We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. The weather was unexpectedly windy which limited trips out to the Great Barrier Reef
Clive the hotel manager was very knowledgeable regarding alternative places to go in the area.
Booked our tours for us easy with no hassles.
Rooms were comfortable.
Great restaurants within walking distance.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review JaT1963, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the unusually strong winds that you experienced during your stay. We are always pleased to be able to assist with tour advice so that guests are able to get the most from their time here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    127
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
99
325
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here last month as part of our road trip and I must say what a delightful find.Our room was large and the bed comfortable (very important ) although the cleaning was not fabulous as parts of the room were quite dusty it was ok.The owner was very friendly and helpful, the pool area well kept. My only quibble would be that on short stays like ours we did not have anyone come to change our towels etc but all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knight53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Knight53, we are pleased that you were delighted with your find and that you enjoyed your stay. We have passed your comments to housekeeping. Apartments are serviced mid stay when staying 5 nights or more. Clean towels & amenities are available from reception on non serviced days and we are sorry that you did not take advantage of this service to refresh your towels.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We recently returned from a 3 week trip to Australia and spent the last 6 nights at Reef Retreat (17-23 August). We had a wonderful time. The apartment is fantastically situated and the owners, Clive & Mary could not have been more helpful. Clive checked our bookings with the tour companies for the trips we had arranged to make sure we were picked up and our total experience in Palm Cove, as it was throughout Australia, was fantastic.
The BBQ site near the pool is a great touch so you can eat al fresco which we did on several occasions. The views over the hills whilst having breakfast simply set up the day.
I would thoroughly recommend Reef Retreat to anyone wanting a good base for a holiday in Queensland where you have a lovely apartment and accommodation that is cared for by its owners.

Room Tip: Room 16 (Opal) is a corner room which gives views of the BBQ area and hills from the outside patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Graham F. It is always a pleasure when guests appreciate the environment that we have here at Reef Retreat. We are pleased that you enjoyed Australia and were able to relax here at the end of your trip.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at the resort for a week and like others found Clive very helpful in choosing trips and places to eat.

There is good access to parking if you have a car but if not I had no problems getting pick ups for tours that I did.

The resort itself is quiet and most people were very respectful of others. I did however notice that you can easily hear noises from other apartments. It seemed the child in an apartment above me was bouncing a ball on the floor in the early hours of the morning (early from a holiday point of view anyway) which was loud enough to wake me up. My apartment was also immediately above the car park so if people leave early in the morning it can be quite noisy with car doors etc.

I used the outdoor spa it was very restful in lovely surrounds - noone else was there so that was great.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room away from the car parking may be quieter but unless you go to bed very early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_travellers_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are pleased that although we were fully booked at the time, being peak season, you found your stay peaceful and friendly and that you enjoyed the spa to yourself. We are disappointed to learn that you were woken by a child, we seldom have children stay however in school holidays it is not uncommon . We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just had the pleasure of staying 5 nights at this wonderful resort. Clive and Mary are professional caring hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The pool/spa and BBQ area are delightful surrounded by the most gorgeous trees and plants ( loved the lighting in the evenings). The rooms are great-large bed- a separate kitchenette with good facilities for own cooking ( we stayed in a standard spa suite). Is in an excellent location just one block back from the beach.
We were on the ground floor and it was a little noisy from the apartments above when resort was full, however I have stayed in many resorts and noise from other apartments is to be expected. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others. A lovely way to experience our first trip to Palm Cove!! Thanks Clive and Mary

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieRobin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you AnnieRobin2 for your feedback we are pleased that you were happy with your choice of accommodation during a very busy August. Thank you for recommending us it is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in a studio spa room. The room was spacious and had all the necessities to make it homely and comfortable. The bed was large, perhaps too large, but brilliant for hot nights where you need the space. The indoor spa was clean and brilliantly located so you could still watch TV whilst lounging in bubbles. The property had a very rainforest feel, with tall palms and ferns surrounding walkways and decking. The large outdoor heated pool was amazing with tall trees towering above shading you from the hot sun during the day and pattering rain at night, it was breathtaking at night. The outdoor hot tub spa was perfectly hot and spacious...luckily for my hubby and I we were the only ones taking advantage of it most nights.

Room Tip: Use the outdoor pool and spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyLife40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review HappyLife40, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you embraced the outdoor tropical ambiance of the Reef Retreat, the pool, spa and gardens are a special place to be after dark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We followed the advice on TripAdvisor and booked 2 weeks at the Reef Retreat, our first time in Palm Cove. This resort has so many positives and we really enjoyed the convenience of a one bedroom studio apartment, allowing us to eat in whenever we wanted to, with the space to spread out and really relax. The main street seemed very busy compared to the quiet location of the Reef Retreat. The hosts, Clive and Mary, were friendly and very helpful - a fitting welcome to this lovely part of the world.
It is important to note, however, that you have to be prepared for a bit of noise coming from other apartments and balconies, and from the pool and barbecue area if you face into the central courtyard. The units are not particularly well sound-proofed - noise from the bathroom pipes is audible, and you have to be prepared for the sound of people walking around in the apartments above. If you have noisy people on either side, you will hear them too. However, the resort is well priced and we met a number of guests there who were staying for weeks. Obviously if you want the ritzy level of accommodation in the main street, you will pay more there. We were able to benefit from the reduced rate because of the length of our stay.
We enjoyed the convenience of the location and would definitely return. The apartments facing into the courtyard have the charm of the beautifully planted gardens and trees, but can be a bit dark (facing south or west). Other apartments have brighter balconies, but face outward to the neighbouring buildings, so it is a personal choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are puzzled by your review Lillian as we are not able to identify your reservation and it is therefore hard to respond. As you say The Reef Retreat is in a quiet location and from your reviews clearly you are sensitive to noise. A number of assumptions relating to room types and possibilities that may occur have been made without, it would seem, experiencing them. Being of solid concrete construction the property is well sound proofed. The Reef Retreat is architect designed to embrace tropical living where much of the time is spent barefoot and outdoors. Where ever you stay in peak season you will be aware of other people in the vicinity, however we find that guests are respectful of the peaceful atmosphere that we enjoy here at The Reef Retreat. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Property: The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing