We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at this place because we wanted a self contained apartment so we could eat in. We booked an ocean view studio for four nights which was advertised as having a kitchenette. When we arrived we were told we had the spa suite which was true and it was indeed on the second floor overlooking the beach. Most units overlook the pool and adjoining buildings.
We found two major issues with our stay. The room was nice - good bed, bathroom, lounge, balcony, and 'sort of' kitchenette, which is where the first issue arose. There was no sink in the kitchenette. So there was a cupboard, fridge, microwave, bench, crockery, kitchenware but no sink. To wash anything when preparing food or cleaning up you had to use the bathroom which proved to be very inconvenient. Paradise on the Beach loses many points from me for this.
The other major issue related to something two floors below our room. When checking in I noticed the open air restaurant and bar next to reception. The hosts, both of whom were very friendly and helpful, told me the restaurant was good and the bar undoubtedly nice and handy.
We didn't try the restaurant but had an early beer at the bar and it was a nice spot. Unfortunately the bar was directly under our room and we heard the karaoke night right through to it's 2.00 am finish and the Trivia night a few nights later through to it's finish.
Our only other gripe was that there was no barbecue in the place so we took to going across the road to the free barbecues in the park to cook. Most people probably would like this but we didn't mind.
Bottom line is that the noise and lack complete kitchenette facilities would stop us staying at Paradise on the Beach again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripilty, Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you for your comments, unfortunately our residence is at the rear of the property and we don't hear the restaurant when they get noisy - we have to rely upon guests to make a complaint - we are only a phone call away. When this happens we let the restaurant know, and they are always responsive and quieten down. The patrons of this establishment are generally on holidays also and just having a good time. If you had called us to make a complaint at the time I'm sure we could have remedied the situation.

With regard to the lack of a BBQ, yes that is so but most people visiting Palm Cove would by far elect to enjoy their self cooked open air dining to be on the beach - and one thing I have personally noticed myself when travelling, is that BBQ's on site tend to attract loud patrons wanting to sit around it all night drinking and generally providing an annoyance to other guests trying to sleep - so we are quite at ease with not having a BBQ on site. In addition, it is rare that persons using BBQ's properly clean them down after use - thereby attracting vermin, which in turn attract snakes & other undesirables. In fact this would be the first time we have received a complaint about not having a BBQ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 685 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

Palm Cove is a delightful area and “Paradise on the Beach” is situated right in the middle of the esplanade opposite the beach. When we visited it was being managed by a husband and wife team and upon check in the wife (Jan) was extremely surly and said, ”I need to swipe your credit card – in case you are naughty”! Not exactly the way to welcome guests or to make them feel comfortable. That said our studio was clean but very dated but as we hardly spent any time there apart from sleeping it didn’t matter. This is not a hotel but serviced apartments. The pool area was very nice and we did spend a couple of hours relaxing around the pool. There is an independent travel desk and the person running it was very helpful arranging our trips to Daintree Rainforest and Barrier Reef. There are many restaurants in Palm Cove and it is a lovely area however I would not return to Paradise on the Beach because of the couple who run it; they obviously have been working in the hotel industry for a long time and it showed!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripilty, Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Thank you for your comments, and I apologise for Jan's misunderstood attempt at a little levity. I am surprised that you have taken nearly 12 months to raise this complaint. Had you discussed it with us at the time we would have apologised and endeavoured to make some atonement. At no point during your week-long stay did you indicate to any of us any dissatisfaction.

For the record, apart from 3 or 4 larger chain operators with salaried managers, nearly all the properties in Palm Cove are managed by husband & wife teams. Paradise on the Beach does qualify as a hotel - as we also qualify as serviced apartments, a resort & also as a motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

For location you really couldn't ask for more: this is situated directly on Williams Esplanade with the swimming enclosure almost opposite. To get to the front desk of Paradise on the Beach you walk through a tourist information area which is very useful for booking trips or asking touristy questions! This is an idyllic location and we were extremely pleased with the convenience of the setting.

We had booked a one bedroom apartment at Paradise on the Beach almost a year ahead, and got 7 days for the price of 5 through an Australian tour agent. It seemed to be an exceptionally good rate compared to other hotels and apartmens in Palm Cove at this time of year.

We were very pleasantly surprised on arrival at the size of our apartment (significantly larger than the studios we caught a glimpse of, so book a 1-bed apartment if you can!). We had a kitchenette (hob, kettle, sink, fridge - but no toaster), dining area, living space with sofas and TV, balcony, good sized bedroom and bathroom.

The pool was refreshing (not too cold but cooler than the sea which was around 30 degrees most days!), clean and fairly quiet. There is also a spa. We found everybody to be friendly and helpful.

It is worth noting that our room was on the 3rd floor and the pool is on the 2nd. There is no lift to the 3rd floor. This was fine for us but possibly not for the less mobile. I am sure this would not be an issue if you were staying on the 1st or 2nd floors anyway.

I would definitely recommend Paradise on the Beach, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the accommodation to be of a very good standard. Apart from the more upmarket spa resorts I am sure this is one of the best on Williams Esplanade. All the restaurants are nearby and you have a huge choice of food types.

One tip I would give others is that some of the trips you can go off and explore on your own. We booked Kuranda and Green Island through the tour guide but went to Cairns Tropical Zoo independently (it costs around $4 return per person to get there from the bus stop right outside the hotel and works out a lot cheaper than with transfers as a package from the tour operators). Green Island trip was fabulous and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Palm Cove is a beautiful chic beachside resort and Paradise on the beach fits right in! We loved it!
Margaret is a star, a warm welcoming face to the hotel, i didnt really speak to many other members of staff but i was also met with a smile and a polite hello. We were upgraded on our room which was a lovely surprise and the room was bright, clean and very nicely decorated. The aircon worked a treat- not sure what these other reviews had, but our experience was fab. Parking is under the hotlel and the pool area is very nice also.

A few recommendations on Palm Cove, the French Corner does an EXCELLENT cup of coffee and the crepes are out of this world! The Apres bar was a great place near the hotel to grab a drink and their house burger is pretty good too. We also ate a Vivo, and whilst the service was a little up and down, the food and cocktails were devine! The Indian restuarant wasnt very good in our opinion.
We booked our trip to the barrier reef (calypso) with the lady downstairs in the hotel, she was really helpful.
We loved it here... so relaxing!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We spent our last night at Paradise on the Beach at Palm Cove before returning to England. We were given a warm welcome by the 2 reception staff and check in was quick and efficient. The room was lovely and, unlike a previous reviewer, we had no complaints at all. The hotel is in a prime location and it's name describes it so well. No more to be said really. When we next visit Palm Cove we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My wife and I booked a week here on the spur of moment ,we were visiting relations in Melbourne having come from UK ,so when we booked at last minuit we didnt expect too much,especially after reading a couple of reviews.How surprised were we when ,on arriving,were given the honeymoon suite ,for no extra cost,best views over the beach ,large suite with seperate king size bedroomj,double size jacuzzi bath .we were well happy.The staff (especially Margaret) were great and very friendly and helpfull ,location was perfect ,weather for first 2 days was rough (torrential rain )but cant blame hotel for that.All in all a great break ,I can only surmise that anyone who could moan about this hotel must be used to living a very high style of life and maybe should have gone to the Ritz..Again thanks Matt ,Margaret and all for a wonderfull week,Next time in OZ would be happy to revisit.Thanks Chris and Aina Gough

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LATVIAJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We chose Paradise on the Beach off the web site and we were not sorry. We had a lovely holiday. Access to the pool was easy, NO YOBBOS around the pool at any time. The managment and staff always helpful. Good clean units and well lit at night time. We are saving to go back again. It must be remembered that Palm Cove is an expensive holiday spot, it does not encourage Back Packers or the like.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripilty, General Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Thanks so much - it's nice to get a good review, and you are certainly very welcome to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
2.5 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove

Address: 119-121 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: $98 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
34 beautifully appointed studios and suites situated in the beach resort town of Palm Cove. Walk across the road and your on the beach. Restaurants, bars and boutique shops are a short stroll down the Esplanade. Peaceful and tranquil pool area with a fully equipped BBQ in the court yard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing