We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely resort, great pools and large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A lovely resort, great pools and large rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Peppers very much. The things to note are that in winter (June-Aug) the main pool is too cold to swim in for all but the most brave. The formal pool with SPA is heated and lovely. The only detracting feature we found is that because we booked through a discount site like "wotif" we found out there that it means you do not get your rooms cleaned or towels changed etc. you are expected to do it yourself (the rooms do have washers and driers in them) its not a problem but they way they told us at reception made it seem like we were cheap skates, so be warned about booking a discounted room.
Breakfast at the in house restaurant is pricey, walk 50 mtrs north or south from the front door and halve your breakfast cost.
Also in the 5 days we were there they booked out sections of the resort for weddings twice which ended up being very loud all night long affairs (good luck to them bad luck for us)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scro61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    589
    193
    49
    28
See reviews for
596
932
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

As this is definetly one of the more expensive options for Palm Cove your would expect more than what this place delivered. This is not value for money, it is not a five star resort. While the service was friendly and reasonably responsive, I could compare it to a three star property or your local.

During our stay we were evacuated at 5am in the morning, while we all assembled at the front of the hotel, no one from the hotel was there to take charge or inform us of what was actually going on, very pathetic, one could could only imagine if it wasn't a false alarm.

We had a two bedroom apartment that wasn't clean, somebody please clean out the extraction fans, I don't want to smell somebody else's bacon and eggs every time I cook.

When I book a holiday that advertises 3 pools, I don't like being told that the area is out of service because a corporate function is taking place some time that day.

If you are expecting 5 star service this is not the place to book.

On another note the Sebel Reef was a great place to eat and again the Peppers in room dining is a joke.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersManager, Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. I am disappointed to hear that the service you received did not meet your expectations as we receive many great comments on service and the friendliness of our staff.
If we had been made aware during your stay regarding the housekeeping issues you experienced, we would have been able to remedy this. Yes we did have a corporate function which resulted in one of the swimming pools not being available for a short period of time however we did notify our guests and there were two other swimming pools available.
It disappointments me to read you through our in house dining was a “joke”, we receive many complimentary comments from our guests in relation to our Restaurant Lime & Pepper and also our in room dining.
I have raised these matters with the staff concerned, to ensure our required standards of service are strictly adhered to at all times. I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to a false alarm.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to Peppers Beach Club & Spa.
Kind Regards,
Ryan Newton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

We spent the first few nights of our honeymoon at Peppers Palm Cove based on reviews we'd read by other travellers. It was the middle of a heatwave in late November so the heat and humidity were quite sapping but the lagoon-style pool was a delight to behold and swim in, and although we went to many wonderful places around North Queensland we really miss that pool!

We found the service excellent, and the room, while small, had a spa on the balcony and was clean and had all the facilities we needed. Watch out for any food you leave around, even hanging in a bag off a door handle. Microscopic ants appear from nowhere by the thousand and they don't take long!

The gym is very, very basic but at least there is one, one you walk quite a distance to it!

Of all the places we went to on our honeymoon we would be most likely to visit this one again. Not for the beach, which was very windy and not that inviting at that time of year (stingers would have put paid to that anyway) but because it's just a great place to laze around the pool and take the odd visit to the hinterland.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coralkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. The pool is just fantastic, we have two young kids and they loved the sandy lagoon pool, they could run and splash all day, the pool bar for dad to was good when he got a chance! Had a room looking over the pool so that was great, had an end room so it had a bigger deck, a ground floor room leading right into the pool would be the best. The rooms are nice, not quite as good as i was expecting for the price, have stayed in alot lot nicer rooms for alot less, but the pool makes up for that. The hotel is in a great spot, right in the middle of palm cove, great food everywhere you go. It has a great village type feel about the place, we keep coming back, splitting our time between palm cove and port douglas. The serenity pool is great for a "float about" just so relaxing. I think our room position made such a difference, while one son was sleeping you could just sit in the sun on the deck while watching the other one play.
we had a great time here, the rooms are not the best i have been in in palm cove but that pool wow!
see in the pictures i have put on, try and ask for a room looking over the lagoon pool, not the serenity pool, those rooms are out the back a little more

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights and it was great. The best thing by far was the heated pool. This kept my kids occupied for hours. They hardly used the lagoon pool as it was colder.

The rooms are fine but perhaps not as good as the Peppers Beach Club in Port Douglas. We had a duel key room (i.e. one bedroom apt plus spa room). It is quite expensive at $545 per night but they had a deal with one free night.

We walked straight outside our gate into the lagoon pool and even though we were on the ground floor it was still quite private. Being a resort though - it is not quiet so expect some noise during the day.

We ate at the restaurant (Lime & Pepper?) and the food and service were excellent. Also ate at the Italian and Thai restaurants in front of the resort - both great.

There is not much to do in Palm Cove - think I prefer Port Douglas - but that is a personal observation.

The one thing I would absolutely NOT recommend is the Spa. I booked my son in for a 30 minute massage (he is 14) and he arrived back at the pool within 20 minutes!!! I was shocked so went up and asked why it had been so short. Her answer was that we arrived early!!!!!!!! I made a complaint and the next day the manager rang to discuss what had happended. It was more than obvious the girl doing the massage was in a hurry to get home (it was 5 pm). We were offered another massage but as we were leaving the next day we didn't have time to take up this offer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersManager, Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your comments. Fantastic to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the team.
In relation to our Day Spa, our Day Spa is run by an external company and I have passed on your feedback in relation to your son’s massage. We are working closely with the Day Spa to ensure service levels and guest satisfaction is achieved.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Beach Club & Spa.
Kind Regards,
Ryan Newton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

We have traveled around the world and know a good value place when we get there. The facilities are world class, staff are discrete, quiet and efficient.

The rooms are great, the pools especially for kids are great.

FNQ is not the place for people who need maid service or fawning flunkies who will wipe your butt.

The staff, especially front desk are as god as it gets.

Highly recommended for families..... going back next time will be a sure thing.

The beach 20 metres from front door is worth the effort getting there.

Satff are Ace.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invisibleman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Read some of the negative remarks before booking so was prepared for anything really. Have to admit though it was amusing that someone expected houskeeping to do their dishes for them every day - it's not Windsor Castle!

Anyway everything about the resort met and exceeded our expectations, from the facilities to the friendly staff. Loved the beach/pool, rooms fabulous and everything went like clockwork over the 5 days. I'd return anytime.

It was wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone except uptight Poms or Yanks who expect Australia to be bug free.

And if your from a coffee city like Melbourne, Vio has the best coffee in Palm Cove, and also special mention goes to the Greek restaurant just nearby which proved Greek food can be fresh and interesting, and doesnt have to be charred to a crisp. Brilliant!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.7 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club & Spa

Property: Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Address: 123 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club & Spa is set in the heart of charming Palm Cove village in Tropical North Queensland offering the perfect place to indulge in tropical relaxation. This idyllic intimate beachfront destination is situated at the start of the beautiful coastal drive to Port Douglas and majestic Daintree Rainforest and only 20 minutes from Cairns airport. The resort offers a range of accommodation, from elegant suites and spa rooms, to one and two bedroom penthouses with private rooftop terraces, BBQs and a plunge pool or jacuzzi. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen and laundrette and takes full advantage of its surroundings with views to the ocean, pools, gardens or mountain ranges beyond. All rooms are serviced daily and offer guests free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, TV, FOXTEL, in-room safe, fridge, minibar and tea and coffee facilities. Our Serenity Wing has a selection of suites offering entertainment areas with gas barbecues on the balcony and a private rainforest pool. To achieve total relaxation you won't ever need to leave Peppers Beach Club & Spa. The beach lagoon takes pride of place, gently lapping against a white sandy beach surrounded by swaying palm trees. Swim up to the pool bar or dine overlooking the Coral Sea. Other diversions include tennis, lap pool, gymnasium, boutique shopping and the Salt Beauty & Spa, with its signature massages, revitalising facial treatments and soothing body treatments. Lime & Pepper Restaurant offers a combination of eccentric cuisine incorporating distinct flavours of the tropics utilising a variety of local produce. The visual appeal of the chef's creations complements Lime & Pepper's unique beachside location and uninterrupted views of stunning Palm Cove. The restaurant is open seven days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On the Rocks Cafe Pool Bar is open daily for in-house guests (seasonal & weather dependant). Venture outside of the resort and will find yourself in the heart of Palm Cove. There's something for everyone, with an abundance of activities ranging from reef tours, scuba diving and deep sea fishing adventures to white water rafting, evening dinner cruises and rainforest walks. Embark on a day trip into Cairns or explore the wonders of the Daintree, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation. Ride the famous Scenic Railway train to Kuranda or visit Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. The resort is perfect for a memorable romantic interlude or second honeymoon, family hideaway, wedding, birthday or a well deserved break from the rigours of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club And Spa
Peppers Beach Club Hotel Palm Cove
Peppers Beach Hotel
Peppers Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing