We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Peppers Beach Club, Palm Cove, in a Spa Room with a spa bath on the balcony. The room was luxuriously decorated with good quality linen. We loved the big shower. The view of the "beach" pool was impressive. We spent most of our time at the tempting "beach" pool and pool bar - I can recommend the Lychee Mojito. Service was excellent and we were accommodated with an early check in and late check out. The concierge was also helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is oppisite a beautiful beach and walking distance to excellent restaurants. I cannot praise this hotel enough, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear karinsteen,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we look forward to your return!

Best regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,018 - 2,024 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent the 2013 Australia Day long weekend at the relaxed Peppers Palm Cove in an Eco (no housekeeping-prepaid rate) 2 bedroom suite which suited our group of 3 adults perfectly. We were delighted to learn on check-in that undercover security parking for our car was available. We were accommodated in building 5 with both rooms overlooking the pool and grounds.
The rooms were clean, fully equipped and basic but tastefully decorated. Our only suggestion would be that some info on when the spa bath was last sanitized would be beneficial (this only because we read that these spas with jets can harbour bacteria. In North America it is now the practice to provide this spa bath information at top knotch hotels).
The complex provides 3 outstanding pools and if you want to get some peace you have the option of the serenity pool - a quiet sanctuary at the rear of the grounds. The gardens are lovely & well maintained. The entire complex reminded us of a modern version of Raffles Singapore.
Outstanding, and we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoosaKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear NoosaKings,

Thank you for your kind feedback!

Come back soon!

Best regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

From reading some of the recent reviews we were a little worried about the booking but found the reception staff friendly, the room perfect, definately in the wing over the serenity pool is perfect for couples. Clean tidy well furnished - great they had some cold beer glasses in the fridge.
great value for the short trip away. Would certainly recomend to our friends and would like to revisit.

Room Tip: For couples ask for a room near the serenity pool - the other rooms are fine but more suited to fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Luke B,

Thank you for your comments.
The Serenity area is perfect for couples and our three pools offer choices.

Come back soon!

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently stayed at Peppers Beach Club and Spa Palm Cove, overall the resort is very nice, we stayed for 6 nights over the Christmas break, our room was towards the rear of the property and was very quiet, you cannot really sit on the balcony to relax as the room we had faced rooms opposite. The 3 pools are nice, however the lagoon pool gets very hot, some days it feels hotter in the pool than the outside temperature, as with other reviews, they do not have enough lounge chairs for the amount of people at the resort, even though they stipulate that you cannot leave towels on chairs to hold them, this happens all the time, on some days chairs had towels placed on them to look as if someone was using them, however, no one used the chair until very late in the day, around 5pm, the entire time we were at the resort we did not see any staff member remove towels from chairs that had been “saved” which is disappointing, I feel they need to either purchase more chairs to accommodate the amount of guests or police this. This is a big downfall of the resort, as the main reason you would go here is to relax by the pool. Also there is not enough shade areas for the size of the resort. Pool bar drinks are reasonable, however, on a day that was a public holiday, drink prices increased significantly without any notification, then reverted back to the original price!! I did feel this was not appropriate. Also it is a children friendly resort, as we have no children this can be a bit too much, I requested a room near the tranquillity pool, however, upon arrival was told due to the high volume of families arriving there was no room available in this wing, which I found confusing as this area is specifically for people without children! And I asked in advance for a room here, and was advised that my request would be met. Overall a nice resort, staff are friendly, however, the money you spend to stay there is not worth it, I’ve stayed in cheaper resorts with better room quality, and extra’s than this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property, you will have no nice view, but it will be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussypot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Fussypot13,

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Resort does feel like you are on a luxurious holiday. Main pool is big and great for both adults and children. Separate serenity pool is lovely for a quiet dip. Gym is good, also free tennis courts and racquets are available. We had a deal on the eco lagoon spa room, which means no towel/linen change and no cleaning. Would not recommend for longer than 3 days as it can get a bit dirty with sand etc. Staff friendly and helpful. breakfast fairly standard, nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunimelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear bunimelb,

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We moved from Elysium Apartments to Peppers Beach Club on 31 Dec 12. This wasn’t due to any fault of Elysium apartments. We had organised to stay at Peppers Beach Club for 3 nights as I wanted to stay in a 5 star resort for the last part of our holiday. We booked a 2 bedroom dual key apartment and had rooms 4223 and 4224. This was a spa suite and a 1 bedroom apartment with the main door that opens to the 2 room types. The spa suite was a normal hotel style room but with a spa on the balcony that overlooked the pool. The 1 bedroom apartment was great. The kids bedroom was a good size and had a tv, very handy! The bathroom was inbetween the bedroom and the laundry. I did some washing the day we arrived and discovered the dryer didn’t work. The Maintenance Man had a look and said it couldn’t be fixed that day (as it was too late to go get a part) and the next day was New Years Day and nothing would be open. Luckily my parents we’re also staying in the resort so we got them to put our clothes in their dryer. There is a small clothes rack that I could have hung the clothes on the balcony but I didn’t want all our clothes out on the balcony for a day or 2.

We had requested an early check in and we’re able to get into our room around midday which was very handy. We unpacked a few items and I could feel that the floor was quite sandy. When I looked at my feet they were already black and we’d only been in the apartment for 30 mins. I definitely had clean feet when we arrived. I called housekeeping and they said they’d come and vacuum and mop the floors the next day. The Housekeeper was very lovely and did a fantastic job of getting the floors cleaned on New Years day. She was very friendly, gave us extra pool towels, made all the beds and gave us new towels for the bathrooms.

Another note I’d like to make is that I noticed our L shaped couch was new and very comfy. My parents we’re staying in a separate building and they said the couch was old, falling apart and stained. Also the walls in both our apartments had fingerprints and dirty marks so they obviously weren’t thoroughly cleaned very often. My parents apartment also had sandy, dirty floors.

We had breakfast included each day which was just like your usual hotel buffet breakfast although they didn’t cook eggs to order. They were usually poached eggs in the buffet which are my favourite so I was happy. They alternated having waffles or pancakes and always seemed to have either croissants or banana bread which was very popular at morning tea time with my kids :-)

We had dinner at Choc Dee Thai restaurant which is one of the 4 restaurants at the front of the hotel, overlooking the ocean. The Thai was ok, but we’ve definitely had better from our local Thai restaurant in Darwin.

The 3 pool areas are fantastic, especially the big pool area with the sandy beach which is fantastic for the kids. The resort has a small storage bin containing buckets, spades, water pistols etc for the little ones and there was always spare pool noodles around that you could use also. The pool bar was great although it only opened from 12-5pm approximately. I’d recommend going down and saving a pool lounge early in the morning, even if you just get one otherwise you won’t get one if you go down around 10am.

If you love Italian food then you’re in for a treat when visiting Palm Cove. I cant remember the exact amount but there is about 3-5 Italian restaurants on the Esplanade, a seafood place the Thai restaurant at Peppers and a few others with Aussie food. If your craving a good Chinese head up to Port Douglas (about a 30min drive) to the Jade Inn. Make sure you book a table as they seem to get very busy and only have about 20 tables. My hubby rated Jade Inn as the best Chinese he’s ever had!

Finally a note on the different buildings at Peppers. If you want direct pool access then I’d strongly suggest you book a ground level apartment or suite as you can go from your outdoor area directly to the pool which is handy if your kids use the pool a lot. Otherwise you have stairs to the other rooms. We we’re on level 2 which I liked as we had a gorgeous view of the pool and a small glint of the ocean past the pool bar.

Overall I’d definitely rate Peppers Beach Club as a great resort for families – don’t go if you’re a couple!


A few hot tips if your travelling to Palm Cove with kids:

The Palm Cove Tavern (at the opposite end of the Esplanade to the Jetty) does free kids meals Sun-Wed which include a drink and ice cream. The Surf Club also does good cheap eats for the family.

If your driving up to Palm Cove stop at the Coles Clifton Beach to get all your shopping supplies. The shopping centre also has a Liquorland, Bakery, Butcher, Chemist, Target Country and a few cafes. The local stores at Palm Cove are quite expensive for groceries. Clifton Beach is only a 5 min drive from Palm Cove.

Definately go to the Cairns Tropical Zoo, its only a 2 min drive from Palm Cove and our kids loved it. The also do a pass out to come back another day if your kids get tired.

There is a fenced playground on the Esplanade near Peppers Beach Club as well as a netted swimming area in the ocean due to the stingers. We didn’t take our kids swimming there as the water was a bit rough with the waves and the water wasn’t clear. The stinger net doesn’t guarantee there won’t be any jelly fish in the swimming area. Also have a walk along the Jetty, its very pretty.

Now for the shopper of the group, aka the Mums:

DFO in Cairns city isn’t worth a look if your not staying for an extended period of time. We found at least 12 empty tenancies and didn’t really end up buying anything from the shops that we’re open. Your better off going to the big shopping centre 2 min up the road which is called Cairns Central and they have over 180 stores. On the top level near Myer is a kids play area, predominantly for kids aged 1-6 yrs. At the other end of the top level, in front of Bi-Lo there is a small crèche again for about 1-6yrs of age. Good for a few hours of shopping in peace and quiet! Cairns Central is only a 25 min drive from Cairns. I drove down myself on 2 separate occasions. Its easily found using Google Maps etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room as some look into the garden or another hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris26Darwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Chris26Darwin,

Thank you for your overview and comments, we appreciate your feedback!

We are changing our mop heads in housekeeping due to the number of comments regarding our tiled floors. They are cleaned rigourously for every arrival, in addition Greg our Execuitve Housekeeper is reviewing the product used on floors in an effort to eliminate this issue.

Thank you.
Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

On arrival my first impression of the hotel was wow! Felt like I was in Key West Florida! Crisp white with tropical blue lagoon pools surrounded by palm trees....We rented a 1 bedroom apartment large and overlooking the pool. At first I notice a few cleanliness problems like dirty hand prints on most walls and toilet doors! But generally the place was quite clean! Breakfast was below average, as I have spent many holidays in 5 stars around neighbouring Asia and the breakfast on offering was amazing! Peppers offer you a very basic buffet of few fruits, and your basic eggs and soggy oily bacon, typical of over priced Australian resorts! The Asians have amazing resorts with cost, food choice and customer care 10/10 .... Peppers is a lovely resort but very over priced for what it is!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank darrensugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear darrensugden,

Thank you for your feedback.
Our new chef Thomas started on Monday and he is injecting some very special touches into our breakfast buffet and entire menus. We apreciate your feedback on this aspect of your stay and will take note.
Come back soon.

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
358 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.7 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club & Spa

Address: 123 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: $146 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppers Beach Club & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club & Spa offers a range of accommodation, from elegant suites and spa rooms, to one and two bedroom penthouses with private rooftop terraces, BBQs and a plunge pool or jacuzzi. All rooms are serviced daily and offer guests free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, TV, FOXTEL, minibar. The beach lagoon takes pride of place, gently lapping against a white sandy beach surrounded by swaying palm trees. Amenities include tennis, lap pool, gymnasium, Salt Beauty & Spa and Lime & Pepper Restaurant. The restaurant is open seven days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On the Rocks Cafe Pool Bar is open daily for in-house guests (seasonal & weather dependant). Venture outside of the resort and will find yourself in the heart of Palm Cove. Embark on a day trip into Cairns or explore the wonders of the Daintree, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation. Ride the famous Scenic Railway train to Kuranda or visit Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Hotel Palm Cove
Peppers Beach Club And Spa
Peppers Beach Hotel
Peppers Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing