We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Escape”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Reef House Resort and Spa is centrally located in Palm Cove. Upon entering into the resort there is almost an immediate sense of serenity, a relaxed environment perfectly accompanied by the cool coastal breezes. The hotel receptionist was welcoming and informative. The resort pools are both fantastic (one is freshwater, the other heated) although they can get overcrowded at times, however you are directly opposite Palm Cove Beach! The rooms are modern, with appropriate amenities. There is a lounge chair swing at the front of the room (uniquely fabulous) which provides a perfect place for reading a book or simply lounging out.
The restaurant was closed due to a private function however there are so many restaurants in Palm Cove to choose from so this should not be taken negatively. The breakfast in the morning was quite minimal, but nevertheless substantial, although there was quite a lengthy wait for the upgraded hot breakfast despite there not being many people in the restaurant at all. Apart from this the stay was Perfect and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caught_a_TravelBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Caught_a_TravelBug,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Reef House Resort Palm Cove. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you for writing such an informative review about the Reef House. Our Brigadier Rooms are quite popular with solo travellers and couple as they have the lounge chair overlooking our pool areas. I am also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay despite the restaurant being closed on the Saturday. As you may have noticed, being on prime location with uninterupted views of the beach, it is a perfect wedding destination!

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    230
    84
    28
    22
See reviews for
111
490
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is an older property but has one of the best locations at Palm Cove. The rooms are large and well furnished. This property is in the centre of the beach and you just cross the road to be walking in the sand.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms at the back as they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear greymanAustralia,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Reef House Resort Palm Cove. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. While all our rooms provide their own sense of privacy and serenity, our Verandah and Verandah Spa Rooms are very popular as you mentioned.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Perfect location right across the road from the beach and in the main "drag"

The hotel reminded me of a Balinese resort, minus the smell and dirtiness you find in Bali.

The restaurant overlooking the beach was beautiful.

Would loved to have spent more time here, one night wasn't enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear tangojo,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Reef House Resort Palm Cove. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are truly a unique hotel in Palm Cove and rightly noted we probably have the best location on the main "drag". I really hope that you get a chance to come and stay with us for more than a day and enjoy Tropical North Queensland like never before.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for the weekend and absolutley loved the location of the property. The rooms are amazing and the dining experience is even better, while you are eating the great food that is served you are blessed with magnificent views from your table. Couldn't ask for a better location or service. Amazing for the value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revelations15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Revelations15,

WOW!!! Thank You so much for rating us 5 out of 5. We are so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Reef House and Palm Cove. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staying at the Reef House is like stepping back in time to what I imagine was a more gracious period for travellers. The buildings are in a lovely colonial style and the rooms are generous in size. There are dozens of rooms on site but you never feel like your "one of the hoard".

Ceiling fans, sliding doors and plantation shutters made the room very comfortable. We were upgraded to a spa room which had no view but was tucked away behind the day spa. During the day we enjoyed the relaxing music coming from the day spa - and we also treated ourselves twice during our stay which was heavenly.

Breakfast was included with our room and we were very pleased with the quality of the buffet. We also ate at the restaurant on our last night and enjoyed that also.

We enjoyed the nice touches such as an oil burner in the room (however we had to ask at reception for matches). We had a very relaxing stay and would thoroughly recommend the Reef House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear kerry3095,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Reef House Resort Palm Cove. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Being one of the oldest buildings standing Palm Cove, I have to agree with your comments that we are truly UNIQUE!

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. It's comments like this that make our jobs more pleasurable

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 11 in Palm Cove
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 11 in Palm Cove
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
319 reviews
21.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 11 in Palm Cove
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Property: The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Address: 99 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing