We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2008

The experience of a truly memorable escape to a tropical resort commenced the moment we opened the door to our poolside apartment. Beautifully designed, calming and aesthetically pleasing in every way - unbelievable value.

We loved the pools, the fragrant gardens, the breakfast garden, the friendly staff and the seclusion. We didn't need a car. Buses were regular and easily accessed,coach transfers to tourist destinations well organised and easy. The Palm Cove Village restaurants and little shops and galleries were a pleasant stroll away - there if we needed them.

We highly recommend Mango Lagoon.It's peaceful, comfortable, very beautiful and great value.

Canberra travellers

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank CanberraViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 610 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2008

First impressions of these appartments were certainly very good.Lovely setting ,pretty grounds ,lots of pools to choose from.The appartments are spacious and tastefuly decorated,however as there are only shutters and very little other lighting after dark it became almost impossible to see to read or do anything,next day we asked for exrta lighting and were given a standard lamp.These appartments are advertised as tranquill and relaxing,maybe thats what was first planned but now seem to be let out to mainly Australian families who want to be in the pools until 4 am!!!
The few staff who are on the sight could not have been more helpful but we left after 5 days and moved into Cairns.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank simonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights NOV 2007 in a one bedroom spa apartment.

The resort seemed really quiet, everyone kept to themselves and there are four pools so everyone spread out, it was like we had the whole place to ourselves.

The apartment was furnished in Balinese type style and was very comfortable. We didn't spend too much time in the room but we took a few DVDs to watch and it was nice to relax on the couches with the air
con on.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peri-Peri-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

We stopped off at Palm Cove for 3 nights in August 2007 as part of our tour around Australia. We picked it after spending hours going through various options but I liked the name and the sound of Palm Cove- and we weren't disappointed. We booked 2 rooms as we're a couple and a teenage daughter and we absolutely amazed to see what we ended up with- what amounted to a 2-bedroomed apartment complete with dining table and chairs, kicthen area with large fridge and dishwasher and a washing machine and tumble dryer in one of the bathrooms!! It took a little longer than we'd expected to walk down to the beach which was fine really because it meant it wasn't busy or noisy around us- not that I can imagine Palm Cove being noisy. Plenty of wonderful restaurants to choose from and a stunning beach. A friend had recommended we use Quicksilver from Port Douglas to go the Reef- which we did and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. They can pick you up from the hotel (my husband preferred to drive to the port). A word of advice- book directly with Quicksilver and not through a travel agent!
I agree with the other reviews about the sunloungers- they were few and far between- but we didn't really miss them as unforunately we ended up being up and out every day. If we'd stayed longer- which we wished we could've- it would have been annoying to have 4 loungers to share with the people next door!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Three of us Kiwi gals had 7 day stay at Mango Resort. Coming from NZ we were looking forward to warm weather and we were not disappointed! Found the receptionists, the kitchen staff (Krystal) and the cleaning staff always willing to help and share ideas as what to do whilst there. We had a 2 bedroom courtyard apartment - and it was huge, just like being in your own home. The ladies at the Spa gave us amazing facials and I would recommend them to anyone wanting to be pampered. Mango Resort is truly a beautiful place and it does have a nice feeling about it - there weren't that many people there but we had each other and wow did we have some laughs. We became friendly with the locals at the Tavern too as a lot of them were ex pat Kiwis!
Took a bus into Cairns a couple of days to do some shopping and to go Green Island on the Barrier. Didn't think much of the snorkelling out there - hardly saw any colourful fish but the submarine ride was great! We booked a half day but I think I would go for the whole day as you seem to arrive and then have to leave again.

I would recommend Mango Resort to anyone who wishes to have a relaxing holiday - go with a bunch of friends and you can't help but have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouRGisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Mango Lagoon is a lovely resort located in Palm Cove – about a 10-15minute walk to the main beach.
It is some lovely pool areas, and even has a 50m lap pool. For the record I think I did about 12 laps!
The apartments are fantastic, huge and beautifully furnished.
There is a restaurant on site – where I had breakfast – slightly different set up – where they actually bring you a set continental breakfast.
Also on site is a spa complex – quite small, 2 rooms, set beside the pool – but looked nice and peaceful.

Included in the room cost is use of a scooter. They also have a mustang convertible parked out the front for guests who want airport transfers of a difference!

Overall I highly recommend this property.

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank Annie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It had great views to the neighboring hills and looked really pretty from our room windows.

The pools were lovely and often vacant. Some seating would be handy around the middle pool. The ground got a bit uncomfortable after a while. Might explain why my children seemed to have the pool to themselves each day! The lap pool was a better place to sit and relax.

The resort is a few streets back from the beach and this makes it very quiet. It didn't seem busy while we were there, even though it was peak time.

The rooms were large just as everyone says but i found the lounge - living area awkward and 'cold'. There wasn't much around to make it feel comfy. The furniture was uncomfortable and spread around the lounge so there was no real closeness.

The bathrooms had poor ventilation and becuase they were situated centrally, there was a stale smell in both bathrooms. However, they looked attractive.

Overall the place was reasonably priced for our stay. Our choice this time was limited. Next time i would try to book earlier to have more options.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.4 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa

Address: 81-85 Cedar Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: $63 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mango Lagoon Resort The resort spreads over 2.5 Acres of tropically landscaped gardens with meandering walkways surrounding 4 pools for your pleasure including a 50 metre Olympic sized lap pool and child friendly pool. Our extra spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments are fully self-contained and we also provide the option of studio/hotel room accommodation for guests. Other on-site resort features include a covered BBQ area, Continental Breakfast daily, sun lounges surrounding our 4 pools, on-site tour desk and Free Wi-Fi access is available to all guests throughout most of the Resort. As a perfect gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest. Mango Lagoon Resorts private, quiet location is your perfect place to stay and experience these natural wonders. Relax and stroll the award winning Palm Cove beach lapped by the Coral Sea or explore one of the many restaurants, salons, and boutique shops. Our friendly staff will be happy to tailor a tour package to suit your requirements and budget. Mango Lagoon Resort has a clear mission. 'We want to provide our guests with the best possible holiday experience in Palm Cove'. We look forward to welcoming you in paradise soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Hotel Palm Cove
Mango Lagoon Resort And Wellness Spa
Mango Lagoon Hotel Wellness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing