We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Amphora Resort earlier this month (sept 2011) and paid approx 20% to have a one bedroom apartment rather than a hotel room. The extra space was great with kitchen and living area providing plenty if room to move. The resort is getting a little tired being around 10-12 years old and a prime example was the small "box" tv left on the planet.

The pool is the highlight being large and with room set reasonably well back you don't feel like everyone was looking at you.

I was not involved with check in but understand this went well although we were given a better room but this was not available for an extra hour. There is no specific F&B on site but Palm Cove is well serviced by plenty of options to suit all budgets.

Overall a nice place to stay and you get get what you expect but nothing special!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Yes, our 1 bedroom apartments are a much better option for longer stays than a hotel room. Along with the seperate dining/lounge area and kitchen it also has a laundry, which is a bonus when holidaying with children.

Our rooms and apartments are currently undergoing a mini refurbishment as the hotel is now approaching 6 years old. Our old televisions are all being replaced with new flat screen digital ones to come 'in line' with analogue being switched off.

Check-in time is 2pm. If you arrive before this time we are sometimes able to check you in earlier. Of course, a room is always reserved for you based on the information given at the time of booking. Upon arrival, if you choose to upgrade or your requests have changed we will try our best to 'move' you to a room that you feel is 'better' according to your needs. It may mean that we need housekeeping to clean a room that wasn't previously scheduled for cleaning that day (or was for later in the day). An hour, I feel, for a 'better' room is not unreasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    375
    146
    47
    30
See reviews for
306
494
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spreyton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My Husband and I, and our two children aged 4 and 2 spent a week at Palm Cove Mantra Resort this month. The resort was absolutely gorgeous, many hours spent swimming in the beautiful pool and spa. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious. While attending a wedding we hired a babysitter from Busy Bees Babysitting, Debbie arrived with a huge box of age appropriate craft and toys, which got our kids attention immediately. They were more than happy to stay with her while we left, and the first thing out of Ava's mouth the next morning was "can Debbie come and look after us again today?" So all in all we were very pleased with the resort, and Busy Bees. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piffle0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your family holiday. I agree, the pool is lovely, definately a highlight of the resort.

We have a great team here at Mantra. It's a great place to work and we genuinely look forward to coming to work. We've had some great guests over the past month or so. Families and couples that we have all really bonded with. We are here to help, so no matter how big or small - if you feel you have a problem or suggestion even - we love to hear it. We want to make everyone's holiday just as good as yours was.

Busy Bees Babysitting is one of the best in the business - we highly recommend them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the resort. Make sure you give us a quick email or telephone call to let us know to expect you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Mantra Amphora in September 2011 and overall it was an enjoyable stay. However we did notice room for a few improvements which could be considered by management: on entering our room we spotted a dead cockroach, and also there were a few ants crawling on the refrigerator door. However it is tropical North Queensland we're talking about, I imagine it would be pretty hard to prevent every bug from ever entering a room. Still, perhaps the rooms could be inspected by a cleaner before guests check-in. We stayed in a hotel-style room which was quite spacious, with a lovely bathroom and spa bath. We did find the bed to be quite firm and a little uncomfortable to sleep on. The television could really use updating to a flatscreen, as most hotels in this price category have already done. There are in-house movies, but we couldn't find a price guide for them anywhere, however we opted to watch one anyway, but for $17 it's really not worth watching them on the old style television sets they have - the quality was very poor.
That being said, our stay was mostly very enjoyable. The staff at the front desk were courteous and extremely helpful, the pool is just gorgeous, and the town itself is very relaxed and easy to navigate. We'd definitely return to Palm Cove & Mantra Amphora.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonvoyage29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Yes, you are right. The Far North can sure breed some lovely bugs. Thank you for being considerate in this matter. We absolutely do do our utmost to keep them out of guest rooms.

Please be rest assured that all of our guest rooms are checked before every arrival. However, they may be checked at 8am in the morning and a guest may not arrive until later in the afternoon. I can only assume that something like this may have happened for your arrival, for which I do sincerely apologise. If anything like this ever happens again, please let us know immediately. Our housekeeping department would only be too happy to remove the unwelcome little critters and just refresh the surfaces for your peace of mind.

Our beds, yes. We think we may have solved the problem. We are currently trialing an underlay which should take the 'hardness' away from the mattresses. These should be in all the rooms very soon (depending upon supply availability). We have a few now available upon request from reception.

The televisions are now being updated as we move from analogue to digital and this should all be rectified by December 2011. The movie prices are displayed on screen as you view the description of the movie. It is displayed again just before you confirm viewing of the movie.

We'd love to welcome you back to Mantra Amphora any time. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we really do appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We'd love to improve and to read your next review.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Following our 9 night stay in October 2010, we returned for another 9 night stay in August - with lower expectations this time around.

We stayed in the same beach front room which was spotlessly clean on arrival. Again, no offer was made to assist with our luggage however we were ready for this.

Overall, the gardens, the pool and property remain to be well maintained and provide a perfect place to stay whilst enjoying Palm Cove.

However, the fire alarm (which was reported last time we stayed) remains in its faulty state. During our stay, the TV reception dropped out completely or was faulty on half of the channels most nights. ABC2 (dedicated channel for young kids) was not available at all - a mindblowing ommission considering so many young families stay at the property. Sharp knives are yet to provided in the room dispite raising this issue in my last review.

Whilst we plan to holiday in Palm Cove in 2012, we're in two minds if w'll stay again at the Mantra Amphora. Whilst the room and pool are great and the location of the property is excellent, the management continues its mediocre approach to customer service and in the context of value for money, fails to ensure the basic amenities are maintained in the room. We will look at other options for 2012.

Finally, we used the same company to provide toys for our now 4 year son - and they again provided a great array of fantastic toys which were clean and in good condition. They also hire out prams etc and would highly recommend them (please refer to my October 2010 review for contact details)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you once again for your feedback. Although you may not think so we do take these matters very seriously and because of some of your wonderful comments and suggestions, have in fact made some changes for the better.

My only regret is that you didn't approach our reception with these matters during your stay as they could have been rectified so easily and quickly for you.

The fire alarm isn't faulty, it's the washing machine or dryer door. If they are open by just the teeniest tiniest millimetre the beep (sounding like a low battery in a smoke detector) will intermittently sound. Turning off the washing machine and dryer at the power point rectifies the matter instantly.

We are currently in the process of moving from analogue to digital TV and yes, you are right, the signal isn't always great and we don't get all the channels. This will all be rectified once we move onto digital including access to the ABC2 channel. Most residents of Cairns will tell you how frustrating it is during a windy or wet night trying to get a good or even constant TV signal.

Last year we did get complaints of not having sharp knives in the apartments. We took the matter on-board, listened to our customers and have rectified the problem. All of our apartments now have a knife sharpener in the utensils drawer. I am not sure if you didn't see it or perhaps there was one missing from your apartment at the time. We have plenty of spares housed at the back of reception for guests wanting sharp knives to prepare meals.

I do thank you for your time and care taken in providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The staff where unreal they would do anything for you. the manager was friendly and the staff behind the counted were so lovley i would be back in a flash. I loved the pool area so clean and child friendly and as i have 2 small children ages 3 and 4 i wasnt worried at all. The room was 10 out of 10 again so clean and was a short distance walk to all resturant and even to the beach. if anyone is traveling to palm cove stay at the mantra. i am hoping to get back again very soon. Thanks again Graham and jen

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nudge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
You are more than welcome - we hope to see you back again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great location right on the beach. Surrounded by lots of restaurants and coffee shops. Great pool area - especially for young families. Apartments well sound proofed to keep out noise from pool area. Our apartment had pleasant outlook to pool and gardens. Only 25 mim drive to Cairns and 45 to Port Douglas. Very pleasant stay with under cover parking for vehicle .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Eburgess,

We do appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was greart to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the fanatstic destination.
It is also important to mention that as the onsite managers of the property we are able to provide the full range of services to our guests. Ensuring that our guests have all of their needs catered to as promptly as possible to make their hoiliday experience as hassle free and relaxing as possible.

Amber, thak you again for chosing to stay with Mantra Amphora we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Graham Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed 5 days here in late August. We had a 1 bedrooom apartment that overlooked the lovely pool and well cared for and lovely gardens. The pool is large and there were plenty of sun loungers and although some people did the "reservation by towel"process we never had a problem in finding a free sun lounge. As we faced east we had sea glimpses from our first floor location. Our apartment was spotless and with a good size bathroom with large bath and separate shower. The apartment is large and had plenty of cutlery and glassware. The staff are very helpful and on our last day 1/9/11 we were allowed an extra 2 hours without charge in our apartment until our transport to the airport arrived. I never got the name of the young lady on the front desk but she was extremely obliging and friendly. The resort is well located opposite the beach (1 minute walk at the most) and close to all the restaurants and cafes. Whatever you do have a coffee and cake at the Chill Cafe and if you are lucky Manuela's home made Tiramisu will be on the menu. Palm Cove is simply beautiful.

Room Tip: Definitely get at a first or second floor room either ocean views or at the back of the resort as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisycutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Daisycutt,

We do appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was greart to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the fanatstic destination.
It is also important to mention that as the onsite managers of the property we are able to provide the full range of services to our guests. Ensuring that our guests have all of their needs catered to as promptly as possible to make their hoiliday experience as hassle free and relaxing as possible.

Amber, thak you again for chosing to stay with Mantra Amphora we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Graham Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Property: Mantra Amphora
Address: 49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unit 531 is a privately owned apartment within the Mantra Amphors Palm Cove resort. It has recently been renovated and is beautifuully outfitted. The unit is one of the largest and most spacious units within the resort and has the top view, top hosts and is top value. There are two bedrooms - each with their own bathroom (shower,toilet, b ath - spa bath in second bathroom0. The beds are very comfortable with all new linen. TV's in each bedroom. All linen (including pool towels) and cleaning included in the rental. Lof longer stays unit is serviced once a week. The living, kitchen area is a feature of the unit. Full kitchen facilities with new stove, cooktop, fridge. There is a microwave, dishwasher and in the secluded laundry a new washing machine and dryer. The cultery and crockery is all new as are most of the cooking utensils. Second unit has a bar fridge and microwave. The living room has a dining setting and large couch for relaxing and watching the new 55" TV. There is also a new leather sofa. The living room has a private balcony with the best view of the pool. There is a new BBQ on the balcony and an outdoor setting. The second bedroom hs its own balcony overlooking the mountains. The unit will suit a family or two couples. We have the best references of any unit at the Mantra! Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or meander your way around the beautifully landscaped gardens. Spend some time relaxing in the award winning swimming lagoon and spa which features many coves and nooks shaded by massive palm trees. Located on Williams Esplanade, on the waterfront, Mantra Amphora is just minutes away from some of the best restaurants in Tropical North Queensland. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars suitable for couples and families. At the front of the resort, guests will find Vivo Bar and Grill. Vivo offers guests Italian inspired food mixed with subtle tastes of the tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing