We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed, but livable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“mixed, but livable.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pros: they supply linens, all room have ocean views + back doors so there's a good breeze. Kitchens OK appointed, french press (but no grinder). No kitchen towels. Property sits right across from the netted swim area. Ceiling fans were good. Can definitely hear the waves when the surf's up. Owners are very pleasant and welcoming.

Cons: The property sits right across from the netted swim area, which means it sits right in back of the public restrooms. They didn't always smell, at least. It has quite a lot of road/pedestrian, bus, party-bus, etc traffic. Interior furniture was small/rattan (not the most inviting) and a feux-leather couch (sticky when sweaty, but easier to clean and not as skanky as a sweat-covered cloth couch...but still not very inviting).

Room Tip: not on ground floor (not very private) and not on the ends (fewer windows for breeze).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3311kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    25
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
92
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we chose Palm Cove for the final stop of our hectic 24 day tour of Australia, we wanted somewhere close to a major city but far enough and quiet enough to get away from the hustle and bustle of it.When arrived we found it to be better than advertised, and when we opened the door to the apartment fell in love with the place and wished we should of booked longer, everything you need and more is in the apartment, Palm cove is a quiet little village with a long beach for walks and plenty of restaurants and bars at night so you never have to eat at the same place or eat the same food. Rhonda and Chris arranged our transfers from Cairns airport, and helped us arrange some must see excursions in our short stay and leaving enough time to relax.I would recommend Marlin Waters and would go back again thanks Matt&Elaine xxxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Location

Marlin Waters is located on the main street in Palm Cove directly opposite the patrolled beach. This is a great location and is also next to all of the restaurants and cafes.

Marlin Waters has a hotel located at the front but don’t worry it is secluded from the road/ footpath so no one can see you taking a swim or relaxing in the sun. The pool is ok/ nothing too special but good enough to cool off when its stinger seasons. See photos.

Room Details

We booked and requested a room on the top floor. If possible I would recommend this or level 1 and above. There are 4 floors with lift access to all. Level 4 offered great views of the beach and water especially on sunrise.
Our room (21) was a 1 bedroom apartment, with a small kitchen including cooking facilities, a large lounge area, and air con in both the bedroom and lounge which kept the apartment nice and cool. My only recommendation for this room is to supply more toilet paper and possible some air freshener in the bathroom as it is between the bedroom and lounge. Also the carpet in this room is getting old with a few stains on it. See photos of room & view.

Again I cant really complain for the price and location. For the price this apartment meets all your needs and you will struggle to find others in this location for the same price. Trust me I researched nearly all of them before my stay.

I only meet the owners/ managers a couple of times just quickly who were more than helpful with recommendations on where to go and things to do. Also this is not a resort so if you are after a resort I would suggest to look elsewhere if you are wanting other facilities.

Overall his Marlin Waters has a great location and great price. I would stay here again but would possible request and different room on level 4 to see what the layout and furnishings are like.

Tip: The surf life saving club next door offers some great food at reasonable prices which can be difficult to find in Palm Cove. Check out my review and others in Palm Cove to be uploaded shortly.

Room Tip: Level 1 and above, all rooms have balconies but the higher you go the better the view I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAYRlDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinwaters, Manager at Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi, thankyou for taking the time to review our property. The owners of the unit you stayed in are in the process of updating the carpet, so this issue will be resolved. Our apartments are fully self contained and as per the compendium, we issue you with a start up kit, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, soap, toilet paper, tissues, laundry powder, salt and pepper. The guests then purchase their own supplies either from reception or the supermarket. We are happy to accommodate any guest who request extra items. I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Palm Cove and we would love you to stay at Marlin Waters again. Please contact us directly if you would like to stay here again and we will be more than happy to discuss your accommodation requirements. Thankyou again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Once again we stayed at Marlin Waters on our trip to Palm Cove in January. We have stayed at other much more expensive places in Palm Cove & was initially hesitant at booking a 'budget' resort. Wow, Marlin Waters has got to be the best, value for money place we have ever stayed at in Australia. The apartments have everything you need and if not just ask and the managers will try and get it for you. The views are to die for and they even have an elevator do you do not have to hike up four flights of stairs. Chris & Rhonda, the resident managers, are absolutely wonderful. They could not do enough for us and looked after us like we were part of the Marlin Waters family. We were so impressed we did not want to leave and extended our stay.

Fantastic trip, thanks to Chris & Rhonda, we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinwaters, Manager at Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in beautiful Palm Cove at Marlin Waters, thanks for wanting to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Palm Cove & stayed at Marlin Waters again. The standard of the room & hosts are still very high. We arrived on a late flight from Sydney & there was an envelope outside reception directing us to our assigned room - no hassles for late arrivals.

We were on the 3rd floor for this stay & the unit was clean & well appointed - the bathroom & kitchen had been refurbished & the decor was lovely.

We realised the next morning that the drinks etc we had placed in the fridge the night before were not cold - so went and saw reception. They quickly sprang to action & firstly arranged for our perishables to be placed in a spare fridge & then arranged a repairman. As the outcome was that the fridge needed further work - instead of making us pack up & move us to another unit (which was an option) - they simply removed the old fridge & brought in a working one from another unit & repacked all our perishables in the replacement fridge.....very very seamless.

Since we were here in 2011, the Surf Club has opened up new premises next door - which is very handy for breakfast or dinner.

We highly recommend Palm Cove as a destination - it is so relaxed and the next time we are up in Far North Queensland, Marlin Water will be the place we'll stay at - again.

Room Tip: All rooms have beachfront balconies - the ones on ground level have direct access to pool/beach but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinwaters, Manager at Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in beautiful Palm Cove at Marlin Waters, thanks for wanting to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved our 2nd stay ( 9 nights) at Marlin Waters apartments. We had top floor unit this time which I preferred with the best view of the water and esplanade. Lovely to sit on the balcony in the evening and relax. Apartment was fully furnished with all mod conveniences and very clean .Everything you need for a most comfortable stay. All apartments face the beachfront so all would have a good view.
Right next door to the refurbished Surf Club which serves up a nice meal. Thought it might be noisy right next door and we were on the side of the building adjoining the club but did not notice any noise at all, except the entertainment they had Sunday afternoon which was lovely to listen to.
Rhonda and Chris do a great job of managing these units and were a pleasure to deal with. Hope to see you again sometime.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryjo0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinwaters, Manager at Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in beautiful Palm Cove at Marlin Waters, thanks for wanting to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent a week here over Christmas and it was amazing, the room has been renovated though the oven was ancient but it didnt ruin our holiday, it was spacious the beach across the road and clean. Well Done And would definitely be back for another holiday

Room Tip: Bottom Floor is good for kids as the pool is right there. But all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntnJoobie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 11 in Palm Cove
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 11 in Palm Cove
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments

Property: Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments
Address: 131-133 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments are located on the beautiful Palm Cove beachfront, nestled amongst magnificent melaleuca trees, opposite the patrolled and netted beach (in season). All our apartments are 1 bedroom fully self-contained with ocean views. A fold out sofa in the living area allows for an extra adult or child to be accommodated. The kitchen is fully equipped with full size fridge, stove and microwave. Each holiday apartment has its own private balcony or patio and wireless broadband. A lift services all levels. The property has a pool, spa and electric barbeque for your use. Marlin Waters is perfectly located for you to visit and explore the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest or Atherton Tablelands with most tour companies picking up from the front door or hire cars can be arranged. All tours can be booked on site at no extra cost. For the ultimate in Cairns apartment accommodation, look no further than Marlin Waters Palm Cove beachfront apartments. Palm Cove is a seaside village with boutique-style shops, you can enjoy a game of golf or tennis, go sailing, parasailing, fishing off the Palm Cove jetty or dine at one of the many restaurants which are all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin Waters Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing