolutely amazing and fantastic value for money. We both left full and extremely satisfied after an excellent dining experience. The owner is extremely friendly. We will definitely return to this restaurant and we highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eringrace2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    36
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

While in Palm Cove we went to the Casmar Restaurant and Bar. We were warmly welcomed by the owner. We had a Tapa of meat and bread among the 3 of us with our pre-dinner drinks
Two of us had the Veal Oscar and the other person had the Spicy reef fish wrapped in prosciutto, We all found our meals delicious. The chef came out to see if everything was fine and chatted with us.
We followed this with crepe suzettee. We asked for ice cream to go with it as it was not on the menu. The chef thought also that we may like to have chantilly cream with it. Although the crepe suzette did not have the strong alcohol flavour as sometimes it has the orange flavour and the cream and ice cream went superbly with it. This was all for not extra cost.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Our last night in Palm Cove walked in off the street. Theme confusing and decor needs attention but the balcony was nice. Friendly new owner and staff. The seafood platter for two was wonderful and good value. ($100) Service was good

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KIMC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food,great service, beautiful views.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I visited palm cove recently and went for dinner twice at casmar. The first time I had the lamb rack, which was divine and very reasonably priced for the size of the meal. The service and atmosphere were fantastic and relaxed. Which is why I went back and tried the veal!
The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Congratulations to the new owner "Mon" and thank you to all the staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VERY AVERAGE”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Thought I would give the new owners a go.. But to be honest I won't be hurrying back.
Firstly the tables were very close together and when seated it was very squishy. My friend had to get out of her seat for the table next to us to be seated. I'm not sure where they are going with the menu but the meals were very small and bland, my prawns were over cooked. It definitely isn't the same without the sisters. Does anyone know if they have a new restaurant?

Helpful?
Thank suncityCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casmar Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing