We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good value. Great service bar one rude receptionist that took the spring out of our steep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location. Good value. Great service bar one rude receptionist that took the spring out of our steep”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Overall fantastic holiday at great location, tainted by rude service by receptionist Katrina on more than one occasion. Management need to address her attitude. All other experiences worth returning for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spade04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    111
    36
    21
    8
See reviews for
109
132
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay. We travelled with extended family and had 3 rooms. The 2 bedroom and 1 bedroom apartments are in a separate area so was not ideal for us all to be together. Even the 2 x 2 bedroom appartments were at the complete opposite ends of the corridor with 9 other appatments in between. My sister in law was lucky to receive an upgraded room with a lovely view of the ocean. That appartment was huge with 2x queen beds and 2 bathrooms. As they were upgraded the layout did to include the daybed(really a 3rd bed) but a rollaway bed was quickly arranged.

Our appartment was smaller but had 2x queen beds and 1 double day bed meant that my kids had their own beds. We looked out over the reception roof and the out look from our bedroom was awful over to another building and dead garden.

The rooms were clean and the kitchen included enough to have breakfast each morning and a basic dinner. We used the BBQ in the pool area. We loved being able to use the beach towels from and swapping them for clean ones. The onsite pool is huge but was a little chilly as there is no heating. There was pool noddles to use which the kids loved. There is also a hot spa.

We spent a lot of time at the beach as the water was warmer there than the pool. There are no waves but the water was crystal clear. You can hire paddle boards and kayaks off the beach.

There are plenty of restaurants along the beachfront. Some fairly pricy but family friendly restaurants can be found. There is a lovely cafe next to the surf shop along from reception which does breakfast and lunch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyKmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place is so relaxing. Located at bottom end of the beachfront, everything is just a short walk away. 50 metres to the beach and when finished there back to the huge resort pool and/or large "hot" spa. The resort is woven within large -spectacular tropical garden - so impressive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxims1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Moder, clean, fully equipped, with a private outdoor area, beautifully located! Palm Cove is such a beautiful destination and we had a great family holidays with our toddler. the facilities are fantastic, beds comfortable, couldn't hope for more! Located just next to the beach, as good as it gets! Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovely, pool is beautiful, rooms clean, BBQ is free and all utensils supplied in the room. This is one of the best places I have stayed at and I have travelled. You can't go wrong here. No swim up to bar but its cheaper to bring your own drinks anyway. Also pool isn't overcrowded.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shellbella05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove

Property: Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove
Address: Cnr Williams Esp & Veivers Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Apartments is situated on the beach at exclusive Palm Cove overlooking the Coral Sea perfectly positioned between two World Heritage sites - the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Just 25 minutes north of Cairns International Airport in tropical far North Queensland, the resort features a choice of luxuriously appointed studios, lofts, one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments, each with a large private balcony or courtyard. Resort facilities include several beachfront restaurants and cafes, expansive free form lagoon style swimming pool, children's pool, outdoor spa, gymnasium, pilates classes, massage and boutique shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Hotel Palm Cove
Mercure Palm Cove
Mercure Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing