We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Melaleuca Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melaleuca Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May. Wonderful location with the beach across the street, mountains behind us. Margaret and Steven were very friendly and helpful. The apartments were spacious and very clean. We were able to grill out one evening and just enjoy the beauty of the full moon Margaret was also very helpful in setting up some great activities in the area for us. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 438 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Melaluca resort for a week at the beginning of June 2013.
Margaret was very friendly and made us feel so welcome!
The apartments themselves were very clean and tidy and exactly what we needed for our stay. We made good use of the kitchen as we didn't want to eat out every night.
As far as value for money goes I would defiantly recommend Melaluca. It's right on the beach and right in the heart of the Palm Cove strip.
The Coles supermarket is a 2 minute bus ride back towards Cairns.
Palm cove was great, not too busy and had a better vibe than Port Douglas.
All in all, it was a special place and we will definitely be back to stay in Palm Cove at Melaluca.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March, part of a 4 week tour of Eastern Australia. We had originally stayed 4 nights at a Hotel in Cairns & decided to drive up to Palm Cove on the recommendation of a local we met on the flight up from Melbourne. What a beautiful location,

After looking at the Hotels on the front we came across the Melaleuca. It was exactly what we were looking for. Really comfortable ,clean 1 bed apatment with everything you needed including washing & drying facilities. Plus the view! Stunning!

We loved our stay here & wished we could have spent our whole time in Queensland at the Melaleuca, taking into account that the place we stayed in Cairns was the same price, but nowhere near as good.

As others have reported, Margaret & Stephen were very pleasant & helpful.

Other than the above, I would simply concur with all the positive things others have said about this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and were so happy with location, rooms and service. The rooms are comfortable and you can hear the waves crashing into the shore, the palms swaying in the breeze or the birds singing wherever you are in your apartment. Everything was available to cook in-house or use BBQ. Pool is gorgeous and it's in the middle of all other accommodation on the strip so very convenient. Thanks to the great managers for their help in booking tours and recommending places to visit. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amyandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our third visit to Melaleuca resort and after staying at some 5 star places in Port douglas and Palm cove I have to to say that this place is the best. Margaret & Stephen are fantastic hosts and the place is so well kept and peaceful. These are all 1 bed apartments so you do not tend to get many children, well behaved children are great mind you but for couples this is a good thing. The apartments are very very clean and have everything, even a window in the bathroom ! The tropical gardens are just beautiful, so well loved and tended and provide a great buffer from the sea breezes. You can here the sea from everywhere in the grounds and see it from most apartments. It was unfortunate for us that we could only stay 2 days this time however the next time we visit TNQ we will not stay any where else. If there is any constructive criticism I could offer and and it would be that I would like some new outdoor furniture. As the view is lovely and its such a lovely place to sit and have a drink and food more comfortable chairs would be be very welcome ! and nice new pair with padded cushions and a small table. Lovely place, great experience....lovely pool, we will be back :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

we were honeymooners at the of our 5 week trip up the east coast of australia. after all our adventures, we wanted to spend our last week in australua relaxing. we couldn't have picked a better spot.
the apartments are located in the middle of the esplanade, next to alk the excellent restuarants. we had a top floor apartment which we could see the ocean and swim pool underneath. the apartment was very clean, had all the utensils, towells, iron board..... everything we needed. steve and margarette were very helpful and friendly. we felt very relaxed at meleaca and palm cove, exactly what we looked for.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaverandLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Margaret is such an incredible host, our stay at Melaleuca was amazing. Prime location in Palm Cove with great views. Extremely helpful with whatever we needed, including tours, rental cars the works, will most certainly only stay with them whenever we journey back to Palm Cove.
Thanks Marg and team for such a memorable experience, see you in 12 months.
Andrew and Bianca :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiancaAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,406 reviews
0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
0 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melaleuca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaleuca Resort

Address: 85-93 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: $83 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melaleuca Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melaleuca Resort is a Beachfront Four Star property positioned right in the heart of Palm Cove, 25 minutes north of the Cairns International Airport. Our Beachfront location is just a stone’s throw from the beach (45 paces) with quality restaurants, cafes and shops a short stroll away. Melaleuca Resort is surrounded by lush award winning tropical gardens with exotic Australian native birdlife and tropical fruits. Our walk-in salt water lagoon style pool is set amongst the gardens over-looking the ocean with three in-pool spas. Enjoy our FREE to use covered BBQ and outdoor dining area by the pool. We also have a guest library with games, FREE on site car parking and FREE WIFI through-out the property. All tour bookings can be with our extensive local knowledge at no additional charge. Our beachfront Palm Cove accommodation consists of 23 fully air conditioned self contained One Bedroom Apartments. Each Apartment features a separate bedroom room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melaleuca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca Hotel Palm Cove
Melaleuca Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing