We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our family getaway, even better than...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bedrock Palm Cove

Bedrock Palm Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedrock Palm Cove
Dining area, looking to living and out to the magnificent view The perfect kitchen!  Amazing views whilst cooking up a feast!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Bedrock Palm Cove
Dining area, looking to living and out to the magnificent view
The perfect kitchen!  Amazing views whilst cooking up a feast!
Relax in our comfortable King furniture sofa and enjoy Netflix, unless the view distracts you.
Scout Hut & Double Island views whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch & dinner.
Soak up the view from the front balcony.
Elevated pool for privacy from the street, whilst still giving views out to Double Island.
3 steps into the pool.  50cm wide &deep seat along edge to relax. Next ledge is 1m deep & 1.5m wide.
Large grounds to run around and enjoy on a completely fenced block. Pool fenced to Australian regs
Large upstairs area so even large groups have plenty of room
Large kitchen island for lots of prepping room or meals or chatting.
Master bedroom with queen bed, ensuite & WIR.
Master bedroom with water glimpses.  Privacy & blackout blinds so you can catch up on rest if need b
Twin basin ensuite with rainshower.
Bedroom 2 with King bed or twin King singles.  your choice.
Bedroom 3 with Queen bed, looking to pool.
Bedroom 3 also has ocean views.
Main bathroom with shower and bath. Hairdryer also supplied.
Downstairs apartment, still with views.  Has TV , kitchenette, sofa & ensuite.
Downstairs apartment has a double bed, & either a King bed or twin King singles.  1 step to garden
Downstairs apartment ensuite with toilet.
Back garden on same level as living/kitchen/dining & pool
Back deck protected from the wind and rain.  Relax and listen to the forest with a nice drink
Back deck also has outdoor dining for 8 guests & a Weber BBQ
upstairs floorplan
Downstairs floorplan
Palm Cove beach, perfect for walks, swimming & water sports.
Or artistic creation!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Palm Cove, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarkstays
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family getaway, even better than expected!”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled with 5 adults and 2 small children (3yrs and 9months) and found Bedrock perfect for our needs. The safety gate on the stairs made it so much easier to relax, and the whole house is child friendly. We had a great time exploring Palm Cove (only a short drive, or a 30 min stroll with the pram) and absolutely loved being able to look out over the breathtaking view from the comfort of the lounge. It was also a convenient location for exploring Port Douglas, Mareeba, and Cairns. We will definitely be back if we get the chance!
My only small criticism would be that there are insufficient towel rails in the bathrooms and an option for a mid-week service (clean towels, floors and bathrooms cleaned) would add that extra bit of luxury. The mattresses are probably due for a change too, but were comfortable enough for a short stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Hi Melissa,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you managed to explore a lot of what Cairns and the surroundings have to offer.

Thanks for your feedback regarding the towel rails and beds. We are in the process of getting some new beds and replacing the sofa with a new model from King Furniture, so hopefully if you come back you'll get to experience the new fitout.

We do offer complimentary mid stay cleans, including changing the linen and towels for stays of 10 nights or longer, but with your feedback maybe we'll add it as an optional extra for shorter stays, for those that would like the service.

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and let us know ways to improve.

Kind regards,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arb198620...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful home stunning views a real piece of paradise! Will defiantly be returning and will be recomending it to anyone traveling to cairns

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Hi Abby,

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're so glad you liked the house and enjoyed your time in Cairns.

We do hope you come back and visit again.

All the best,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaronlang...
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and location, with all the comforts of home”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed bedrock for 4 nights, as part of a two week trip to northern QLD.

When initially looking for accommodation around Cairns, we noticed there were a large amount of hotels, motels and private rentals available, but we wanted something a little different.

What initially attracted us to Bedrock was the location at the top of the hill, with a small private pool, all with a view over the ocean and nearby island.

Although the house had 4 bedrooms, with accommodation for up to 10 people, we were a couple and enjoyed the space and facilities that this beautiful house had to offer. The house was located in a small residential estate, surrounded by other amazing houses, with rainforest at the back door.

We had email communication with the owner Alex, who provided all the necessary information regarding checkin (since he was overseas at the time). He also emailed to let us know we could check in early, and to check how we doing after the checkin.

Bedrock provided the following facilities which we found very useful:

Automatic double garage (where we parked our hire car)
Laundry facilities, including washing powder
3 bathrooms
Individual Air conditioners and fans in each room
Dishwasher
Pool towels
Wi-fi

Clifton Beach was a few minutes drive away, and had a small shopping shopping centre with Coles and liquorland. Nearby Palm Cove beach was lined with restaurants and cafes, which we visited daily. Cairns city was only 35 mins away, where more shopping, restaurants a and nightlife (including cinemas) were available.

Bedrock was a great location to explore the local area. We visited:
Port Douglas
Skyrail
Blazing saddles (horse riding and quad biking)

Overall, Bedrock was a very affordable and beautiful place to stay, with all the comforts of home, and I would highly recommend.

Thanks Alex and Alexis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2016
Hi Aaron,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an in-depth review. We really appreciate it.

We definitely think Bedrock is unique, so it's great to hear that that's one of the reasons you came to stay. It sounds like you really explored the local area and got to see lots of the nearby attractions. There's so much to see and do and it's hard to choose what to get started with.

It was a pleasure having you come and stay and we hope you come and visit Palm Cove and Bedrock again.

All the best,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auroraf66...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A week of rest and relaxation”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent six nights at Bedrock as an extended family of three generations and loved every moment. The pool and yard were perfect for our primary school aged children to use and the house is comfortably furnished and appointed throughout.
There is everything you could wish for and more here. The owners have put a lot of thought into the needs of travellers and details such as the child safety gate, ping-pong table and variety of toys and games were a welcome bonus.
We hope to return to Bedrock again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, gardens and view.
Liked least: We think the house should have floor to ceiling blockout blinds in the main living area and entry foyer to block the morning sun which heats the house rapidly. The fans and air con were excellent but wouldn't be needed as much with blockouts.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
Hi Aurora,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the house, garden & facilities.

We definitely hope to see you back next year and hopefully we'll have more on offer at the house to surprise you again.

Kind regards,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood115...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Loved Bedrock!!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When I first saw this house on the Internet, I decided this was the place for my family to stay. The pictures made the house and grounds looks incredible. We were not disappointed. It is actually even better than the pictures and discription can show. My daughters couldn't find the words to express how much they loved this house.

The place is spacious with a great deck, yard and a small private swimming pool. The view from the main living space is amazing. There is easily room for 9 or 10 people to sleep so our group of 6 was very comfortable. We had all the amenities we required, the beds were comfortable and we felt right at home the minute we walked in.

We are all adults and new we would be out of the house a lot to go to the reef, the Daintree and other points of interest. Sitting on the beach wasn't our end game. The beach is a decent 20 to 25 minute walk (5 minut drive) from Bedrock. A well stocked grocery store is also only 5 minutes away. Palm Cove has a lot of restaurants to chose from. We never had an issue with any of them.

The only thing that was unexpected was the geckos. We saw more than one running around the house. My daughters were little freaked out. However, these little guys are normal, part of the house, harmless and are there for a purpose. And they are really small.

Our family would highly recommend this house to any group or family looking for a first class house to stay in in the Cairns area. Alex and Alexis are great to deal with and we couldn't be happier with our decision to stay at Bedrock.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique home with great view!!!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
We're delighted you all enjoyed your stay and liked the layout and space of Bedrock. It sounds like you made the most of your time in beautiful Palm Cove and Cairns.

Yes we do have some other permanent residents so we should probably put that on our house description. The geckos are very useful though and an integral part of living in Far North Queensland.

We hope you'll visit Palm Cove and Bedrock again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikDas
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday home at exotic location”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Travelled with group of friends over Easter holidays. The place is amazing with excellent ameneties and fabulous views at any time of the day. Alex was a good host and even though he was away, he made sure that we settled in fine. Perfect base for your holidays around Cairns, Port Douglas, Daintree, Tablelands etc. Would suit a large family or group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and you found the house a great base from which to explore the region. We've always enjoyed the location and found it very convenient for enjoying all that Cairns and the surrounding area has to offer, so it's great to hear you made the most of it as well.

We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully this time we'll be there to welcome you personally.

All the best,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
91beer
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!! :)”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Myself and a group of 7 friends have recently stayed at Bedrock in Palm Cove and we were all very impressed with our stay, the home provided everything that you need and more. Happy to say it was everything we expected plus more!
Located backing on to the forest in a lovely quiet street the views were amazing, from inside the home and in the pool you could get a clear view of the shoreline of Palm Cove, when waking up in the morning the sounds of birds talking was beautiful and peaceful! I highly recommend this property to anyone looking at staying in North Queensland as the location is central to major attraction areas such as Cairns and Port Douglas.
Owners are very helpful and prompt in any queries or questions you may have! We will be definitely be returning to Bedrock!
:)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Dear Sky,

Thanks so much for your kind words about your stay. We're so glad you and your group enjoyed yourselves and the house and it was a pleasure having you come and stay. We hope you'll find your way back up to Cairns soon.

Kind regards,

Alex and Alexis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing