We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, crap rooms!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here with my husband & 2 children. We had a room with 2 double beds, beds were comfie with nice clean linen, that's where the nice stopped!!! Our room was across the road from main building.

Room smelled musty on arrival, bathroom was gross, mould around sink and bath& broken units, window was nailed shut . TV didn't work ( rang reception, TV had to be swapped). Dirty and cheap utensils in kitchenette.

Our "balcony" over looked the back of property, which was fine, until u realise u couldn't use it as large colonies of ants had taken up home. Huge spider nests all around it. Basically the room was a haven for bugs, as we found a spider in my daughters pillow ( luckily we checked the bedding). We went to Palm cove pier to watch the New Year's Eve fireworks which were fantastic. On the walk back heading up the road to hotel there was no lighting, NO lighting on stairs up to room, which is all out door, NO outdoor lighting at all, so u try make your way in the dark praying that your kids don't get bitten by anything!!!

The pool was large and clean, once u manoeuvre around broken tiles, cheap white plastic furniture is not what u expect of a hotel boasting 4*.
We stayed one night and left early next morning. To realise we had been charged twice for the room when checking bank accounts.
All in all, we will never stay there again. Friendly staff can NOT make up for bad management.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Samanthapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna R, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Samanthapar,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove.

I was disheartened that your experience with our housekeeping team did not come up to your expectations during your stay with us. I have brought your feedback to the attention of our Housekeeping Manager so that they may ensure the team is aware of the issues raised, and that they are continually providing service that is up to our usual high standards.

I apologise for the issue experienced with the television and am glad that our staff were able to rectify this for you. I also understand that you had some insect concerns during your stay. Due to North Queensland’s tropical climate unfortunately insects are quite common and the Hotel does have a regular pest control program to combat these as best as possible.

You also made mention that the Hotel possesses no lighting however the property does have minimal lighting. I am sorry if you feel as though this was not sufficient for your family.

It was also quite disturbing to read that you were charged twice for accommodation. I can assure you that this is not usual practice and I deeply apologise. Please contact the Hotel on 07 4059 1234 so that we may look into this for you.

Best regards,

Krishna Ramadugu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 449 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Krishna R, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

before arriving: we booked when it was still called novotel but it's not anymore now
location: not on the main beach street, about 6-8 mins walk to the esplanade
room: there are main building and a separated one on the opposite of the main building.
0, Full of HUGE ants on the walkway to the room! got three really bad bites just being walking to the main building for breakfasts. 1, very old furnitures;
2, beds makes a lot noise and it's moveable
3,no mini bar in the room;
4, our room was next the the little garden, the ducks was singing very loud at night, very hard for us to fall in sleep;
5, there are Gym, pool, tennis, golf......... but even you are hotel guests, still needs to pay to use the facility~~~

Room Tip: don't stay here, if you already booked, try to get a room at the main building, don't accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yunqi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna R, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Yunqi C,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that several aspects of your stay did meet your expectations. I apologise that you were inconvenienced by both the insects and wildlife during your stay. Due to North Queensland’s tropical climate unfortunately both of these can be quite common. We do however have a regular pest control program to combat the insects as best as possible.

I note that you mentioned that guests have to pay to use facilities. I believe you are referring to the neighbouring leisure club which is not part of the Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove property. Our property has two refreshing swimming pools for guest use. Also while the rooms do not have minibars, all of your essentials can easily be purchased at the handy Micro Bar in Reception.

Thank you once again; your feedback is most appreciated. We hope to see you return for another stay soon.

Best regards,

Krishna Ramadugu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Krishna R, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

With a friend and family with various allergies and food allergies, we opted to spend Christmas Day buffet lunch at the Novotel Palm Cove Conference Centre. After booking the hotel became the Grand Chancellor Hotel, so I was a little nervous that the quality would not be up to that which I had previously enjoyed at the then Novotel: and at $189.00 per person I did not want such a special fay to be a washout. It wasn't. The buffet had excellent oysters, bugs, mussels and the best prawns I have eaten - large, juicy and sweet, an array of salads (green, Greek, potato, pasta and a pork belly and noodle Asian salad), roast turkey, pork (with a mountain of crackling), ham with appropriate sauces, olives and cold meats - and with a 3 hour drink package (beers, wines - red, white and sparkling - soft drinks and juices. This was followed by an array of traditional desserts - miniature Christmas puddings, fruit salad, mini pavlovas, etc with cream, custard, fruit coulis, fresh fruit and a cheese selection. Great value, particularly when it included entertainment from that excellent singer Andrea Allumay Mullins and her husband Greg, who played songs from the 60s, 70s and 80s as well as the traditional Christmas carols. All this and a visit from Santa for the littlies. Fabulous value and we'll be back next year. Like a puppy this hotel is not just for Christmas - eat here and youll get great food at a great price.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank AshaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna R, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear AshaCairns,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this five star review of your recent visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove.

It is wonderful to read that you were so impressed with our delicious Christmas Day buffet lunch and I am sure that your comprehensive review will be of help to the rest of the travelling community looking for a Christmas destination for 2014.

Thank you again for your recommendation of our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Krishna Ramadugu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Just had Christmas with friends at the Novotel, Palm Cove. This has now changed to the Chancellor and is no longer part of Accor. Rooms are large with small kitchenette, great bedding and good quality pillows. Clean relatively modern . The resort itself is run down pool areas need more landscaping and new furniture especially to shade from the sun. Second pool across from main resort in bad state major cracks , not markings on pebble into indicate steps hardly any furniture or shaded areas.again nice rooms very friendly staff, but major grounds works and pool refurbishments needed.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig K, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear steve m,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you were impressed with our comfortable bedding and the room’s cleanliness.

Thank you for raising the point about the shade in the pool area. I do apologise about the lack of it currently as unfortunately Accor did not replace the shade sails after the last storm. You will be pleased to know that we have ordered new shade sails to be erected as soon as possible. I am confident this will make the area a lot more inviting for our guests.

We are also aware of the other maintenance issues you raised and our Chief Engineer has developed a scheduled maintenance program to address such issues to ensure the safety and comfort of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback, it really does assist us in providing a better experience for all guests. We hope you will return for another stay again soon.

Best regards,

Krishna Ramadugu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joydinan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig K, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove

Address: Coral Coast Drive, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Novotel Palm Cove Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: $86 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove is set in 45 hectares of lush tropical gardens, just 5 minutes walk from the beach, or the charming village of Palm Cove. The accommodation includes large resort rooms with two double beds and lounge, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and superior suites with cooking facilities. The resort facilities include a restaurant, bar, 2 swimming pools (one with kids slide), complimentary internet stations. Access to the Palm Cove Country Club 9-hold golf course, tennis and squash courts, gym & sauna is provided at discount rates.Conference & Catering facilities specialising in everything from large residential conventions through to intimate boutique Weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove
Accor Palm Cove
Palm Cove Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing