We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, not overcrowded or noisy, helpful staff, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We chose Paradise on the Beach off the web site and we were not sorry. We had a lovely holiday. Access to the pool was easy, NO YOBBOS around the pool at any time. The managment and staff always helpful. Good clean units and well lit at night time. We are saving to go back again. It must be remembered that Palm Cove is an expensive holiday spot, it does not encourage Back Packers or the like.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripilty, General Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Thanks so much - it's nice to get a good review, and you are certainly very welcome to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 662 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

Location is fantastic, but the rooms are very average, don't expect much. Airconditioner hardly works. Staff in the reception is unfriendly, Margaret is a one good exception. Good pool and bar downstairs is very good. Hotel is very overpriced and is not a good value. Look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lloyd255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripilty, General Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2010

Thank you for your comments.
With regard to the airconditioning - we are currently on a replacement program to our system and as I write this is only 1/3 completed.
With regard to the pricing - our prices and the value we give for them are consistent with the rest of Palm Cove as is born out by our official 4 star rating - last assessment was only a couple of months ago. We have had over 2000 guests stay in the past 12 months only a very minute number of these have made any mention in regard to pricing. In fact more have made future bookings.
Cleanliness - our personnel are only human & may have missed something - if this had been raised during your stay, it would have been immediately addressed. We apologise profusely for the problem.
Margaret is our permanent receptionist and works reception most times - when she is not present, the desk is manned by one of our back of house employees, a casual receptionist or by one of the management. I have no knowledge of the events surrounding your bad experience and would greatly appreciate if you would contact me direct so that I may address the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Paradise on the Beach was a typical, second rate hotel. If you are looking for something better than average, do not stay here!
The owner/manager was helpful, but did not have our reservation when we arrived. This was a problem, because Paradise on the Beach does not have a 24 hour reception desk. We arrived after 7:00pm and the information for late check-ins on the door did not include us! We were sure that we would be sleeping on the ground. We did manage to contact the manager and got a room, but it was very disorganized.
If you are not familiar with a place and come later in the day, you really need to have a reception desk that is open.
The availability to the beach was the best part of the hotel.
The rooms were clean, but we did have bugs at night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drnorthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The hotel was right across the street from the beach and the protected area where you're allowed to swim during "stinger"-season. Plenty of restaurants and shops along the street, although all bit pricey. It was relaxing to lay on the beach. There was a noticeable wind, but I hear that is also seasonal.

The room was comfortable. It didn't really have a kitchenette, but did a hot pad and refrigerator if you wanted to bring your own food. The room opened up to the swimming pool, which was also a pleasant place to relax.

The room was a nice - what you'd expect for beach hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tttravelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stayed here, taking advantage of their special deal, and enjoyed my time here very much. The facilities were as advertised, and clean. I had no problems with the reception staff, and found them to be very helpful, even going out of their way to advise me on tours and shopping. They were also happy to assist me figure out the on-site internet cafe (lots of pictures to upload to friends :P ), just friendly, friendly people.

The pool area is amazingly peaceful, and was just what I needed to perk me up again, after long days out with the kids. The restaurant is wonderful and fun.

All in all a wonderful stay, and I thoroughly recommend this hotel to any and all (though if older or disabled I would recommend you ask for a lower floor as the top floor does not have lift service).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanaKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This was our second trip to Australia. We returned in March of this year, looking forward to the warmth and hospitality that we encountered everywhere. The same was true on this trip, until we checked in to "Paradise on the Beach". Once we checked in, we realized that we had been duped.
We were sent up to our room on the 3rd floor. Although we are very fit, we are in our 70's, and did not appreciate hauling our luggage up the narrow and chipped-tile stairs, as the lift only goes up to the 2nd floor.
When we entered our room, we were faced with a dull, poorly lit and poorly furnished room. The bathtub would have been great if we were under 4 feet tall, but we aren't - so we didn't bother to use it and just used the low-flow shower. I couldn't shave in the bathroom, as the natural light was blocked, and the low-wattage bulb was inadequate.
The "kitchen" consisted of some dishes, cutlery, small bar fridge, sink, micro and cooktop. The lack of a toaster was very bizarre...how exactly is it a fire hazard??
We kept our food in the fridge, as the cockroaches that fell out of the air conditioner and shutters looked hungry. The army of ants in the room weren't friendly either. We fully understood we were in the rainforest, but we never experienced bugs anywhere as bad than in this place.
We decided that we had been deceived, as the place that we were paying for, as well as the other room that our extended family was staying in, was not worth what we were paying. Not by a long shot - we were paying 490 combined for both rooms/night...an absolute joke. It was NOT clean, the walls were beaten up, everything seemed dirty and poorly maintained. Not sure how it had gotten good reviews, but clearly something has gone wrong in this place!
As we were attempting to check out 4 days early, the manager refused to refund us, pulling out the "contract" that was printed on the e-mail. We tried to explain that we were not happy. We were expecting to maybe have to pay a one-night penalty, but were we wrong! He told us that we were to pay for the full six nights we had booked. My daughter explained that we were not happy, it was not true to the website photos and that we wanted to check out early. His response to her was "Well, then why did you book this place for six nights ?" ...WHAT?? Obviously they did not want our business...it was her "fault" for trusting their website, apparently. After much arguing, he relented and gave us a 20% "discount" off of the remaining nights (4 nights x 490) and MADE US PAY THE REST. As he was calculating how much he would scam us for, he was mentioning that he could have charged us a "late checkout fee" - checkout was 10am, it was 10:30am...after we hauled our luggage down and waited in line to check out. LATE CHECKOUT?? HE CHARGED US FOR 4 NIGHTS THAT WE NEVER USED!!
We paid the money, and got out of there as fast as we could. There are amazing places all around (at half the price!), do yourself a favour and do not get scammed like we did. Customer service means NOTHING to the manager - I'm a business owner and value my clients. Too bad money means more to them than repeat customers do.
I would never recommend this place...look around Palm Cove, there are many other places that value you and treat you like a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lindacuba99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, had booked and put deposit down for 6 nights - they had my deposit from November. Once we arrived, and had to haul up our luggage because the lift did not go to our floor, the nightmare began. We are not picky, have travelled to many countries (including less fortunate countries) and have NEVER been treated so horribly. What a ripoff - 300/night for a room with holes in the doors, showers with no hot water, chipped tiles in the bathroom, etc. My parents stayed in a one bedroom that STUNK and was dirty and dingy. We went to the front desk and said we wanted to check out. We were told (rudely) that we should have read the contract - we could not get any money back although we were not happy. After getting quite blunt with the male manager he "graciously" gave us 20% off of our full amount. THIS PLACE IS SO HORRIBLE, WE ACTUALLY PAID THE FULL AMOUNT (LESS THE PATHETIC DISCOUNT), JUST TO GET OUT AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE. Incidentally, there are great places to stay nearby that are SO MUCH BETTER and SO FRIENDLY and REASONABLY PRICED.
The only highlight of the hotel is Margaret at the front desk - you are a dear, so sad I couldn't say the same about the owners. Hope they enjoyed ripping us off...so much for customer service. An absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripilty, Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2010

Yes I remember this booking well, I'm the allegedly rude guy who granted them the discount. It's not hard when being yelled at across the counter in front of the general traffic of guests moving in & out of the place.
Of course we dispute the comments about the unit which I believe to be motivated by revenge, however do concede the 1 flight of stairs climb to the 3rd floor.
I understand the real reason these people left was because they had friends staying at another complex nearby, which was not full and had plenty of room to fit them all in together. I've been in this industry for the major portion of my life, and there are not many places that would refund the full unused value of the booked stay on early check-out. If the reasons for early check out are reasonable - then a claim under travel insce may be in order.
Further to this, these guests asked on a number of occasions prior to arrival, if we had an extra room for their friends to stay. We did not have anything available at the time nor did we receive any cancellations, so they had plenty of time to look around and find a property that could have taken their whole party and cancelled with us without invoking the cancellation policy. They even phoned a week or so prior to arrival to check on this. At no time were they unaware of the cancellation policy & we (managers - not owners) are bound by Property Management Legislation to follow the unit owners directions on letting their units. Large corporate hotels not subject to this legislation may have different policies on cancellations.
They were never spoken to rudely, they were merely shown the booking and confirmation forms which they received which detailed their booking etc. We may however have been a little tense given the tongue lashing we were getting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
2.5 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove

Address: 119-121 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: $93 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
34 beautifully appointed studios and suites situated in the beach resort town of Palm Cove. Walk across the road and your on the beach. Restaurants, bars and boutique shops are a short stroll down the Esplanade. Peaceful and tranquil pool area with a fully equipped BBQ in the court yard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing