We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend the Mantra Amphora”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom spa apartment; the room was immaculately clean and very well presented with excellent amenities.
The resort is in an excellent location directly across from the beach and very central.
The pool is incredibly stunning especially at night.
I highly recommend the Mantra Amphora, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Reob,
Thank you for your 5 star rating and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all Mantra Amphora has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next holiday in Palm Cove.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed 2 nights for work, and as I'm away a bit I thought I'd try a few different hotels in the region. Usually when I'm travelling for work I look for a few things:
Ability to do my own breakfast
Room service for dinner if I don't want to eat out alone
Security

I'd say that while this resort provides a great experience on many levels (great location, good pool, nice clean room with great bathroom and good toiletries), it didn't really meet my criteria.

As the standard hotel room is the locked off bed & bath of a larger unit, it has no kitchen facilities. It did have cups and plates etc, but you had to deal with it all in the bathroom sink which wasn't very convenient. Nor was boiling the kettle in there balanced on the edge of the sink.
The access to the room was a long journey. There is no lift, and units are 6 per staircase. Mine was the furtherest from reception, so after a drive around the car park I had gone up a few wrong staircases until I found the right place. It had no fence from the street to the access to the units, and as I seemed to be the only occupant in that part of the resort, and a few strange people hanging round the waterfront (ie the type who think they can have a crack at young females), I was a little scared coming and going from the room.

As it's more of a stay for a week type place, it didn't have any room service, so I was forced back out on the said main street past the restaurants and bars (and old men who thought they could yell at you) to find dinner.

There is also no room cleaning for stays less than 8 days....

If you're a family wanting a weeks getaway and have a car to get to Coles for a grocery shop, I'd have to recommend the Mantra Mamphora.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chasingpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear chasingpw,

Thank you for your feedback and the opporunity to address your concerns.

Palm Cove is renouned for being a friendly, comfortable and safe destination for singles, couples and families alike. All properties, as is Mantra Amphora, are open plan incorporating the natural environment and providing a sense of relaxation and escapism. Whilst you will not find gated security or high walls, Palm Cove is an incident free area and you have no need to be concerned. Indeed the conveience of the resort located right on Williams Esplanade and the beach provides you with the perfect platform to experience the many resturants and cafes on offer, including one located on-site.

In relation to our hotel rooms, it is important to note that our room types and inclusions are clearly outlined on our various web sites. For those wanting to self-cater we also offer fully equipped 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments which provide ample space for cooking, laundring and dining.

Chasingpw, it is unfortunate that we were not able to address your concerns whilst you were staying with us. Both security and facility needs can be addressed with a simple room move or upgrade.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed for a week with the Mantra and were pleased with the standard of the hotel & the facilities. The pool was great for the kids with the varying heights (2 boys aged 7 & 9) and the spa, they had great fun jumping from one to the other.

The cleanliness of the rooms were fantastic and the furnishings for the most part were what you'd expect. There were little things... one of the arm rests on the couches were marked/stained with what looked like mould? The desk for the TV in our room was a white student desk - totally out of keeping with the other furnishings and really brought the feel of the room down.

The beds were a concern when I booked, however they were one of the comfiest beds we've slept in. Absolutely a delight to sleep in, the bedding was clean and unmarked.

The only point that could be improved... the sound travels through the floors - scraping of chairs/furniture etc. Better padding on the base of the furniture could minimise this. We did not hear anything through the walls from neighbours, just the ones above us.

The staff were wonderfully helpful - they even helped the Easter Bunny to arrive for our kids... having eggs arrive at the room. The kids were stoked!

Tips... follow the maps for the rooms, once you figure out the pattern, the rooms are easy to find. There is a coles supermarket on the way to the hotel - about a 5 minute drive away - this is the closest place to get groceries at normal prices - the local "supermarket" is a rort. Avoid if you can. Vivo restaurant was nice... but there are so many to choose from along the strip, don't limit yourself for choice.

Overall, this hotel met our expectations, definitely glad we chose this place for our first family visit to Cairns.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Fiona S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience on-line.
I am pleased to read that you found our rooms to be clean, comfortable and well furnished. Your comment pertaining to the neighbouring noise will be investigated, thank you.
Certainly the Easter Bunny is very clever and I am pleased he was able to track down your children whilst on holidays with us!
Again, thank you for your positive, balanced review and we look forward to the opporunity to welcome you back to Mantra Amphora Resort.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Having stayed at Mantra Amphora in 2011 and loved it so much we decided to return.. Upgrading our room to an ocean balcony, we couldnt have asked for a better position within the resort. We were greeted by beautiful views of the palm tree lined beach and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. The room itself is fantastic! We had a dual key room which was perfect for a family of 4. The beds were comfortable and rooms clean and well appointed. The gardens were well maintained and the pool a highlight!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear NicJac,
Thank you for your wonderful view and sharing your experience on-line.
Indeed the property has a fabulous location directly opposite Palm Cove Beach, the perfect beachside retreat. Your comments pertaining to the cleanliness of the accommodation, the poolside area and the presentation of the gardens is greatly appericate and I will ensure our staff are informed of your feedback. Thank you.
We look forward welcoming you and your family back to Mantra Amphora for your next Queensland holiday.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in a very reasonably priced one bedroom unit overlooking the pool for the Easter 2012 holidays. Reception were very friendly and helpfull. The room was very comfortable with brand new Samsung large screen smart TV connected to Fox. There was a pleasant fragrant aromatherapy smell when we first arrived and the room was perfectly clean and well maintained. Plentiful airconditioning (one in lounge and separate one in bedroom) and ceiling fans. The lagoon style pool was cleaned every morning and was a perfect temperature with crystal clear water and beautiful landscaping. There were plenty of lounges by the pool Centrally located on the Esplanade with a short stroll to shops, cafes, restaurants, with Mantra's own on-site Vivo being one of the best restaurants we tried. Bottle shop (Liquorland) and tavern immediately behind the resort for stocking up on "essentials", and a small supermarket almost next door for the other "essentials". As noted elsewhere, Palm Cove restaurants are not cheap (esp with public holiday surcharges at Easter) but great quality and worth the indulgence, comparable to Sydney prices for fine dining. There are cheaper eating options available (cafes and self catering, BBQ facilities on the beach, etc) if you do not wish to indulge every night.

Room Tip: They are all good. Views over pool just as good as ocean views. Personally I prefer the second or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear JSX,
5 stars! Thank you for your glowing review and I am pleased that our team and property delivered a high quality holiday experience for you and your partner.
We look forward to the opporunity of welcoming you back when you next holiday in Palm Cove.
Again, thank you for sharing your positive experience on-line.
Regard
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Whilst the resort has a fabulous location right on the beach, amazing pool and very comfortable units, one of the best things about the resort is the staff. They were all very friendly, very willing to arrange our every request and make our stay as pleasant and stress free as possible.
Palm Cover is very laid back and provides lots of restaurants, drinking holes and delightful streetscapes to enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Dear Yvonne F,
Thank you for your kind words pertaining to our staff and for sharing your experience on-line. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra Amphora Palm Cove.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next holiday in TNQ.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson, General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in March, resort is in great location, easy walk to restaurants, beach etc. Pool and gardens lovely and clean and when we visited had the pool to ourselves a lot of the time which was lovely. Check in and out was easy and hassle free. Trying to find your room was a bit confusing - read the map reception provide and lugging suitcases up stairs was not ideal. Room size was okay - not as large as other 1 bedroom apartments we have stayed in. Now for the downside - kitchen bench was really grotty and frypan had obviously not been cleaned from previous guests. The bedspread was covered in stains - yuk - this was thrown on the floor and not used at all by us. Cobwebs everywhere also. We stayed at two Mantra properties on this trip and the standard of housekeeping was quite poor in both resorts compared to the outdoors areas. If Mantra can improve their housekeeping would be lovely place to holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Dear Lisa 1162,

Firstly, my apologizes that on this occassion our level of service has let us down and impacted on your holiday.

In order to constructively address this matter, I invite you to contact myself so that I can determine which room you stayed in, allowing me to ensure the issues are recetified for the next guest. I am available by calling 07 4059 8100 or at lisa.knowlson@mantra.com.au

Thank you and regards
Lisa Knowlson General Manager Mantra Amphora Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: $86 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath, all have private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing