We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week for 7 nights in a superior spa suite. Our decision to stay here was based on other trip advisor reviews. We absolutely loved the Reef Retreat - it was peaceful and quiet and in a great location. The pool area with its beautiful garden was a lovely place to relax and escape from the heat of the afternoon sun. Our room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the balcony with its outdoor kitchen overlooked the pool. Clive was a great source of local information and was always more than happy to assist with any trips we wanted to book. All in all we had a fabulous time in this little piece of paradise and we would definitely stay here again.

Tracey and Andrew

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLJ571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Tracey & Andrew, we do appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to our lovely spot in Palm Cove.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    124
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
97
316
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yackandandah, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in a spa suite for 2, which was very dark and depressing. By day it was dark, by night it was bright from the security lightning. The room was like a glorified hotel room with cooking facilities. No room to sit on chairs and watch TV. Outlook was the apartment wall next door! The unit flet like we had been sent to the naughty room for booking cheap!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yackitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Naturally we are disappointed by the Yakitty review. For the benefit of the TripAdvisor community we feel it is important to highlight some aspects relating to this booking.
The Reef Retreat is not a Timeshare property, we were approached several years ago and asked if we would supply some inventory for weekly stays for club members and an agreement to supply a standard spa apartment at a special weekly rate year round was made.
Yakitty booked this apartment type through the travel club and then contacted us to clarify the spa apartment type, when advised it was a standard spa we were asked how much it would be to upgrade. We advised the additional fee but the offer was declined due to cost. We believe that Yackitty was unhappy prior to arrival as an upgrade for a nominal fee was not possible and this review is the result.
The standard spas are our lead in room type and are both popular and affordable. We have a variety of apartment options at The Reef Retreat and have gone to great lengths on our website to be transparent in what to expect from each apartment type. In the apartment section on our site there are 5 images of the standard spa suite taken from various positions giving a comprehensive image of the room layout and content and the description clearly states courtyard views. The standard spa apartment that “Yackitty” stayed in is the one featured on our website.
It appears that this guest may have spent a lot of time inside the apartment during their stay and if this was the intention then maybe one of our other apartment types would have better suited, however they would have been more costly and clearly price was the determining factor.
The satisfaction of all our guests is important to us and had “Yackitty” expressed her dissatisfaction to us while in house we would have willingly contacted her travelclub and asked them to relocate this booking to another participating property.
Clive & Mary Ratcliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very happy with the service provided by Clive with regards to getting around and tours. We love this place, it is small and secluded which makes it nice and private. It is in walking distance to restaurants and close to the beach. We had an upstairs room which was great to sit on the balcony and look out to the pool between all the beautiful gum trees. We will definitely be booking to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peppyhalstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for posting your review Peppyhalstead, we are happy to see that you love The Reef Retreat as much as we do and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Clive the manager was welcoming, the property overall is well located, quiet setting, and walking distance to everything, the room was next to the pool spa area with a small balcony that has a small kitchenette all you need, as we ate out. The rooms are not serviced daily and WiFi is not free which is normally in today's market but the charge was only small. We had our agenda well sorted prior to arriving but Clive has a very good tour desk and plenty of local knowledge, overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably good, there was no noise from the pool area or other rooms and ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navigator245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Navigator245 we are pleased that you found your stay quiet and relaxing. With regard to the Wifi charge, if properties advertise as offering free Wifi then the costs of providing the service must be added into the room rate as at the end of the day, the equipment, maintenance and ongoing telecommunications cost to provide the service are not free! Most of our guests do not use Wifi and we feel it would be unfair to burden them with an inflated room rate to account for Wifi overheads. If you use the service there is a cost which covers our expense. We have a static internet station at Reception that guests are welcome to use free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The rooms are very nice, the place is cosy, the swimming pool is way too small. Unfortunately you can hear the noises coming from the other rooms. it is convenienty located in Palm Cove and near a bust stop to Cairns

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback LaraBio. The Reef Retreat is a boutique property and the pool is in keeping with the size of our property. For large lagoon pools you would need to stay at much bigger properties than ours with a hundred plus rooms however these pools may not be heated like ours which is an important factor in the peak winter months of July & August.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. The weather was unexpectedly windy which limited trips out to the Great Barrier Reef
Clive the hotel manager was very knowledgeable regarding alternative places to go in the area.
Booked our tours for us easy with no hassles.
Rooms were comfortable.
Great restaurants within walking distance.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review JaT1963, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the unusually strong winds that you experienced during your stay. We are always pleased to be able to assist with tour advice so that guests are able to get the most from their time here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here last month as part of our road trip and I must say what a delightful find.Our room was large and the bed comfortable (very important ) although the cleaning was not fabulous as parts of the room were quite dusty it was ok.The owner was very friendly and helpful, the pool area well kept. My only quibble would be that on short stays like ours we did not have anyone come to change our towels etc but all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knight53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Knight53, we are pleased that you were delighted with your find and that you enjoyed your stay. We have passed your comments to housekeeping. Apartments are serviced mid stay when staying 5 nights or more. Clean towels & amenities are available from reception on non serviced days and we are sorry that you did not take advantage of this service to refresh your towels.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Property: The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing