We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed for 7 nights (booked direct with owner through www.stays.com.au at $120.00AU per night for 1 bedroom self-contained unit) and had the best time ever. So peaceful, apart from lots of children playing at the pool, but we are used to that and are able to tune out. The bed is VERY hard and the lounges at the pool are a bit uncomfortable-we just piled towels on them for extra comfort. We had a combined microwave/oven in the kitchen which we didn't know how to use and was a little frustrating when we had food that needed cooking/heating in an oven instead of a microwave. Apart from that, it was wonderful. We went to the barrier reef and booked through "Calypso" and had an amazing time. DON'T FORGET YOUR SUNSCREEN - wen when it's overcast. Everyday was perfect weather and the Vivo Restaurant was perfect for morning coffee and muffins. Restaurants in Palm Cove are quite pricey but we got such a great deal on the accommodation so we didn't mind paying extra for food.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    453
    174
    51
    31
See reviews for
377
578
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2009

All round a pretty nice place, but they're a TV geek short of a fiull crew. The first day we arrived we had all the usual stations, but the next day they'd lost ABC and SBS. I pointed this out to reception, who said it wasn't just our unit, it was the whole resort, the cable guy must have mucked it up, and they'd get him back to fix it.
Next day they got SBS back, but had duplicated anpother station instead of ABC. Another complaint and they said they'd bring the cable guy back again.
Next day they'd given us SBS twice, and still no ABC.
This went on for a week and I missed 2 episodes of United States of Tara. Not happy Jan.
On the day we left, the receptionist proudly told me how clever they were to have worked out the station programming, and I had to show her they hadn't yet, and why, as they'd put SBS2 on instead of ABC. They're probably still fiddling with it.
Good location. Reasonably spacious room. Perfect weather.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRedAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMNQ, Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your comments. Fantastic to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do offer our apologies regarding ABC not being available during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments, I do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Amphora.

Kind Regards,

Graham Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This is our first time to Palm Cove. We had the best location ground floor and easy to get to the pool. Our children had a so much fun. Didnt see them the whole time they swam all day. The weather was perfect, and could'nt feel the winds in the resort..Pools where cleaned every morning and three ducks came to swim with us every morning. Its a family friendly resort. We are booked for next year... Palm cove is small, it has a feeling of a tropical island...Thanks to Vivo for our coffee fix every morning. Great coffee. Must have Pizzas is located upstairs next to el greco and must try Nutella Pizza for dessert......

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REborn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I travelled on my own and stayed for 5 nights at the Amphora. I booked a Hotel Ocean Spa room but they had none available for the first night so I stayed in a 1Bedroom Apartment overlooking the pool.
The Hotel Spa was small but big enough for 1-2 people and had a wonderful view of the street and part view of the ocean through the trees which was lovely.
The One Bedroom Apartment was much nicer and more spacious and it overlooked the lagoon sized pool (which was absolutely superb!).
The compromise.... Do you have the smaller room with the view or the larger room overlooking a fantastic pool with the noise of lots of pre-schoolers and young children constantly letting the pool gates slam closed. If I stay there again I would try and get a One Bedroom Apartment overlooking the ocean!
The rooms, grounds and pool were very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I would especially like to thank Pamela who worked on the front desk. She was so lovely, sweet and friendly, and helped carry my luggage up two flights of stairs as I had a bad back!
The beds were king size but very hard so if you have problems with your back I dont know how you will overcome that one. I clock watched in pain every night waiting for the sun to rise. By the third night I came up with an idea to lay towel upon towel and then lay on them, which helped a little. Please don't let this deter you though because I had a wonderful time there and its one of the nicer hotels I've stayed in. (Oh thats the other thing, there are no lifts so be prepared to carry your luggage up 2 flights of stairs but possibly 3-4)
Palm Cove is a very laid back and quiet village compared to Port Douglas. If you're looking for a little more atmosphere then Port Douglas would be the place to stay. The beach is lovely, amazing sunrises, restaurants are delightful but quite pricey, its only 20mins to Cairns and 35mins to Port Douglas by car. I loved it there and spent many hours laying on the beach relaxing. I would definitely recommend you stay at the Amphora.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheli01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Mantra Amphora is a beautiful apartment style property with well appointed and spacious rooms. Palm Cove has a good choice of restaurants nearby but the rooms have nice kitchens. Basic supplies available in Palm Cove or a 10 minute bus ride to a large supermarket was easy.

Our only fault with the Mantra is that is was quite noisy around the swimming pool with families so not as ideal if you are looking for a quiet resort otherwise we couldn't fault it.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LizD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

This place should be better - Palm Cove is located in paradise.

What spoilt it for us?

- basic repairs not done. We complained on arrival about some issues.

- the oven in our apartment is filthy but they offer premium cleaning at rip off prices

- They will charge you for EVERYTHING, even using a safe deposit box in your room

- INTERNET services are a total rip off

- Staff are polite but that's it.

If you are planning to visit Palm Cove, go somewhere with better service and value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozay_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMNQ, Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We make all efforts on all booking channels to clearly advise property information and inclusions.

I can assure you that I will investigate the issues you raised and also discuss them with the management team. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and we do hope we can welcome you back to Mantra Amphora.

Kind Regards,

Graham Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

This place is fantastic. pool is massive and great for the kids. Highly recommended. I only stayed 3 nights but wished it was for at least 7. You can really relax here.Accommodation is clean and modern.

  • Liked — Pool and Location
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank McafeeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 11 in Palm Cove
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 11 in Palm Cove
2,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Property: Mantra Amphora
Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath. All rooms and apartments offer private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax as the sun disappears and the moon lights up the sky. An ideal place to celebrate a nearby wedding, escape with the family or just take some time out, Mantra Amphora makes room for everyone. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival com au. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing