We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, don't see what the fuss is about Palm Cove though”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, don't see what the fuss is about Palm Cove though”
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Staying in Palm Cove for a week to attend a friend's wedding, the Mantra Amphora was a great spot to relax. The room was clean and well maintained with a nice view of the ocean. Whilst we had difficulty locating the entrance to the hotel (checking in after dark requires you to go to the night desk), the rest of the stay was quite enjoyable. The restaurant is definitely a highlight, very very good quality and much more reasonable price wise than the rest of what Palm Cove has to offer. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The beachfront location and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing wrong with the accommodation, but found Palm Cove to be quite over-rated.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sgd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    445
    172
    50
    31
See reviews for
373
569
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

Stunning and very kid friendly pool. We had a 2 and 3 year old who are learning to swim and they loved it! Lots of safe areas and room to keep away from other guests. Lovely hot spa.

Thought the charge for cleaning the apartment was a bit petty and exorbitant. We had an apartment plus two hotel rooms... the hotel room which was attached to the apartment (as well as the apartment itself) was UNserviced while the hotel room which was separate was serviced (it was also attached to an apartment but not ours). Curiously, the hotel room which was 'separate' was $2 cheaper than the one that was attached to the apartment and therefore not eligible for free servicing.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — lack of servicing
  • Tips/Secrets — if you're a family ask for a room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzu-and-Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2006

We stayed one week at the Amphora in April 2006, Unfortunately this coincided with cylone Monica, so we had torrential rain for most of the week, but this was not a normal occurence at that time of the year. We had a one bedroom apartment which was beautifully equipped with everything that opens and shuts, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer etc. Had a very large balcony overlooking the pool and beach and was also sheltered from the heavy rain, so we could still sit outside and not get wet. Everything was very new, lovely bathroom and bedroom and spacious kitchen and living room. Loved the pool and spa and also the easy access to the shops and restauarants. Only downside would be the massage at the spa, very ordinary considering the over the top price. Had much better in Bali (at a top resort) for a quarter of the price. Apart from that would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Pool, beach, location
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank where2go-next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

We stayed at the Mantra Amphora for 2 nights with a last minute accommodation deal. Our hotel room was very new, spacious and beautifully appointed. We had booked a queen bed and were excited to see a king size bed before us. Unfortunately we discovered it was 2 singles pushed together. Nevertheless it was comfy. Most disappointing however was our view. It was of a stairwell and carpark. From what we could tell 95% of the rooms overlooked the lovely and awesome pool so it was quite unfortunate that ours didn't, but it was a last minute deal.
Palm Cove was lovely. We ate at the Cafe De Lema which was great and they even gave us a free port. We also ate at Sara'i where the food was good but they over-charge on glasses of wine. Definitely recommend Palm Cove.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Leapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2006

Great place!!! Rooms have an excellent, big bathroom. Our room had a kitchen. Very clean, neat. They have a great spa. Right accross the street from the beach. Nice pool. Palm Cove is a great beach town with nice shops and restaurants. About 25 minuts to Port Douglas - any great barrier reef tour will most likely pick you up in Palm Cove. I loved this hotel and the location. I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2006

The cleaness of an accomodation makes a huge difference to the comfort of your holiday. Amphora is definitely one of the best kept apartments. I was amazed by the fresh cleaness and presentation of the rooms and of course each room has its own balcony facing the pool which earned it an extra star!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AraleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2005

We stayed at the Breakfree Amphora from 6th-13th August and all I can say is WOW.
We had a top floor 2 bedroom apartment (which was a hotel style room, interconnected with a 1 bedroom apartment) overlooking the pool, and with glimpses of the Coral Sea. It was incredibly spacious with air con in all rooms. Bathrooms were enormous, with spa in one of the rooms, separated from the bedroom by sliding wooden shutters (see photo).
We had a few trivial problems with the room (a light was blown and the microwave stopped working after a few days), but all were fixed within minutes of being reported.
The reception staff were excellent - very helpful and completely courteous. This seems to be the norm for everywhere we went in Cairns - I guess tourism is their life blood up there, so you should get top notch service from just about everyone you meet (we certainly did).
Things to consider - these did not worry us, but could be concerns for others. As with many 3 storey resorts in the area, there are no elevators, or porters. So if you get a top floor, you'll need to lug your luggage up the stairs yourself. The hotel reception is only open from 8am to 6pm, so if you're arriving outside those times, you'll need to call ahead. The spa and bath tubs are very deep - requiring a lot of water to fill. Living in Sydney, I'm very water conscious due to the water restrictions in place, and couldn't justify the amount of water required to fill them. Besides, the spa outside beats the indoor one hands down. On the other hand, the wash basins in the room, were a bit too shallow for my liking, making it a tad difficult so shave. The lighting on the mirrors however, made up for this, as the lights were set up to reflect off the mirror in to your face, so you could actually see what you were doing.
The apartments have a washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, oven, fridge, stove and microwave - so there's no trouble if you want to cook at home. Plenty of cutlery and utensils in the drawers. Also enough tea and coffee, plus a few other sundries for a few days.
However, since most apartments only get serviced once every 7 days (you'll need to stay in the hotel rooms if you want daily service), you'll probably need to visit a supermarket to stock up on a few things.
Either that, or you can order you room be serviced if required - which was about $35 on request.
Since it's only serviced weekly, you won't get a change of towels, so make sure you hang them up to dry - or use the tumble dryer and washer if you really need to.
The pool is beautifully landscaped and plenty of space to relax, although it was hard at times to find a deck chair to relax in (plenty of room on the beach in that case, which is only 10m from the door). There's no swim up bar, but there is a large hot tub/spa at one end, and the pool had been designed for use by both kids and adults, with plenty of shallow and deep sections. Plenty of shade around the pool too, if you tend to burn easily.
The beach at Palm Cove was a delight. The resorts are all limited to 3 stories, so can not be seen over the top of the palm trees, giving a very secluded relaxed feel to the place.
The jetty is a short walk down the end of the beach, and two reef tours operate from here. One to the outer reef and one to Green Island. However, you may find cheaper deals if you're willing to leave from Cairns or Port Douglas (most reef cruises have buses to pick you up).
There's a good selection of restaurants to choose from, including a new one just opened at the Amphora (we didn't try this one, but it looked good - due to it being brand new) and as with most of the restaurants in the area, has fantastic views across the Coral Sea and over to Double Island and the aptly named "Scout's Hat" island. For cheaper meals head towards the north end of the beach. The Surf Club has some great daily deals ($10 for steak, salad and chips on Tues night), while Stingers has delicious fish and chips ($9) and other casual dining food. Most of the other restaurants are in the range $20-$30 for a meal, with a few in the over $30 price range.
If you want to do it really on the cheap, then there's a couple of free BBQs for use along the beach foreshore - with some of the best views in the world :)
If you do stay at Palm Cove, I would suggest a hire car - it's a great place for relaxing, but if you want to get out and explore the surrounds, a hire car is well worth it. Check out the Atherton table lands, the crater lakes, Millaa Millaa Falls, Mossman gorge, Daintree Village and Cape Tribulation. All can be experienced by tours, but it's much more fun (and cheaper) to do it yourself with a hire car.
Don't forget some insect repellant - we didn't see any, but we still got bitten a few times and that was in the winter month's.
Weather was great 25C-27C during the day and around 18C during the night. You'll be glad the rooms have air conditioning, even during winter :)
Anything else you want to know about the place, feel free to email me.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
66 Thank ozdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Property: Mantra Amphora
Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath. All rooms and apartments offer private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax as the sun disappears and the moon lights up the sky. An ideal place to celebrate a nearby wedding, escape with the family or just take some time out, Mantra Amphora makes room for everyone. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival com au. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing