We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments, recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place was sublime, relaxed atmosphere and helpful friendly owners. Lovely apartment overlooking the pool with kitchenette facilities and balcony. Shady pool to escape the sun when needed. Convenient location just 50m from the beach.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Popper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you Popper B for your kind review, it is good to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing stay at The Reef Retreat, thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is much appreciated.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 608 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Reef Retreat is good value for money. The location is great. The hosts are extremely helpful. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the attractive gardens and pool are sheltered from the sea breeze.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, an upstairs room overlooking the pool is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EstelleK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Many thanks EstelleK25 for your kind review. We aim to give good value for money and are pleased to hear that you felt that this was delivered at The Reef Retreat. Thank you for staying, we hope to welcome you back someday.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Reef Retreat was a lovely place to stay. The atmosphere was relaxed, and the room was very clean and quite comfortable. The gardens were absolutely lovely and very tranquil. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The retreat is a 10 second walk from over 2 dozen coast-side restaurants and shops, and a 5 minute drive to the nearest shopping centre.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raspberrylemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay Sarah C, thank you for taking the time to share your comments which we appreciate. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Reef Retreat after reading reviews from Tripadvisor. It was exactly what we were looking for - the reviews were not wrong. When we arrived we requested a different type of accommodation and Sarah (daughter of the managers Clive and Mary) went to great lengths to ensure we got what suited us. The set up is great, the pool is shady with some sun, just what the doctor ordered and it was lovely and warm with a beautiful light show at night. The beach is just a few steps away. The studio was good with every thing we needed which encouraged us to do some home cooking as well as eating out at the good local restaurants. The place was very comfortable, good bed and pillows, and very clean. As a destination Palm Cove gave us the time to rest and relax and we even managed a few sunrise walks on the beach - a first for us. Clive, Mary and Sarah were excellent sources of info and made our stay even easier.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sher f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owners/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind review Sher f, we are pleased that we were able to change the room type for you when you arrived and that you enjoyed your experience here at The Reef Retreat.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our first visit to Palm Cove and we are glad we chose the Reef Retreat which is more of a boutique resort than typical medium rise resorts, I suggest is ideally suited to couples especially the pool, it is close to the beach and shops, the pool is heated and not overly large but nice in any case.

Room Tip: One bedroom superior spa suite is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocket1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Many thanks for posting your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

nice studio, with everything you need.
clean and functional.
close to the beach and restaurants.
the people at the reception are great, always happy to help and very very competent.
even if it's not a hotel, the room looked like a luxury hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benedettauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owners/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your kind thoughts following your recent stay we appreciate your comments.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

So glad we stayed here, what a treasure of a place. After reading other trip advisor reviews we booked a pool view room as recommended and were pleased we did.

Our room comprised a large bathroom with double spa bath, a very comfy king bed and flat screen tv and a lovely outdoor kitchen/balcony area with table and chairs, microwave, sink, fridge, toaster and jug. Made our own breakfast and enjoyed sitting out there watching the activity in the pool and spa below.

The Retreat is just off the beachfront (which is sometimes very windy but not at the Retreat) and only steps to the shops etc. Clive has a drinks fridge in reception from which we were able to purchase wine and beer which was very handy.

Loved the twinkling lights each evening - would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A pool view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10-14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: $98 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing