We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with small children - the beach/pool was the star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with small children - the beach/pool was the star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Peppers Beach club after hearing good things from friends, seeing the pool in person when we were staying down the road a couple of years ago and based on reviews on Tripadvisor. It was the perfect accommodation for our family with a 23mth old & a 5 year old. We spent most of the day in the "beach pool" having hours of fun building sand castles, swimming, etc. We booked via Agoda and got a fabulous rate for a 2bedroom apartment, which was actually 2 connecting rooms with a 3rd seperate lounge - so effectively 3 bedrooms - a fabulous surprise on our arrival. The apartment was privately owned & operated by Boutique Apartments who seem to run a lot of the sub-leases in Palm Cove. The rooms were nicely finished - typical FNQ style - white tile floors, but bamboo wooden flooring in bedrooms was nice (glad not tiles in bedroom). The decor is not five-star luxury as you would expect at say, the Westin in Sydney, but this isn't a five-star top-dollar city hotel, it is a family resort in Palm Cove. I didn't have any issues with the quality of the cleaning as others have reviewed. We didn't have a daily service as our rate was so cheap so effectively it was a non-serviced apartment. We chose to have an optional clean mid-way through our stay including all linens changed and that worked perfectly (we stayed 7 nights). From here you could walk to all the local restaurants. We didn't go to the beach once as it tends to get very windy in the afternoon at this time of year and with the "beach" pool in the resort, there was no need. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had two connecting rooms in building 6 at the rear of the block overlooking the Serenity/Rainfore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear SwindySydney,

Thank you for the feedback. As a reminder our team are here 24/7 and provide all services. Boutique Collection are offsite and cannot provide the award winning service that our team supply.

Best regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    587
    192
    49
    28
See reviews for
593
926
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights - 3 nights in a spa suite and 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment (booked 1 bedroom but got upgraded!) The apartment had full kitchen facilities (oven, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, small electric bbq plate outside) as well as washing machine and dryer making it very convenient. We had a continental breakfast buffet included with our stay (no hot items) and also enjoyed many cocktails by the lagoon pool! The pool was fantastic, only issue is there aren't enough sunlounges in the sunny areas.(and also seems to be a very family friendly resort meaning loads of kids at the lagoon). Everything was in walking distance (beach and shops), we would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Splurge on an apartment if you want to be able to bbq and cook meals, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loukg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

For those of us in the southern states and not much time, Palm Cove & Port Douglas is probably the most convenient for a short winter break. It has been a few years since our last visit. As the sea can often be quite cool at this time, a heated pool is highly desirable - Peppers fit the bill. The formal pool is (mildly) heated but the lagoon and 'tranquility' pools are not.

Location is central, the beach is across the road and plenty of dining options closeby. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a 3 room spa apt (from a 2 room). Located in Block 6 it was as far away from the front as could be, no real views to speak of but overlooks parts of tranquility pool. It was clean and had good amenities including a BBQ / mini kitchen on the large balcony. Normal kitchen and living room along with an almost separate apt for the adults. Mattresses were average, slightly hard and the pillows were very thin / soft. Quality of the furnishing seemed OK - not too worn as mentioned in other reviews.

Staff friendliness and service was highly variable - barely OK for a 4 star resort. Had breakfast one morning at Pepper Lime and that was poor. The service was non-existent and some staff were rude to guests. They clearly were not coping well with a standard size crowd. Cutlery were not laid, items forgotten and pretty much have to ask for everything. Only one young man was pleasant and trying his best to provide service. Food quality and variety were very average and not fitting for a property of this type. Plenty of breakfast options nearby.

Overall it was good for family with young kids like us. I would still recommend it provided you get a good deal and wanted to be amongst the restaurants. If we had more than 4 days, there are much better options in South East Asia or Fiji.

Room Tip: Block 6 is very quiet but you'd have to walk quite far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear PhotoMD,

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it.

Best regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are quite small and the bathroom was very basic- Small vanity and the amenities were very 4 star. The balcony was nice with the outside bath. There are only a few lifts and it didn't seem like every room was accessible via a lift. Room keys are a bit of a nuisance, would much prefer a swipe key rather than an actual key around a lanyard. Don't like having a 10am checkout either. However facilities are excellent- Ie. pool area and tennis court, which are great for a family holiday. Seemed like a very family friendly hotel as the majority of guests were families with young children- which can be a negative and a positive I guess. Buffet breakfast was decent however sliced bread was a tad stale and staff did not pay enough attention to restocking the food and drinks. The hotel has one of the best locations in palm cove- beach flags straight out the front (but I guess that can change), selection of restaurants on the doorstep and children's playground across the road. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Peppers Beach Club Palm Cove, however I didn't feel as though I was staying at a five star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear jfs01,

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate all comments and do review them.

Come back soon,

Best regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

What an amazing hotel. We had a Lagoon 1 bedroom apartment looking out on to the pool.
Room was a good size with full kitchen and laundry. We were here for 4 days which was perfect. Most of the time we spend relaxing by the huge pool or at the swim up bar. We had hired a car also so managed to check out Port Douglas, Cairns etc.
Peppers was so close to many restaurants and had the beach across the road. Buffet breakfast was very well priced and offered a huge selection of food.
We will return to Palm above in April and will definitely stay at Peppers again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nathanmcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear nathanmcnally,

Thank you for your kind feedback, our fully self contained apartments are ideal for longer stays.

See you again soon!

Best regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a great place to just get away from it all for some down time. Comfortable rooms, fantastic swimming pool/s, and relaxed, friendly helpful staff. And, if you want to be more energetic, the resort is well within range of many local attractions - Daintree, Cairns, Port Douglas, Mossman Gorge, Great Barrier Reef etc. etc. One caution - there are no lifts in most of the building, so it means climbing some stairs if you are on the third floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear KeithH4,

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate the feedback very much.
Unfortuntely we do only have one lift in the complex, team members or I will alwasy assist anytime we are required.

Come back soon,

Best regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in a spa penthouse on the 3rd floor. Great relaxing views of the amazing pool. The rooms are quite small but most modern resorts are. The spa on the balcony was really nice and romantic! Bed was meant to be a king but instead was 2 singles pushed together. Also didnt like the easy access to the next room! Continental breakfast was nice, $10 extra if u want eggs/bacon. Location was great, easy walk to the beach and main st. Make sure you have dinner at the surf club it was fantastic and cheap!! If you can afford it, get a room with swim up deck, looked great! Lastly, staff were very friendly!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.7 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club & Spa

Property: Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Address: 123 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club & Spa is set in the heart of charming Palm Cove village in Tropical North Queensland offering the perfect place to indulge in tropical relaxation. This idyllic intimate beachfront destination is situated at the start of the beautiful coastal drive to Port Douglas and majestic Daintree Rainforest and only 20 minutes from Cairns airport. The resort offers a range of accommodation, from elegant suites and spa rooms, to one and two bedroom penthouses with private rooftop terraces, BBQs and a plunge pool or jacuzzi. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen and laundrette and takes full advantage of its surroundings with views to the ocean, pools, gardens or mountain ranges beyond. All rooms are serviced daily and offer guests free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, TV, FOXTEL, in-room safe, fridge, minibar and tea and coffee facilities. Our Serenity Wing has a selection of suites offering entertainment areas with gas barbecues on the balcony and a private rainforest pool. To achieve total relaxation you won't ever need to leave Peppers Beach Club & Spa. The beach lagoon takes pride of place, gently lapping against a white sandy beach surrounded by swaying palm trees. Swim up to the pool bar or dine overlooking the Coral Sea. Other diversions include tennis, lap pool, gymnasium, boutique shopping and the Salt Beauty & Spa, with its signature massages, revitalising facial treatments and soothing body treatments. Lime & Pepper Restaurant offers a combination of eccentric cuisine incorporating distinct flavours of the tropics utilising a variety of local produce. The visual appeal of the chef's creations complements Lime & Pepper's unique beachside location and uninterrupted views of stunning Palm Cove. The restaurant is open seven days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On the Rocks Cafe Pool Bar is open daily for in-house guests (seasonal & weather dependant). Venture outside of the resort and will find yourself in the heart of Palm Cove. There's something for everyone, with an abundance of activities ranging from reef tours, scuba diving and deep sea fishing adventures to white water rafting, evening dinner cruises and rainforest walks. Embark on a day trip into Cairns or explore the wonders of the Daintree, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation. Ride the famous Scenic Railway train to Kuranda or visit Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. The resort is perfect for a memorable romantic interlude or second honeymoon, family hideaway, wedding, birthday or a well deserved break from the rigours of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club And Spa
Peppers Beach Club Hotel Palm Cove
Peppers Beach Hotel
Peppers Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing