We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location in Palm Cove”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in Palm Cove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Sarayi is a very nice hotel with fantastic views. It is centrally located along the beach strip so you can walk to the pubs and supermarkets and of course the beach which is across the road.We were lucky to have an ocean view spa room, beautifully appointed with all the mod cons. A wonderful balcony to have breakfast on and enjoy the surroundings.We were there for 3 nights in May.
I think that tourism between Cairns and Port Douglas is suffering for a few reasons, our strong dollar allowing people to visit overseas easily and the perception that the recent cyclone has wrecked the tourist spots, well the latter is not true, its beautiful up that way. However, we could not help to notice the area was quiet and I think the hotels and tourism is suffering for the reasons listed. These reasons also reflected on the lack of staff on duty when we arrived at Sarayi on the Sunday to book in. Only one poor girl was rostered on and had to do everything including prepare our room and pick up people from Cairns which left us waiting for an hour to get into our room. This was not her fault, but prhaps the managment are cutting costs in this economic climate. Apart from the free wireless not consistently working, the place is just beautiful and would definitly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    99
    21
    13
    3
See reviews for
48
160
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

The location was supurb, the service from reception was excellent & the pillows were the most comfortable I have come across in a hotel for ages... but the room was a huge let down and the housekeeping staff might as well have been away on holiday.
We booked a courtyard room motivated by price but in hindsite would have preferred to pay more for a better hotel. The front access side of the room had lovely gardens but huge windows - making the room either extremely public or very dingy with the blinds closed - and the back 'private courtyard' was decidedly prison like with no plants & only shade cloth seperating us from the neighbours.
Kitchen facilities consisted of a fridge, cups, glasses & a good sharp knife but no chopping board or plates (I should add that housekeeping steadfastly ignored our dirty cups & glasses for the duration of our stay & didn't bother to provide us with detergent or teatowels so I apologise if your handtowels are stained). A note on the wall alerted us to the fact that the local ants loved when sweet things were left on the bench - once again, it would have been helpful to have plates & a cloth.
During our 6 night stay, the towels were unnecessarily replaced daily (something most hotels endeavour to avoid in the interests of environmental care), the sheets were changed once on the 4th night (the only time our bed was made) but absolutely the worst thing by far - the toilet/shower remained untouched by detergent for the duration of our visit. When I approached housekeeping about our sandy tile floor I was given a broom.
My lifestyle matured from backpackers to hotels a few years ago and our stay at Sarayi felt like a step backwards. I'm happy to be back in my clean home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwisnowgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarayi, Guest Relations Manager at Sarayi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sarayi. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectation.

To date we have had a great response from previous guest who have booked and stayed in our Garden Studios. Therefore it is regretful to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. If we had of known of your disappointment we would have ensured that we upgraded you to a room that suited your needs better. Furthermore our room descriptions clearly state what is available in each room. We are happy to offer guests additional items on request. We have taken your comments on board and as a result we have now placed tea towels and dish cloths in our Hotel and Garden Studios.

At Sarayi we strive to ensure all guests are comfortable during their stay and encourage guests to speak with reception staff should they have any issues so they can be addressed immediately.

Kind regards

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We felt relaxed as soon as we arrived. The apartment was clean, spacious and the views were stunning. Only negative was lack of a lift… Easy walking distance to everything in Palm Cove

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabellesimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and attentative to the needs of the guests.

Very good value for money.

I would recommend the hotel to any one wanting to visit Cairns / Palm cove.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hishii99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Our stay at Sarayi was really awesome. Ten steps from the beach and all the restaurants, spacious and clean room, a nice pool on the roof - we loved it all. Vanessa and staff helped us every time we needed anything. We definately recommend this place to other travellers and will be happy to come back there one day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsrodeo540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel is tremendous value and in a perfect location. It is 1/3 the price of properties within 20 metres of it. 42 inch plasma TV. free wi-fi and free transfers from the airport. There is a little supermarket at the front and a lovely bar. The mexican barbeque on the Sunday afternoon was wonderful.

I will be coming back. Also make sure you go down to the surf club and enjoy the cheap meals and beers.

My only complaint was there was little bit of noise but that was not very late.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

Ditto, we loved our stay at Sarayi, Vanessa, Hayley and the crew were fantastic and went above and beyond. Can't wait to return and have recommended to family too. We hope you make it through Yasi safely guys.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodster_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.1 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarayi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarayi Boutique Hotel

Property: Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Address: 95 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarayi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Cove directly opposite the beach. Accommodation types range from Garden Studios to Ocean View one bedroom apartments. Our rooftop pool offers breathtaking views to the mountains and we have both an on-site restaurant, and convenience store within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarayi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarayi, Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing