We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay on a miserable evening!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“lovely stay on a miserable evening!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a dreadful wet day and night, I would have loved to stay on a bright beautiful day and enjoyed the pool and facilities so much more.
The hotel is ageing but it has a lovely feel about the place with gorgeous pools and gardens.
The staff are brilliant, super helpful and friendly.
The rooms are large, shower only with basin in main room. Bed comfy, towels ok but more please and would have loved a compendium advising of all the facilities available in hotel and Palm Cove.
Not a lot of shelter getting up to room and about when its pelting rain, and whilst brollies are available at front desk, maybe leave a couple in the room especially in the wet season.
Loved the honesty bar, breakfast was nice without being WOW. Washing machine and dryers for a small fee. Undercover parking. Free internet.
The hotel is a lovely tropical getaway in the beautiful Palm Cove...despite the weather!!l

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kezCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear kezCairns,

Thank you for your positive review about The Reef House. I am very excited and happy to hear that you had a memorable stay here with us and made you feel at home even on a wet day.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team here and I am sure they will all be extremely happy to hear the same. As a boutique hotel we try to give all our guests a comfortable stay with the best possible customer service.

Thank you once again and we look forward to having you with us in thee near future.

Kind Regards,

Brett Skinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    230
    84
    28
    22
See reviews for
111
490
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is our second stay at Reef House, although some 6 years apart. This time we stayed for 5 days on a relaxing break and whilst not luxurious, the hotel has a unique restful atmosphere. Staff are all very friendly and laid back with great service, both in the hotel and the restaurant. We had breakfast each morning and the omelette made to your individual requirements, is definitely worth ordering. We also had dinner one evening and the food was very enjoyable. The only disappointment was that the spa had closed down as our last visit had been one of our favourite spa experiences. We were offered spa treatments at their sister hotel, Sea Temple which was a reasonable walk from Reef House. Much more pleasant to walk downstairs for your massage and back to your room to relax. The two pools were very well kept and at this time of year were both very quiet. We would definitely stay here again and look forward to a treatment at the replacement spa on our next visit !

Room Tip: We stayed in a verandah suite on the third floor which was quite spacious and a nice view out to sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear cdmknows,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your stay at The Reef House. I am glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay and the service you received was exceptional.

We are extremely sorry that we could provide you the same spa experience as you received last time. We are working towards re-opening the spa as quickly as we can, keeping in mind to provide the best spa experience in whole of Tropical North Queensland.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we are looking forward to have both of you here with us.

Kind Regards,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We loved staying at the Reef House. The staff were extremely helpful and the service was great. We stayed in the Verandah Spa room and found it very comfortable and relaxing. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joreid83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Joreid83,

Congratulations and I am very glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. It is always nice to hear a postive review from our guests.

I will share your comments with the rest of our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we are looking forward to have both of you here with us.

Kind Regards,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautifully designed hotel in prime location in the pretty resort of Palm Cove. However it just felt in need of freshening up, new coat of paint, & general TLC. It may well be that we were in March at the end of the wet season which must take its toll on the property. Both swimming pools could have been cleaner & sea water spa broken. Our room was spacious & clean though. The staff were very welcoming & friendly especially Mandy who sorted lots of things for us on our first evening. The evening special offer meal was very good. Breakfast was ok but not much choice of hot items. This hotel has the potential in location, design & it's staff to be a good 4* - hope it can address issues & become it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear CathyWinchesterUK,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about The Reef House. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the service provided by the staff here.

I am happy to inform you that we are in process of giving the building a fresh coat of paint as we speak. Being in the tropics and at the beachfront, the hotel does need a little bit of maintenance every year and this can be carried out only at the end of the wet season.

Along with continental buffet which offers two cooked items, we also offer a la carte breakfast should guest choose to have a bit of variety. Our Reef House Signature Banana Pancakes being the most popular of the menu.

Thank you once again for your positive review and we hope to see you in near future.

Kind Regards,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond NSW Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Hubby & I were given a gift of a 3 night stay here for our Christmas / 33rd Anniversary from our 3 young adult children. It was amazing, staff were friendly, our room was very clean and cosy. We had a choice of 2 pools, 2 spa's, and we had a spa bath in our room. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night and it was delicious, ( 1 very small complaint :- the host on that night gave us a bit of a frosty greeting because we hadn't booked and he said they were booked out, yet there were still tables empty when we had finished our meal) From 5pm to 6pm it's happy hour and we were offered a free cocktail. Yum. We walked up & down the Esplanade and in our opinion the Reef House was the best one for us. So glad our children chose this one. We could take a ride on their push bikes, borrow a book from their library, fresh clean towels to use when we went for a swim. There is 1 fresh water pool & 1 salt water. Each day we spent time in both, I loved the fresh water one, hubby liked the salt water. Our room was so nice, we were at the front of the resort, had a huge bed, fragrant oil burner, air conditioner & ceiling fan, thank goodness for that, we are not quite accustomed to the humidity. One last thing, we were provided with plenty of towels which were big and soft. Also their shampoo, conditioner, shower gel & soap were excellent, loved the scent.......... (1 other small issue, softer, thicker toilet paper would preferable) A BIG Thank you to the staff for making our stay a "memorial" one.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear DiBailey,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at The Reef House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am glad that we were able to provide you a relaxing and a well deserved holiday.

I will share your comments with the entire team here and needless to say they will be thrilled to hear from one more happy guest. I have also taken on board your comments and will look into getting better toilet papers.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to having you here with us shortly.

Kind Regards,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

After spending the last 5 days at the Reef House, I cannot say how highly I recommend the place. It was like staying with friends or family.

The staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful, the booking process was also brilliant with gemma organizing our tours for us. We did not at any stage want for anything!

The restaurant was fantastic, with the chef being ready to assist with any food intolerance (I'm a coeliac) and all wait staff were attentive without being intrusive.

I personally cannot wait to come back here. We plan to come back soon and bring friends. Thank you for a fabulous, restful, fun place to stay on our holiday. You made us feel like family.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Cameron H,

I was very excited to read your comments and we as a team are very much appreciative of your comments regarding your stay at the The Reef House Palm Cove. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with Gemma and the rest of our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we are looking forward to have both of you here with us.

Kind Regards,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
318 reviews
21.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Property: The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Address: 99 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing