We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Week in Melaleuca”
Review of Melaleuca Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melaleuca Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Week in Melaleuca”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a really relaxed week in this wonderful resort in Feb. Margaret and Stephen were on holiday that week but had left their son, Alan in charge and he was an excellent stand-in. He was helpful, caring and very responsible - a credit to the family and as other reviewers have complimented his parents, so we compliment him!
Our apartment was 2nd floor and I agree with Geoff W about his description of the view etc.
The apartment has got everything in it that you could possibly need and the location is just amazing!
There is also free wifi which is a great bonus - it did work better on the balcony, but that was not a problem.
And nobody mentioned the free under-cover car park - another bonus.
We shall return! Would love to be there now as the sleet and hailstones shower down on us in Dublin.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean and most, the pool and lovely tropical gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniemaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    102
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
69
277
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaleden, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow, we are on our last day of a weeks stay at this magical resort. Will be so sorry to leave, but its on to the Outback. From the moment we arrived, Margaret has been so very helpful !! She helped us up to our room with luggage, showed us all the amenities and even drove us over to the Mall for grocery shopping, so we could get better value for our money !! Now thats service. The room was spotlessly clean and everything we have needed. A full kitchen, large bedroom and bathroom and even laundry facilities/ with laundry tub in our suite !!! What a joy to awake each morning to the sounds of birds and the ocean lapping on the shore, just a few steps away. The tropical gardens and pool surrounding the resort are meticulous and a nice buffer from the street below/Esplanade. A perfect location in the middle of it all at Palm Cove, yet very private. We have been on numerous tours here, all arranged by Margaret !!!! Once again, we are sad to leave and thank Margaret for everything. Hope to return someday and experience the beautiful Palm Cove & Melaleuca !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boof55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a second floor ocean facing unit. The ocean was partially hidden by trees, but that also cuts down on the morning glare. The room was furnished with everything needed for a short stay. Before I go any further, I have to commend the person that cleans the rooms. It was absolutely spotless. We cooked our own meal on the first night as we were tired from travelling and didn't feel like going out. After that we got Palm Cove fever and ate out breakfast, lunch and dinner for three days. Melaleuca is centrally located on the esplanade so it's no more than a five minute walk to the popular eating houses. Being February, the weather was quite humid, so the airconditioned room provided welcome respite around midday on the one day we happened to "take it easy" and stay in. There are so many hotels, resorts etc at Palm Cove. You could spend a week researching and comparing them all. I checked tripadvisor and I concur with everyone who has rated this place highly. Oh, the bed! It's so very comfortable and there is a choice of two pillow thicknesses which was a very welcome touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I have just spent 10 wonderful days at this great resort. The resort is well located directly opposite the beach. Our apartment was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. We loved the wonderful views and sounds of the sea from our apartment. A really special feature of the resort is the gorgeous tropical garden setting and the wonderful pool - so good to get out of bed and in for a refreshing swim! Thanks to our hosts for being so welcoming and friendly. We'll definitely be back again! Louise Wellington NZ

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have great sea views, good morning sun and cool in the afternoon which is great after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just brilliant. The price, the rooms, the service! Where do I start!?
The apartments are big, with everything you need, washer, dryer, kitchen with plenty of things to cook with... The bed was super comfy too, very important.
The hosts make you feel so welcome and are so helpful that you feel like nothing is too much trouble.
The pool area was my favourite. You can hear the ocean waves crashing as you laze in the gorgeous pool.
It is smack bang in the middle of the main esplanade in Palm cove, and the beach is around ten seconds away... Amazing.
We caught a bus (which stops just down the road, around 20 metres away) to Coles which is only ten mins max away... Bus costs about $2.30 each way, and we stocked up the fridge with food so we could cook in the apartment. Excellent!
I can't recommend this enough for a great priced comfortable stay. We will be back for sure!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLoo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 nights stay in Palm Cove at the Melaleuca Resort. The accommodation was spacious and well equipped and located right in the middle of the resort, which made it perfectly placed to explore. The resort has a very intimate feel, mainly because it seems as if you are staying in the middle of a lush garden. The beautiful beach was just across the street, less than a few minutes walk away. We were very tired when we arrived, having flown in from from the UK via Hong Kong and it was the perfect start to our holiday. Stephen and Margaret gave us good advice about what was on offer in the area and were on hand to answer all of our many questions and help us get booked on the activities we wanted to arrange. We would have no hesitation recommending it to others. Thanks for making our first visit to Australia such a positive experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent three very pleasent nights here, it is located just on the street where plenty of restaurants and places to eat but still peaceful with very well kept gardens/pool area. The management were very friendly and helpful with booking us a trip to Barrier Reef and were always helpful with ideas and suggestions for enjoying this wonderful part of the coastline. Would definitely return on another trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Acott_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,148 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melaleuca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaleuca Resort

Property: Melaleuca Resort
Address: Melaleuca Resort 85 - 93 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melaleuca Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melaleuca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca Hotel Palm Cove
Melaleuca Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing