We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterranean atmosphere”

El Greco Greek Taverna
Ranked #16 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mediterranean atmosphere”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A group of six of us visited "El Greko" on August 4th and were very pleased with the quality and quantity of our meals. Highlight meals were "moussaka" and lamb cutlets. The atmosphere was great, with touches of Mediterranean flare (such as Greek beer.) As expected, the prices are inflated as are most restaurants in tourist areas. The service was prompt and polite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    151
    68
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food, Friendly staff”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food was enjoyable and didn't have to wait long as the restaurant filled up.
Location is a bit poor although its on the beach front, its at the back between other restaurants and shops, up a flight of stairs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank H1-5hine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Under delivered on initial expectation”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As mentioned this taverna at the top of the stairs on the Esplanade is very well presented on approach and the restaurant was clean and had a very nice vibe! We were served by the owner who was very friendly and attentive with her service!
We were recommended a very nice bottle of Greek wine which was the most expensive on the menu at a pretty reasonable $48. It was worth it!
The food under delivered in both quality and portions although the vegetables were superbly cooked! One of us had a prawn dish as a main that had only 4 medium prawns on it. Steak was cooked nicely as requested. Trio of dips were again on the small side but very tasty. Kids had the specified kids meal which were satisfactory.....
Conclusion: we had a very nice night with a family of 5 but probably won't go back again, a little pricey, which is fine if its worth it, just missed the mark a little in food quality. We have had far better Greek food in other places.
Maybe try it for yourself with a little less expectation than we had?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ParkmanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Qld
Level Contributor
141 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Food was good but the "banquet" was anything but and little atmosphere”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went here for an evening out. The restaurant has a nice ambience; we were placed in a cosy corner near the back door & bar so one would expect good service but unfortunately we wasted too much time trying to catch a waiters eye each time we wanted another drink which kind of spoiled the evening, especially as they were rushing past us half the time. The banquet was very basic, little variety and not many courses; nothing at all like we have experienced at other Greek restaurants. Prices were not cheap so not value for money. Is child friendly so if you are a family especially with littlies or babies in pushers they accommodate you, usually out on the deck. We have had better nights out and wouldn't rush back; but it is a nice enough place that we will probably give them another go at some time in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CairnsGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money on raw food!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be served raw chicken then go here. Food was horrible and service was even worse!! The female that works here needs a short course in customer service. After my husband and I ordered a plate of meats we were horrified to discover that the chicken on our plate was raw!! We were than told by the waiter who we presume was the owner " yeah it's under cooked but the rest of the food should be fine to eat". We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and our night was ruined.. To make matters worse we even had to pay for it!! There are many of beautiful places to dine out in palm cove and this not one to waste your money on!! What has happened to good old customer service these days!! One word to describe this place ... DISGUSTING !!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picklezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Greco Greek Taverna also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to El Greco Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing