We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant 8 day stay....”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at Mantra Amphora during the last leg of our 3 week honeymoon to Australia. We were greeted by Pam at reception who checked us in and proved to be very helpful to us throughout our stay. We had booked a hotel style room, which was of a good size and nicely furnished. I had requested at the time of booking through my agent a pool or ocean view room and found on arrival that we had been allocated a car park/rainforest view from our balcony, but this was fine and as we discovered quieter than being pool side. The complex comprises of mainly apartments and is self catering throughout, so no bar or restaurant on site but frankly in Palm Cove this isnt needed. The only moan that I have is that whilst I knew before we booked that Mantra don't provide housekeeping services (if booked for 8 days or more you get one service) which is understandable for apartment guests, however in a hotel room it would be difficult to store mops for bathroom floor cleaning etc so this was small gripe during our stay. In fairness we could have paid for additional cleaning had we wanted to spend money on it! The pool area is wonderful and a particular attraction for us at this hotel. The pool is very large with a separate jacuzzi at the deep end. We had a few pool days which were thoroughly enjoyable and whilst this is primarily a family accomodation, the childrens area of the pool was at the bottom meaning a quiet end of pool for relaxing adults. Vivo Bar & Grill is at the end of the complex on the Esplande and we used this restaurant for breakfast, snacks and cocktails throughout the day and had our last evening meal there, highly recommended and nice to have on the door step! We booked a number of trips and tours which hotel reception booked for us and added the cost to our room bill, a very easy process. All staff we encountered were very helpful and again
Pam was notably very pleasant. In room wifi is available at a cost of $15 for 2 hours (which you can log in or log out of during your stay, rolling your time over), which I found expensive but all accomodations in Palm Cove will charge. The hotel is perfectly located at the front of the esplanade, literally across the road from the gorgeous beach and everything is easibly accessible. Overall a lovely accomodation in prime location. More than happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rpops26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Because of the great location next to the beach in the middle of Palm Cove (and because of the great deal we got!), we stayed here for the second time. The 1 bedroom apartment was of an excellent size and very well maintained. It had a spa in the bathroom, decent kitchen and was great for two people. Very much recommend.

Palm Cove has a great beach, is full of excellent restaurants and has a good pub. It is a great place to relax and do very little indeed.

Room Tip: The resort has no elevators, so if you have issues with stairs, ask for a ground floor unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avonana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wow!! The mantra palm cove lived up to our high expectations!!! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with adjoining hotel room (where our two year old could sleep) and the apartment was nothing short of AMAZING!! It was HuGE and probably the nicest place we have ever stayed in!! The decor was modern and comfortable and the paintwork was classy. The pool was even better than in the photos and it was lovely and warm!! We paid the extra $30 a night for an ocean view room but were a little disappointed because the palm trees blocked most of the view and we couldn't see the horizon. My recommendation is to save the extra money and request a one or two bedroom apartment on the second or third pool overlooking the very picturesque lagoon pool. Overall a fabulous experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammywammy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited Palm Cove and loved every minute. The Amphora has a great pool for kids and is well setup for a family holiday. Palm Cove is a world away from the hussel and bussel of Cairns but is closer enough for a short day trip to Cairns (only 25mins) and Kuranda. The whole area is like one big resort from the moment you drive in.
Highly recommend for a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for six nights in a 1 bedroom apartment on the top floor. I would not recommend the ground floor as they are noisy and lack privacy. The apartment was spacious but tired. The bathroom needed a good scrub and the whole apartment could do with a paint. Staff were super helpful and friendly. The pool area is spacious and great for children.

Room Tip: Top floor, building 8. Less noise from the children using the pool in the early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parksideMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Following our stays in 2010 and 2011, we returned for a nine night stay in October 2012..... but again with lower expectations than 2010.

We stayed in a different apartment this time around which was further away from Vivo's (to avoid the fumes and noise) but which still overlooked the beach.

The room was ready and very clean on our arrival. We were please to find the TV reception issues which plagued our last visit have been resolved and ABC2 for kids is now available (our 5 year old son was very happy!!). The room was supplied with a good range of cutlery, glassware, crockery and limited but sufficient pots and pans to cook wth, which were superior to the other rooms we have stayed in.

The main reason we stay the Mantra Amphora (apart from the discount offered to past visitors) is because of the design of the pool which remains perfect for our son now aged 5 and which was perfect when he was 3). The water is nice and warm meaning our son could stay in the pool for a considerable amount of time without getting cold.

Whilst the rooms are fully equiped, offering large plasma's in each of the bedrooms, a large balcony, a good kitchen and comfortable furniture, the furniture is starting to look just a little tired and for the rate being charged needs to be addressed.

We understand the management (which were virtually never seen after check-in) has changed since our last stay, however the levels of service remain patchy. For instance, another reviewer on this property mentions the Coles delievery was taken to their room, which we requested, but were advised could not be done. When I checked before arrival about the situation regarding the TV gremlins, no advice was given the facilities has been upgraded which would have been reassuring.

Mid stay clean was a waste of time, fresh towels were provided but toilets and floors were not cleaned properly.......so we were disappointed again, but we knew this would be the case before booking.

This is not a full service hotel which offers a memorable experience however we most likely will return in 2013 mainly due to the pool and the spacious room, with our expectations in-check (low)

Room Tip: There are no lifts within the facility, so if climbing up and down stairs will bother you, ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidAOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for four nights in early October in a one bedroom apartment. We had Coles deliver gorceries in advance which the staff had kindly taken to our room and put in the frigde, many thanks! The weather was fairly windy on the beach so the lovely resort pool got a very good-work out from our kids. Water was warm and the kids played for hours at a time in a family friendly surrounding. The apartment we were in was good. Enough space for us with a nice outlook over the pool and the picturesque gardens of the resort. And if the trees blew the right way, there were glimpses of the sea. Everything was very clean and well maintained but the kitchen equipment was spartan at best. We had family staying in the room next door whose kitchen equipment we had to borrow to get by. Also, we asked for a DVD player for the kids and were told "nope", there was a a very tinny alarm clock that doubled as music, pretty disappointing. And as far as BBQs go, we were told we'd need to go off-site. I thought this was a big poor since it's beautiful weather in October and bbqing is definitely the order of the day. Associated with this were signs in the kitchen noting that frying caused fire call outs. I have to say, bbqs on the balconies would probably resolve this. But don't let my whinging put you off, for location, cleaanliness and a brilliant pool, I would definitely stay at the Mantra Amphoa again.

Room Tip: We had Coles delivier our groceries to cut down on trips to the local mini-mart which was fairly exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: $83 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath, all have private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing