We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service! Less than 50 meters from the beach, central to all of Palm Cove.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great customer service! Less than 50 meters from the beach, central to all of Palm Cove.”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

First stay in Palm Cove, and must commend Clive, Mary and Sarah for all of their hospitality. The Resort is beautiful, has a lovely openness to it. Paper bark trees, stag horn ferns, and orchids, all make this a green lush tropical paradise. There is a gorgeous salt water stone in ground pool, and a cozy small hot tub. Laundry facilities are available and are extra. There is a lovely small fully equipped kitchen and fridge with toaster to make food if your wanting to not spend too much $$, and the facilities are all clean!!! I am a clean nut- and no creepy-crawlers were visible at all! ( only some cute night geckos outside my room on the ceiling- but the geckos are adorable and run away from people).
The only two pieces of criticism that I have are: Wi-Fi in this day and age should be free to all guests and not at an extra charge.
And in the studio spa rooms- there is only enough space for one person to unpack. There should be more space for quests.

Have enjoyed our stay!! And would come back here again! Because we are loving it so much- are looking to come back next year! :-) thanks Clive, Mary, and Sarah!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michellea2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Michellea, it is lovely to see that you are enjoying the unique environment here at The Reef Retreat and your description is spot on. With regard to the wireless charge, unfortunately it is not a free service to us and overhead costs to maintain the system and pay the service provider are ongoing. Instead of loading the room rate to incorporate these costs as some properties do, we find it fairer to apply a minimal charge to the guests who wish to use this not for profit facility. The system in place allows guests to log in and out whenever they choose so that they get the full benefit of the time purchased and this can cost as little as $1 per hour.
Thanks again for your review we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    133
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
101
333
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We came here as part of our honeymoon! We had one of the spa rooms, top floor with view to the pool. The staff is friendly and even had a bottle of bubbles ready for us at arrival as they knew it was our honeymoon.
The pool area is great and very tropical and cozy. Out apartment had one of the outdoor kitchens where we cooked on many occasions, perfect with a little fridge to chill your white wine and relax at night with the pool view! Such a relaxing holiday, and not too crowded. There is also a place to wash clothes, free parking etc!
The reception gave lots of helpful tips for things to do and see! Would definitely go back next time we are in Palm Cove can only recommend this place! Before you book online give them a call as they can often match the price!

Room Tip: Higher floors are move private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank north2southtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Many thanks for posting your review, it is good to hear that you enjoyed spending part of your Honeymoon here at The Reef Retreat in one of our Superior Spa Suites, they are are a great choice for honeymooners and couples alike as they have and intimate, tropical and romantic feel.
We hope to welcome you back sometime, maybe for an anniversary.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a 3 bedroom villa - it was beautiful and fully stocked. Great value and a wonderful place to celebrate our daughter's wedding!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyMayandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for your review Cindy & Mike, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Villas, they are a very popular choice for families and groups of friends. It was good to hear that your daughters wedding went well and everyone enjoyed their accommodation and unique atmostphere here at Reef Retreat. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Lovely rooms, very open and embraces the tropical feel of the place. Not heaps modern but very clean, great location, friendly and hospitable service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrisons00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the tropical essence of Reef Retreat.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Only had 2 short days here with nothing organised but Clive was straight on the case phoning round getting us on trips at short notice. Within the hour we were getting picked up for Karunda railway rainforest trip (excellent) and giving helpful advice on choice of company for following days snorkling trip on barrier reef. Felt they really cared about us enjoying our stay there and were prepared to go the extra mile. Great location for beach and restaurants. Apartments well equipped and roomy. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your review Helen, we were very happy to be able to assist in making your few days in our beautiful region as memorable as possible and pleased that you enjoyed Reef Retreat.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have recently held our wedding in Palm Cove and the majority of the party stayed here at the Reef Retreat along with us. Clive and Mary were absolutely brilliant in helping us get things together, made our stay along with 23 other guests run like clockwork. They let us pretty much do what we wanted (within reason) and we would wholeheartedly recommend them and the reef retreat to anybody we come across. The rooms are excellent and in terms of value you'll be hard pushed to beat this anywhere else in Palm Cove. Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you Abe & Kellie for your kind review, we enjoyed having you, your friends and family stay here at The Reef Retreat and pleased that everything went according to plan for your Wedding. With very best wishes for the future. Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

stayed here in sept 2011. had a great time if staying at this hotel try to get a room overlooking the pool.manager could not have been more helpful. would stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Property: The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing