We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great retreat”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We travelled to Palm cove from the hustle and bustle of Sydney. It is an awesome place to relax by the pool sipping cocktails. All the staff are great however Brian was super helpful. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Iveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Andrew_Iveta,

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday by the pool. I’ll be sure to pass along your positive comments to Brian.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    330
    115
    41
    33
See reviews for
336
507
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

"Welcome to the Pullman Palm cove, you must be Mr W, my colleague will take care of your bags and I'm very pleased to tell you that we have upgraded you to a suite for the duration of your stay here". So full marks for the check in process then!
We had arrived late from the airport so the only food available was room service; unfortunately this took almost an hour to arrive despite being promised within 20 minutes. Not a massive issue and it was acknowledged by the staff offering a small discount when the food finally arrived, but it certainly took the gloss off the hotel’s good start.

The suite (room 303) was beautiful, with an enormous open plan kitchen, dining and living room along with a good sized balcony, all linked to a spacious bedroom and cavernous bathroom. Everything was clean, tidy and in good working order when we arrived, only quibble with the fabric of the room was a crack and what looked like a small burn mark on the very large 2 person jacuzzi bathtub.

The hotel itself is arranged in four wings around the central pool area, with an opening that leads down the few yards to the beach. It’s situated just outside the middle of Palm cove, probably a 5 minute stroll either along the beach (only at low tide) or down the road on the land side. The benefit is that there is none of the passing traffic and no road or esplanade between the hotel and the beach, although I guess there are some who might prefer to have the cafés and restaurants right on their doorstep.

The pool area is quite heavily planted with trees and bushes, which give quite a green feel and provide some shaded areas. As the day went on various leaves and twigs fell into the pool which clearly put off a minority of guests although most didn't seem to care at all, ourselves included. Every morning the pool was fully cleaned.

We had one lunch at the pool bar and one dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food at the pool bar was simple, tasty and served quickly. Dinner in the restaurant was good quality without being great, although the service was a bit slow and listless despite there only being a few guests and plenty of staff.

In sharp contrast to this were the exceptional staff on reception. We discovered upon arrival that my wife had accidentally left her phone in the taxi that had transferred us from the airport. Bit of a disaster but the staff at reception were able to get hold of the taxi company and organise delivery of the phone back to the hotel the next day, giving us regular updates as they sorted things out. The staff at the spa also remembered our preference for a late appointment, which hadn't initially been available, but proactively got hold of us following a cancellation to offer to move our massages to the preferred times.

There seemed to be a reasonably big conference on at the hotel whilst we were there (this was also the reason they gave when I asked why we were upgraded). We really didn't notice much of the conference beyond the odd flip chart covered in marketing gibberish and the sound of an occasional round of applause floating over to the pool on the breeze. This wasn't an issue for us as we didn't spent much time in the hotel during the day, but I imagine if you'd come here expecting tropical paradise seclusion the effect might be somewhat spoiled by the occasional interaction with a large conference group.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel. Possibly better to look elsewhere if you want to just sunbathe all day around a pristine pool, if the 5 minute walk to the amenities of Palm cove will be an issue, or if you want true 5 star tropical luxury pampering (for which I guess you'd need to pay significantly more than we did).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Lidunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Old_Lidunian,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay.

I’m happy to hear that you received such a wonderful welcome from our Reception team on your arrival. I was also pleased to hear that they were able to assist you with locating your missing mobile phone. I’m glad to hear that the Vie Spa were able to accommodate your request for a later massage. Please accept my apologies for the delay with your room service meal, however I’m pleased to hear that the team addressed the delay with you when the meal arrived.

Old_Lidunian thank you again for your positive review we are all very happy that you had a great stay, I’ll be sure to pass along your comments to all the team’s here at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back when your next in Tropical North Queensland.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We decided to have diner at the sea temple.The staff were excellent for both service and being friendly. They really could not do enough for you. We had a two course meal mains plus desert. The food was excellent and we remarked that it was the best we had eaten in along time. Also the price was very reasonable considering the quality.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Paul N,

Thank you for your positive review of our In House Restaurant. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your meal & the service provided by our staff. I’ll be sure to pass along your comments to the team.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our first real holiday without our children and it was the perfect place to relax and celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment and found it very spacious and clean. Housekeeping was extremely efficient and non intrusive and room service for breakfast was on time and as ordered. The staff we all very friendly and willing to help with anything. Even though we did experience the tropical rain, this didn't ruin the holiday as we could relax in the covered terrace and enjoy the hospitality or have some beautiful treatments in the spa. The resort is located right on the beach and within walking to distance to shops, cafes and other restaurants on the esplanade. The only issue we had is one night at around 10.30pm some cleaning was being undertaken with machinery in the foyer which echoed up to our room on level 3, but after speaking with reception the machine was stopped.
Thank you to the resort team for arranging for a complimentary bottle of bubbly to be in our room to celebrate our anniversary. It is little gestures like this that help make a holiday memorable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim780215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear kim780215,

Congratulations on your 10 year Anniversary & thank you for choosing to spend it with us here at the Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa. I certainly agree with you that the Spa is a beautiful relaxing place to spend a rainy day. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff & service’s here at the Resort, I’ll be sure to pass along your positive comments to all our teams. Please accept my apologies for the noise issue you experience, I’m pleased that the Reception team were able to assist.

kim780215, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our 10 year anniversary will be remembered as a very special time, the staff are so personal and make you feel very at home. It's as if you are in your own back yard. We were spoilt rotten and only two staff members knew it was our anniversary. They were all so lovely. We are planning our next visit already!!! This place is a haven of relaxation. Cherished memories for a lifetime xx

Room Tip: Enquirer about the apartments on the ground level that have their own patio onto the pool and sunbat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikell2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Nikell2004,

Congratulations on your 10 year Anniversary & thank you for choosing to spend it with us here at the Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa. I was very happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Perhaps for your 11 year anniversary!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage MI
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a unique hotel with nice people staffing it. It is the only place during a 6 week vacation where we had a really difficult situation that should have been handled better by the staff.
There are several different kinds of rooms. Our first room was small, but that was compensated for by the balcony that was as big as the indoor room. We were happy there until we were driven out by the guest who was smoking on his adjoining balcony, which made it impossible for us to use our balcony. Our second room, where we were forced to move at 9PM to avoid the smoke was larger, but with a tiny balcony that was not connected to anyone else's balcony.
We were very upset by being forced to move to another room, and made that very clear to the staff members who arranged our move. For some reason, the manager apparently did not hear about our unhappiness until 3 days later when I sent an email to the COO of the company. Then he got involved, talked to us, and sent a bottle of wine up to our room. I appreciate his effort, but wish it would have happened internally instead of only after I informed his boss. If they have to allow smoking, why not have smoking areas separate from non-smoking areas?
The restaurant was nice, but expensive. We only ate there once, and it was easy to walk into town to a lot of available restaurants.
We never used the swimming pool, and only walked to the beach once. That was because it rained most of the time we were there. It's a very short walk to the beach, but it was jelly fish season so you couldn't swim in the ocean.
This is a nice place. It's too bad they allow smoking. And be careful what time of year you go here; the 20-hour-a-day rain and jelly fish can put a crimp on your activities.

Room Tip: There are several kinds of rooms. Be careful to get the kind you want, and ask about the smoking pol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJohnPortageMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear JustJohnPortageMI,

Thank you for taking the time to post you comments regarding your stay. Thank you also for taking the time during your holiday to chat with me regarding your concerns. The inside of our rooms are all strictly non smoking. We also have two designated smoking areas within the Resort that we encourage all our guest’s to use. We monitor smoking outside designated smoking areas to the best of our ability.

JustJohnPortageMI, thank you again for your review I hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.5 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
318 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Property: Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Address: 5 Triton St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Palm Cove
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove
Sea Temple Resort Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing