We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Cove is beautiful”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Kewaskum, Wisconsin
1 review
“Palm Cove is beautiful”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We originally had planned to go from Cairnes directly to Cape Tribulation to stay for a few days, but happened to drive through Palm Cove and loved it, so stopped for a night.
The Mantra Amphora upgraded us to a 1 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden. It was great sitting on the deck listening to the oceans waves and hearing the birds sing. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Plenty of room in the apartment, and the washer and dryer was a definite bonus. Pool was wonderful. Each unit may be a little different, we stayed in 813 and 821 and both were wonderful. The hotel is very close to the palm lined beach and there are plenty of restaurants and shopping close by. Most tours will pick you up at this hotel. We stayed 1 night and drove up the coast (beautiful drive) to Cow Bay where we stayed a wonderful B&B, went to Daintree Discovery center to see the rainforest and then decided to come back and stay in Palm Cove at the Mantra Amphora for the balance of our trip as we loved it so much. Such a relaxing and beautiful town!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnkewaskum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    445
    172
    50
    31
See reviews for
373
569
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Hotel is close to the beach and has a really nice pool. However it looks quite older than in the webpage. The room was not properly cleaned and there were ants everywhere, from the bathroom to the fridge, even on the bed.

A point that it is not clearly stated at the moment of the booking through Mantra webpage is that sometimes (or always, I don´t really know) the rate you booked is just "the room".
Once you arrive to the hotel, you are given a notice where it says that "just the room" means that the rate you payed does not included the service. It is not such a big deal to make your bed every morning, however, it should be clearly stated at the time of booking, so you have the option to decided whether stay or not under such condition.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham-Oliver, Manger at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the disappoint with some aspect of your stay. The issue you raised have been addressed with the respective departmental mangers. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Amphora again soon.

Kind Regards,

Graham Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I was blown away by this resort and dont have much to say. Just that Palm Cove is a beautiful location, this resort is stunning, and the pool is amazing. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesinclairs24
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Cons:
The complex looks older than is advertised.
Our room was very dusty & musky. Shelves, bed side cabinets, microwave, drawers, corners and skirting boards were all dirty.
The ocean view isnt really an ocean view - we were side on so one person sitting on the balcony could just about see the ocean
Pros:
Quiet aircon
Beautiful pool area
Good location
Great indian restaurant next door

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesinclairs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

The Mantra Amphora is a series of individually owned apartments. They can be serviced or not serviced. The self contained apartment had washer and dryer, full kitchen, big drying rack (a major bonus as you are constantly drying your swimsuits and towels). Cooking utensils were very sparce as were the cooking pots,pans and bowls - -though functional. The location was great, beach right across the street, though with most Palm Cove accomodations this will be the case. MA is located at the end of the street so there is a short walk to the playground and the stinger net ocean swim area; located at the opposite end to the pier.

The pool was the largest one I found and very suitable for all ages as there was a kids area which leads into the larger pool area. In the larger area, easy entry/shallow sections so you can also have your kids right there with you (or not). Deepest part of the pool was about 1.6 m. Spa at the opposite end to the kids area; though it wasn't really hot and at times the pool temp was hotter than the spa. I didn't find it noisy at all and there really weren't that many people at the pool ever and we were at the pool at various times. Tops 6-8 people, though I think this is a timing/season related item.

Now the down parts. The rooms were supposed to be ocean view and while they were, it was more a sliver of a view as opposed to a full on frontal view. We had units 614A and 614B, which were ground floor where the building elbows. I called to get a better view and was told that I was going to get the same view just on a higher floor. I'm sure this was because I wanted 2 rooms with ocean. Clearly they had rooms that are full frontal ocean and the place wasn't full at all. Though eventually I realised that I didn't want to lug all the luggage up 2 flights of stairs anyways and that I could easily walk across the road and get my view.

Lights in the unit tended to be very very dim so it was almost painful to have the lights on at night. Dryer is located in the kitchen so if it's on, there is constant noise (so just turn it on late at night while sleeping or before you go out.)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arr_1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stayed 5 nights at this resort and were really pleased with it, clean friendly, spacious. We booked a 1 bedroom apt which was perfect, nice ensuite bathroom with a whirlpool tub and a full kitchen which was nice for a light snack or meal any time we wanted, there are also gas BBQ's just across the street on the ocean front if you fancy that ( free of charge ). Tours will pick you up at or just outside the hotel, we did a few tours of course including the barrier reef, chose Quicksilver for this tour they seem to be the biggest and best and certainly the most expensive but for us it was probably one of those once in a lifetime things. You wont go wrong if you stay at this place. If your looking for a negative the only one I can come up with is kids....they can be a little noisey, it didn't bother us much but other adults only might want to stay away from school holidays. Things do tend to close early which again was fine with us as we were on the go all day but nightlife is limited. Try Apres Beach on the Esplanade, reasonable prices for food and drink and we had a fun night and met a few locals and had a good ol' sing song

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eerzaweepieanbovril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We booked a motel room about 2 weeks out on wotif.com. However, when we arrived we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment (room 321A). The apartment was great – full kitchen and laundry, deck with a view of the pool (the deep end so not to many screaming kids), huge bed and lovely bathroom. Room was very clean. Although it was a non-serviced room having a washing machine meant we could wash our beach towels. Only minor complaints were that there were no drawers to put clothes into (just some shelves in the wardrobe) and the only mirror was in the bathroom. A TV in the bedroom would be nice to.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sygnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Property: Mantra Amphora
Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath. All rooms and apartments offer private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax as the sun disappears and the moon lights up the sky. An ideal place to celebrate a nearby wedding, escape with the family or just take some time out, Mantra Amphora makes room for everyone. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival com au. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing