We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A gem of a resort with lovely rooms and very helpful owners. The BBQ area is exceptional with every tool, condiment & even paper towels provided. It is a very short walk to a host of restaurants and the beach. A good place to relax after days touring the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Reef Retreat and pleased that you made good use of the BBQ, we love the photograph that you uploaded!

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    131
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
100
329
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We ended a three-week tour of Australia in a campervan with four nights of luxury at Reef Retreat, Palm Cove. What a brilliant recommendation by Trailfinders. Lovely clean and well-equipped rooms, nice pool, good laundry and excellent customer service. Clive and Mary are brilliant hosts and very helpful. We loved being slightly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main street, but near enough to access good restaurants, cafes and the beach of course. Would recommend Reef Retreat to anyone staying near Cairns.

Room Tip: Stairs to second floor so not good for people with walking difficulties. However, we loved the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetteB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it was good to hear that you and the family had a good time unwinding at The Reef Retreat after your Campervan adventure around Australia. Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A lovely resort tucked away behind the main drag. Clean rooms & good self catering facilities walking distance to loads of lovely restaurants. Very friendly helpful staff with good local knowledge and free advice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattandhannahoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a very nice stay at reef retreat. It is well located in palm cove. The rooms are well equipped and the BBQ in the outdoor area was well utilized by us and others staying there. Our hosts were very informative, helpful and obviously enjoy their hosting. On the negative side out room was dark and we had to have the lights on and the spa pool could of been hotter. However it is good value for money here, and the service provided was without fault.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here for seven nights in late July with my wife.As this is our fourth trip to the region we did not do many touristy things but came to chill out and relax.This is just what we got at the reef retreat,our room (no28) was just fine with a balcony/kitchenette overlooking the pool and b.b.q area although we did not use those facilities as we came for the nice cafes and glorious beach.
The grounds had a mini rain forest feel to it all very pleasent.The price was also right.
As no review would be complete without a minor negative to add so i would just mention that the pool remains open for one hour too late 11.00pm(and some people were staying there well beyond this time) as the noise echos into rooms and makes it hard for those who want to sleep early.
But all in all i would certainly recommend the reef retreat to any one wanting to chill out in palm cove.

Room Tip: book the spa rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

you could not ask for more..... friendly fantastic hosts always happy to help. room was well equipped and in great condition. loved the shutters in the kitchen opening to the balcony. pool and spa lovely in the tropical setting. very short walk to the beach and very central.... perfect and will be back again

Thanks Clive and Mary

Helen and Lianne

Room Tip: room 17 was excellent, in winter though for some balcony sun 16 is a good bet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BbPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

First stay in Palm Cove, and must commend Clive, Mary and Sarah for all of their hospitality. The Resort is beautiful, has a lovely openness to it. Paper bark trees, stag horn ferns, and orchids, all make this a green lush tropical paradise. There is a gorgeous salt water stone in ground pool, and a cozy small hot tub. Laundry facilities are available and are extra. There is a lovely small fully equipped kitchen and fridge with toaster to make food if your wanting to not spend too much $$, and the facilities are all clean!!! I am a clean nut- and no creepy-crawlers were visible at all! ( only some cute night geckos outside my room on the ceiling- but the geckos are adorable and run away from people).
The only two pieces of criticism that I have are: Wi-Fi in this day and age should be free to all guests and not at an extra charge.
And in the studio spa rooms- there is only enough space for one person to unpack. There should be more space for quests.

Have enjoyed our stay!! And would come back here again! Because we are loving it so much- are looking to come back next year! :-) thanks Clive, Mary, and Sarah!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michellea2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Michellea, it is lovely to see that you are enjoying the unique environment here at The Reef Retreat and your description is spot on. With regard to the wireless charge, unfortunately it is not a free service to us and overhead costs to maintain the system and pay the service provider are ongoing. Instead of loading the room rate to incorporate these costs as some properties do, we find it fairer to apply a minimal charge to the guests who wish to use this not for profit facility. The system in place allows guests to log in and out whenever they choose so that they get the full benefit of the time purchased and this can cost as little as $1 per hour.
Thanks again for your review we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Property: The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing