We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays we have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I'd like to echo what previous reviewers have written. This was our first visit to Palm Cove and we were very happy to have chosen The Reef Retreat to stay at. Set back from the main strip (Williams Esplanade) by a block, it is accessible to all that Palm Cove has to offer. You are spoilt for choice for dining (28 establishments) and the beach is directly across the road.

Palm Cove is not brash, loud or commercial. It is just a perfect, relaxing place to stay and that is also reflected in the Retreat.

You can do as much or as little as you like here but at the end of the day, The Reef Retreat is a relaxing oasis to come back to. Clive and his family are very helpful. Clive's travel advice is spot on and they are happy to make any bookings for you. The pool is in a magical setting and a wonderful respite from the beach and the Aussie sun.

We stayed for ten nights in a one-bedroom apartment. Balcony was a good size. We had an indoor kitchen and a clean and comfortable lounge area, bedroom and bathroom. The layout was extremely comfortable for the two of us.

Definitely a return visit in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room16 on the second floor. Balcony looked towards the pool one side and west towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahaysom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 589 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fanfastic choice we made to stay at The Reef Retreat. Great spot, quiet with all you need for our 10 days of relaxation. 50 metres from the beach,cafes and shops. Thank you very much. Will be back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Reef Retreat in Palm Cove. All the things we said in our first review still apply, the apartments are well designed, comfortable and attractive to stay in, with a good kitchen and lots of space. Clive, Mary and their daughter Sarah are extremely helpful, and there if you need them. It's nice to be remembered from one visit to the next. We will always stay here when we visit Palm Cove, it is very close to the beach and restaurants, quiet and all the apartments we have stayed in have had a really nice outlook. We love the light show at night on the trees. Little blue lights crawling up the trunks! We even had a visit from a pair of noisy kookaburras who landed on our balcony railing! This is the place to have a really relaxing holiday. There is good covered parking and a guest laundry.

Room Tip: We prefer to be on the first floor (second if you are American) as you feel that you are in the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sher f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We love our time out in the warm at Palm Cove. This was our 3rd visit to The Reef Retreat , which is such a lovely place to stay in the natural beauty. Clive and Mary do a great job looking after the guests - friendly and helpful but never intrusive. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanchris52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very relaxed and welcoming place, great area for families. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Staff booked all tours and day trips for us and were very approachable. Hotel right near the beach and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We returned this week from our third stay in our favourite 'retreat'. We love the outdoor kitchen and the feel of being in a tropical haven with views of tall trees surrounding the tranquil heated pool and spa. From the moment we arrive we feel welcome and relaxed and the whole complex has a great vibe......and only a 2 minute walk to the delightful main street with the choice of many styles of eateries and views on the beach from your table.......I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I love the higher floors for the tree-top atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This little resort is a little gem in Palm Cove!

Location is great. You are literally a few steps away from the Main Street and beach, but those few steps mean you don't have tourists and noisy kids walking past all day like many other hotels in the Main Street.

The setting is beautiful. The owners have done a great job in creating their very own tropical setting with accomodation overlooking picturesque rainforest like gardens and canopies.

The resort owners are so friendly and helpful, we didn't need to bother them too much as pretty much everything is taken care of and easy to use anyway!

The Studio itself was exactly what we wanted, fully equipped and pleasant to be in. Great open plan living.

If you are tired of false advertising and hidden nasty surprises, give this resort your business. You get exactly what you are told you get and it is a gorgeous little home away from home. Value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10-14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: $108 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing