We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel to make a base whilst touring the Cairns area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel to make a base whilst touring the Cairns area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights on our tour of Oz. We had checked out 1 day early from Thala Lodge at Port Douglas and thought we had found paradise! Thala was full of bugs and critters with geekos all over the room so to find the Grand Mercure, clean, bug free, modern and spacious was brilliant.
Check in was easy and my brother, who we were meeting, had been put in a room opposite which was handy. The apartment was well appointed with very useful laundry facilities considering we were living out of a suitcase up until then. The kitchen was basic but useable and helped us to keep the costs down as the restaurants were expensive. Coles is just down the road for grocery shopping. Internet connection was not free.
Palm Cove is a lovely, quiet village with some good restaurants, though, as elsewhere, you couldn't swim in the sea because of jellyfish, unless you were within the netted area. But the hotel pool was fine - try 10 mins in the warm spa then plunging into the pool - quite a shock I can say!
The village is growing all the time but is doing so very tastefully with no high rise ugliness.
It made a good base to tour Daintree rain forest, Cape Tribulation (about 2 hrs away), Cairns Zoo with roos and koalas (5 mins away), Atherton Tablelands plus of course Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef. Highlight of our tour was diving on GBR with Passions of Paradise catamaran trip - awesome!
If we ever went back to Queensland we would definitely go back to Palm Cove and back to Grand Mercure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pudsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    109
    34
    19
    8
See reviews for
105
129
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Great apartments, good location, well appointed. Comfortable beds; only downside was no restaurant within hotel proper, although many local cafes. Great springboard for Barrier Reef snorkling expeditions
Will definitely be back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here for one week. The location is perfect - Palm Cove is such a beautiful place and overall the Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade is a nice place to stay. However there were a few issues that negatively impacted on our stay.

Firstly, the room wasn't particularly clean. The lounge was filthy and very stained and the bathrooms were quite old and a bit dirty looking. The quilt on the bed was not put in a quilt cover and so we could see that it was covered in lots of yucky stains. The apartments are only cleaned weekly which we did not know until our second day there. This would normally be fine but because the place was a bit dirty to begin with it would have been nice if it had been cleaned a little more regularly. Overall, it needed a good thorough clean as a lot of dust/dirt had accumulated in a number of places.

My husband and I chose this place because we wanted somewhere with a kitchen so that we could cook most of our meals to keep costs down, rather than eating out every night. However, it turns out that you basically cannot use the kitchen for cooking. When we first checked in we had to sign a document that said that we would have to pay $1200 for the fire brigade to come out if we set the smoke alarm in our room off. It also stated what we should do when cooking to prevent this from happening (e.g. make sure the rangehood is on etc). We were a bit nervous about this so when it came time to cook we made sure we were very careful to do exactly as we were told to. However, we still set the smoke alarm off. We had not burnt anything - this was just from normal cooking. The rangehood is simply not strong enough even on its highest setting and the kitchen is so poorly designed that it is almost impossible to cook without setting the alarm off. As soon as this happened we called reception and they said you have 3 minutes to clear it otherwise you will have to pay $1200. Luckily we were able to clear it and the fire brigade wasn't called. However, this turned us off cooking for the remainder of the holiday, the stress just wasn't worth it! So we had to take all our food down to the public BBQs and do all of our cooking there which was sometimes a bit tricky as the BBQs are very popular.

Of course I understand that the smoke alarms are very important and there for the safety of guests, however I don't think it is fair for guests to be charged $1200 when the layout of the kitchen and the placement of the smoke alarms haven't been thought through and also when the rangehood provided is just not sufficient.

Apart from these issues we had a great holiday. The grounds of this hotel are kept very nicely and the pool is beautiful. The staff were friendly and generally very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJGG8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Great apartments for a family - having the extra 'day bed' area provided spacious sleeping arrangements for our 3 children. When travelling with the kids, having a self contained apartment is a must - especially with a load of washing most days and a dishwasher going frequently. It was a pity that the washing machine didn't work (although we were provided with a key to another apartment with a working machine - not as convenient though) and the microwave also broken (replaced promptly). There was a good drying rack for the washing. Enough crockery and cutlery and then the dish draw that was just the right size to put on after each meal.
The pool was great - especially the children's pool. Having a physical barrier between it and the main pool was a good boundary. And it was certainly big enough for both our 3 and 5 year olds. OVerall a good family holiday - we will hopefully return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

My wife and I had been traveling around Australia and, had stopped in Cairns for our friends wedding. My wife and I had decided to stay in Palm Cove at the Grand Mercure Rockford apartments. We were greeted by a friendly young man who gave us parking/room directions to which we followed. Having traveled for a very long time 10 hours to be exact we gathered our luggage( from the car) proceeding to the door. A smiling young lady came to my wife's aid after dropping a bag of toiletries. After taking us directly to our room and, assisting me with the rest of our luggage kindly asked if there was anything else she could do for us. I asked where the nearest shop was as my wife would love a cup of tea and only drank Soy milk, she then proceeded in going herself and, buying it for us. ( we are both in our late 60's) I think she could see we were both very tied.
Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the pool with a great veranda with views over the very large pool and spa. The bedroom was very spacious and well presented with a daybed area facing the pool. The kitchen was fully self contained with dishwasher/microwave . Our room was bright and very clean. The resort didn't have room service or on site restaurant to speak of but restaurant were within a minutes walk. On walking down later that afternoon for a swim we met the lady who helped us only to find out that her name was Molly ( Executive Housekeeper) and worked for the Hotel, once again, asking if she could be of assistance . The grounds of the hotel were kept very neat with a very very large swimming pool with a lot of deck chairs and big day beds. BBQs set amongst shaded trees and out door tables. The hotel was very busy and had a lot of young families staying which made for the atmosphere. Beach across the road with an abundance of restaurants to choice from. Tours were easily accessed from the front desk having reception book my wife and I a trip up to kuranda via Sky-rail. All though we didn't require room service, Molly would always make sure we had fresh towels,and, found an extra soft pillow for my wife . Having stayed in Hotels all over the world the Grand Mercure Rockford has been the most relaxing, VERY well serviced holidays we have had. I would highly recommend staying in Palm Cove for convenience, relaxing, and very happy friendly service. Thank-you to the friendly staff and, especially Molly for all your help and kindness. We are planing a return trip when we come back from London.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mans863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Great hotel. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. I will be back one day and will bring my family and friends there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

What had to be the highlight of our once-in-a-lifetime trip Down Under, turned out to be a very negative experience. For 250 dollars a night we stayed at the Rockford Esplanade (Drift). Stains on curtains, couch, bed, very moisty and very smelly (bad smel), unfriendly staff, we felt like nobody cared about us staying there. Which might be right as we hired the appartement from an individual - not living in Australia - so why bother about his guests? Very expensive wireless internet. Small kitchen. Unpleasant lights in livingroom, did not want to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SammieDenBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.5 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove

Property: Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove
Address: Cnr Williams Esp & Veivers Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Apartments is situated on the beach at exclusive Palm Cove overlooking the Coral Sea perfectly positioned between two World Heritage sites - the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Just 25 minutes north of Cairns International Airport in tropical far North Queensland, the resort features a choice of luxuriously appointed studios, lofts, one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments, each with a large private balcony or courtyard. Resort facilities include several beachfront restaurants and cafes, expansive free form lagoon style swimming pool, children's pool, outdoor spa, gymnasium, pilates classes, massage and boutique shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Hotel Palm Cove
Mercure Palm Cove
Mercure Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing