We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size apartment, nice pools but perhaps would prefer location closer to beach in retrospect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villas Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Positives:
Large open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area
Nice communal pool
Easy to find, clearly sign posted
Aimiable hosts
Very clean
Well appointed kitchen

Negatives:
About a 15 min walk to beach with some main roads not having pavements. I think in retrospect, having stayed in apartments on the beach previously, closer to the sea is better however a 15 min walk isn't really that much of a hardship.

Trees in back patio were very tall and blocked sun onto majority of the pool. Consequently water didn't heat up enough to use.

A little on the loud side at back of apartment as it was on the main road out of Palm Cove plus noise from neighbours drinking outside carried up to windows.

Overall, happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink_Commuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for The Villas Palm Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Management had no hospitality skills. Never available, office was closed for the majority of the time we were there. Pushy with booking tours through him. Cleanliness was poor. Overall the Villa was gorgeous! The private pool attached to the villa was awesome! We were 4 adults and 5 kids ranging from ages 1 to 10 and it was very comfortable. Facilities were great. 15 minute walk to the resturants on the main drag which was not a problem. Location was great! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaadcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan1964, Manager at The Villas Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

thank you for your feedback and we do take all issues seriously and addressed these immediately and as we responded to your friends staying with you the reason on why the office was unattended was due to unforseen circumstances due to my wife’s mother passing away and for her to travel overseas in a emergency and for me to take our son to a pre-planned sports carnival. We were able to be contacted by phone which was diverted from the office. Whilst we did manage to arrange cover in the office for only a short period of our absence we do apologise for this whilst we did have a full house the weekend in general all our other guests were very understanding. Whilst we never push guest with tours we do like and inform them of what is available and for them to get the best out of there holiday which was explained when you contacted me two days prior to arrival. This was a difficult time for us all and as previous comments we have been more than exceptional in our knowledge and planning our guests vacation to achieve the best out of there stay with us. We hope to see you came back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were 2 families of 9 in total (4 adults, 5 kids) staying in a 4 bedroom villa with our own pool.

The property itself was lovely. Lots of beautiful tropical plants really making you feel like you're on holiday and instantly putting a smile on your face.

We spent a lot of time researching accommodation for this short trip as we really wanted bang for our buck. Our first impressions of the actual Villa was that it was stunning! It was spacious and warm. There were 4 bathrooms which we were very impressed about. There was a washing machine, dryer, dishwasher and microwave and all the pots, pans, cutlery and crockery you could wish for. The pool area was beautiful and we felt very luxurious in our own private little piece of paradise.

Upon further inspection though, we found the Villa to be quite dusty, the sofa was filthy, the cutlery and some pots and pans were greasy and horrible and the slats for all the upstairs windows were putrid. Our worst nightmare came true when all the kids came down with some 24 hour gastro-like bug. We contacted reception on the mobile number provided to ask for some disinfectant urgently and were told that nobody was at the property. On checkout we raised our concerns with the lack of cleanliness of the villa, and the importance of having their cleaners disinfect the villa appropriately before the new lot of people went in that day. The response provided was that perhaps we got food poisoning on the plane, or that we'd eaten something that was not right at one of the restaurants in Palm Cove. This was very disappointing and shows a real lack of accountability and concern.

We also provided feedback that the cleaning facilities provided were terrible. We had 2 sponge-type mops with a mop bucket that was far too small to put the mop in? We had to fill the laundry trough with hot water. The first mop we used snapped the minute we applied a tiny bit of pressure on it, and the second one kept shedding pieces of rotting sponge all over the floor and the floor looked dirtier after we'd mopped so we had to resweep.

We found that the property manager was very pushy when it came to booking tours and he tried really hard to virtually bully us into booking tours through him. We found this very off-putting and chose out of principal to book our tours independently.

All in all, we were very disappointed in the lack of service provided. Unbeknown to us, we flew into Cairns on a Public Holiday, and the manager apparently mentioned to us that he was leaving shortly after checking us in, but with 5 kids running around and shouting in excitement no one heard this, so when we called back into reception to get some pool towels we were told that they had left and were off to Mission Beach for the rest of the weekend and that they did tell us at check in. The next day, we were waiting at the front of the property for a Taxi at 12pm and reception was still closed. We called later on in the afternoon to see what time they were going to the property so we could get some towels, only to be told that they wouldn't be there again that day and that they were there from 11.30? They weren't cos we were there at 12 and Reception was closed. Within 5 minutes, they called us back saying that someone would drop the towels off (obviously they knew they weren't there at 11am). We were literally 7 minutes away and the managers son just dropped the towels on the ground at the reception for us to pick up whenever we got there? Really? How impolite?

When we checked out and provided all the feedback that we had - which was both positive and negative - we weren't even graced with a thank you for your patronage or your feedback - nothing. We walked out thanking the manager and all we got in reply was "OK!" My goodness, perhaps my standards are too high, but a simple thank you when in the hospitality industry goes a very long way. Considering that QLD Tourism is crying poor, you'd think people would bend over backwards to try and ensure a return visit in the future.

We would consider returning to The Villas, but may look around a little more before booking it.

This place, especially Villa 16, has the potential to be absolutely fantastically amazing, if it was properly maintained and diligently cleaned. I think management needs to make a decision to step up the cleaning expectations of their contractors and allow The Villas to be the amazing, self contained property it deserves to be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan1964, Manager at The Villas Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We thank you for your stay and we appreciate your comments. And we do take all instances on board and rectify them to our best of our ability and we do apologise for the lack of office hours and as this was beyond our control. I did explain to you at check and a few days earlier to your husband when he phoned to enquire into the best tours to book, that I had to leave shortly after you had checked in to take my son to mission beach for a surf carnival which my wife was due to do so but unfortunately here mother passed away that week and she was overseas, the phone was diverted to my mobile and due to this and we feel we did the best we could under the circumstances I did not feel I pressured you into tours as you clearly stated I was not here for 3 days of your 4 day stay I did also state that there was someone due in the office between the hours of 12 pm and 4 pm on the Saturday. In regards to the gastro bug nearly all these circumstances come from food and the digestive system and is highly contagious. Once again thank you for your stay and we look forward to you coming back
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Really glad we picked The Villas Palm Cove! We stayed in a two bedroom villa with it's own private pool and garage. The villa itself was very clean and plenty of room to spread out. The king size bed was great and the kitchen has everything you would need.
If I had any complaint at all, it would be that there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom and toilet, maybe it was just our villa, but overall a great place to bring the family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 9 nights stay in our 3 bedroom suite with pool! It's always great to find your accommodation is spacious so everyone in the family can spread out! The patio area overlooking the private pool was a huge hit and having two televisions avoided any arguments! Definitely would stay again and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwardsx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Villa's were extremely comfortable and very well appointed with all kitchen supplies included eg cutlery, plates, glasses, pans etc.
The pool was massive measuring 7m long.
The weather was nice and warm and perfect for seeing the sights of what Cairns and surrounds has to offer.
The location is a 10 minute walk to Palm Cove restaurants. Expect to pay about $25 main course but you are in a tourist area. Well worth the cost though.
The only negative was being charged $1.50 for toilet paper on the last day. Having worked in the hotel industry in Sydney, we never charge the clientele for this necessity.

Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Get an Oasis apartment as it comes with your own pool
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haggy1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This accommodation represents excellent value for money, the villas are quite spacious and very clean.
Alan and Madeline were very welcoming and did everything to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
Would definitely recommend and we'll be staying ehre again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.5 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Palm Cove

Address: 24 Warren St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: $153 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes north of Cairns, The Villas Palm Cove offer holiday makers a relaxing atmosphere in lush, tropical surroundings. An ideal haven while exploring the scenic beauty of the Daintree rainforests, the Great Barrier Reef and the surrounding beaches. Our complex, comprising one and two storey completely self-contained Villas, takes advantage of the tropical atmosphere while providing our guests with every modern and luxurious amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villas Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing