We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Family Friendly”

The Surf Club Palm Cove
Ranked #12 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not so Family Friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Short review/advice:
Popped in from beach for a refreshing milk shake for the kids.
Don't do milk shakes, try next door.
4 adults + 3 kids. Not good for the potential spend guys.
Buy a milk shake maker If you really want to be family friendly guys!

Helpful?
Thank KevHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    317
    130
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a nice meal here reasonably priced with friendly staff. We had fish & chips was your average standard for a simple lunch

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Surf club is in a great location and you can sit inside in the A/C or outside on the deck area looking across the beach. Service is so so but the quality and value of the food was a big surprise for us as well as nice and affordable drinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tockwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“As expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went in for a meal - just walked past and saw the $15 Fish and Chips. Bar service was friendly and food was served after a short wait. Meal was OK - standard fish and chips. Prices were good and the food was as you would expect for $15 - nothing flash, but quite nice. Sat outside overlooking the beach. Location is a winner. I would be nice to sit our for drinks too. Would go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here last week with a girlfriend. I had a kids meal of calamari and chips as I wasn't overly hungry. My friend ordered a main that had grilled calamari and salad. It looked incredible. The size of my kids meal was massive. It was hot, fresh and delicious. My crumbed calamari was not rubbery at all. Will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Cairns_Critic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Surf Club Palm Cove also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Surf Club Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing