We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    230
    82
    27
    20
See reviews for
111
486
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I hadn't stayed at this hotel since 1995 and was interested to see how it had stood the test of time. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is every bit as good as when it first opened. While the competition around Palm Cove has increased markedly, Reef House has the premier position on the beachfront strip and the best located restaurant. The rooms are spacious and most have that wonderful tropical inside outside feeling.

All of that said, this place is expensive. Outside of school holidays it is well worthwhile looking around the Internet sites for cheap deals, we paid only half the normal rate. At the right place it is hard to beat as a really comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear BeachSwaggie,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Reef House Resort Palm Cove. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. With the best location in Palm Cove, the Reef House has withstood some testing times and will continue to strive to provide a unique stay to our loyal guests.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brett Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and were highly disappointed in the rooms, rusty, dirty bath, really old furniture, hard bed, stained pillows and towels, sticky floor...there wasn't really anything nice to say about the room to be honest (my expectations were 'luxurious 5 star hotel' considering that's how they market this place) apart from the fact you could hear the ocean when falling asleep which was bliss and the balcony area was spacious and nice to relax on. The pool areas and spa feel quite rundown. Also, disappointed that they don't tell you the inclusive breakfast is actually just a Continental breakfast, although in saying that, the food that was there, namely the fruit, was extremely fresh. Ensure you eat dinner here, the meals are delicious, couldn't fault them at all and the restaurant setting has to be one of the best in Palm Cove. The service was the same, impeccable, staff were absolutely lovely and really, really helpful.

All in all we had a great relaxing holiday here but we've stayed in plenty of five stars in my time and this is definitely doesn't meet the mark.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec_Adg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 29, 2016
Dear Bec_Adg,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently stayed at The Reef House in Palm Cove for a short break from the Melbourne winter and the experience was amazing. The perfect beach getaway, the hotel is situated right in front of the beach and many of the rooms have amazing views overlooking the cove! We had a luxurious spa on our balcony, the perfect place to relax, sip a wine and listen to the sounds of the sea.

The rooms are spacious and immaculate, staff are friendly and professional. The highlight is the amazing restaurant with a beach front deck, built around amazing old gum trees, highlighting the wonderful natural landscape. I spent much time here, reading and dining on delicious meals. I recommend the barramundi but my companion loved the steak. You have 3 pools and a hot spa to bathe in, not to mention the sea.

There are many activities and day trips to be done in this region, therefore you can wile away the days relaxing and eating or get active, I specifically loved taking the bikes provided by The Reef House out for a bay side morning ride. Plenty to do with the children with the zoo and crocodile park not far away.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives and hope to organise another getaway there soon!

Room Tip: Can't go past rooms with beach/seaside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shandelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 29, 2016
Dear Shandelle R,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked this resort as our final destination on our honeymoon. What a let down. Our champagne on arrival as a honeymoon special had to be requested by us. Then when it was finally time to retire for the evening I turned down the bed to find stained pillowcases on our polyester pillows. By the time our new pillow cases arrived I was already seeking alternative accommodation, I was not paying them another $500 a night for this pathetic room. We decided we would make the most of our late check out and sleep in, however with music playing in the main area until 10:30 and an air conditioning system that didn't go below 23 degrees, this was quite difficult. The next plan to try and redeem some value for our $500 a night motel was to enjoy a complimentary breakfast, should've noted that it was complimentary Continental breakfast, toast juice yogurt dry muffins and some coco pops definitely did not leave us amused. Would not recommend wasting money on this place, the Mantra a few doors down, albeit just a room, looked much more luxurious that this "Boutique Resort".

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 29, 2016
Dear Clare G,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My Wife and I enjoyed a short break to the Reef House Resort and were overwhelmingly impressed with the resort. We had a room that appeared to have just been renovated that was beautifully appointed and close to everything. Outdoor dining was above average, but most importantly the service was amazing with all staff really seeming to care!

I would have no hesitation in saying if you are looking for a place to stay in Palm cove this is it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTilley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear Dtilley74,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Reef House is marketed as a luxury resort but has a long way to go. We expected a quiet, relaxing and luxurious stay but while friendly is was basically a 3.5 star family hotel experience. Largely families with young kids and we were woken the first morning to kids yelling in the pool at 7.30am.

The rooms are shabby and quite basic. Shower was a curtain in corner of bathroom which flooded the toilet area and didn't drain. The shower curtain was dirty and there was no space to put toiletries. There was only one bathrobe, only one piece of soap in bathroom, mixed brand toiletries and fittings were plastic and shabby.

King bed was two singles, zipped and the room felt neither spacious or luxurious.

Staff were friendly and some exceptionally helpful but often totally disorganized. We got repeated misinformation and nothing was simple. They were always willing to resolve things but it became tiring.

The package we bought included breakfast but at no stage were we told it was continental only. Breakfast the first morning was dreadful. Basic cereal. No pastries or croissants, just bread and muffins, and everything ran out. Needed to request, milk, butter, cutlery, etc. There was no black tea, just herbal blends. I've never experienced that in any hotel of any standard. Set up was also poor with people bumping into each other all the time.

It has potential but it needs some serious management. If you were looking for a family holiday for under $200 it would be a nice place to stay but certainly not luxury and not worth $300-400 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear Sarah A,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Property: The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Address: 99 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing