We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, loved the atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, loved the atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. It is the only place in Palm Cove with an unobstructed view of the ocean right from the restaurant. I got the package deal of 4 nights for the price of 3, included were breakfast and wi-fi (verandah room was very adequate). It is not a spotless place as others have noted, but I did not have a problem with it. The brigadier's cocktails at 5pm were a great touch and the real candles lit at night. I loved my bath soak and Swedish massage at the Spa. Would stay here again if I ever have the chance. My room was always serviced. I could hear the ocean from my room and slept well.

Room Tip: Verandah room is nice and not as expensive as the others. You have a wet bar on the verandah.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear BandBenthusiast,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    221
    79
    25
    19
See reviews for
103
465
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed in one of the Brigadier Beachfront Spa Rooms. As other reviewers have said, the room was a bit tired and needed some paint and sprucing up. The swinging chair was nice, but it wasn't facing the ocean view (what genius decided on that?). The oil burners in the rooms are a silly idea: without matches, essential oils and tealight candles they just look dirty and I thought most hotels discouraged the lighting of candles? The spa tub was great - it was huge and would easily fit two people (and a couple of small kids!). The bed was very hard. The included breakfast was very average: fruit, pastries, yoghurt. One day there was eggs and bacon etc. but it very much depended on the time you showed up as to what you got and the service was lackluster at best. The coffee machine was broken and only offering hot water for 2 days of my 4 day stay.

"Lackluster" really does sum up Reef House. My room wasn't serviced until after 4:30pm on two days. One day I told them to forget it and just leave me towels. The room service woman turned up with an armfull of unfolded towels and asked me if I wanted them folded. I understand the hotel was busy, but if you've got a full house and you're calling yourself a four star hotel, you call in more staff. A water main burst one morning and the water was off for almost the entire day. I understand this isn't Reef House's fault, but there was no apology, no complimentary water offered and no discount offered. Car parking is in the basement and to get there you have to walk past stinking trash and down a dirty staircase.

This hotel is not a "resort", it is definitely not 4 star and you can definitely find better rooms, far better service and probably better prices elsewhere.

Room Tip: The Brigadier Beachfront Spa Rooms have a view, but they're obviously also street side and can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atacoatemybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear atacoatemybaby,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Do you ever go to places and think if I had this property I could make this work so much better. This is one of them ...
Great location quite nice looking property in that it fits in .. Great front of house area ,good dining area , lovely pools ,
Every think works just needs love ,we a group of 10 spent 4nights
Ate out every night spending 1k per night not in the hotel ,honesty bar never open when everything shuts at 10am interesting ,they didn't show us love no idea on service levels that today people expect , could do better ,I wouldn't say don't stay hear but it's needs to spruce up its act could be fantastic if they want it

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear Mike A,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was fooled into thinking this was a '5' star 'resort' by wotif. The room we has was a one bedroom spa apartment - apparently the best in the place. First impressions were marred because the room was dirty, the service was poor and over the 3 days I stayed they did not service the room once, despite repeated reminders!

Overall this is a 3 star at best, I would never ever stay here again and actually checked out a day early to stay at the sea temple in port Douglas!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear Christovr,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a weeks R&R here, despite reading some average reviews on Trip Advisor, decided to book as location was good.
Room was just not 5 star as advertised. Paint peeling off the ceiling above the bed, room fan noisy and dirty, TV only worked on 3 channels.
On three occasions we requested room service replenish our in room coffee and sugar sachets, never happened, we had to buy coffee from the local store.
Had Breakfast in restaurant on first morning, but did not return as food average, service slow and prices too high.
This hotel has a great location, but seems to have lost its former shine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear Dave2305,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We came to this resort for a much needed rest in a warm climate. The location is wonderful, and the rooms while dated large with aterrace that is so large that it really is another room. However we were mostdissapointed that on two of the 4 night we were booked in for weddings were held that really spoilt our stay. ON the Friday night wthe common lounge area was take over by the afternoon so that aceremony could take place. Half the pool area was also set up with tables and chairs and it became unpleasant to sit there while the wedding was being set up. At night loud music and shouting etc. meant that we could not sit and have quiet drink and chat on our terrace and we had to go out. The next night another wedding was set up. The ceremony took place by the pool in the afternoon so again we had to leave the pool and while the reception was held in the front of the resort wedding guests wondered around the pool outside our room and there was plenty of loud laughter and shouting which was unpleasant and ruined our evening. I would never have stayed at the resort if I had known it was also a reception centre. If you want to stay there and like your quiet chick to see if any weddings will take place while you are there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Joe522015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and found the location a real plus, right in the centre of Esplanade. The hotel lacks the WOW factor and looks tired and really needs Accor to wave the magic wand- upgrade to a 5-star as it is currently a 4-star. Our expectations were exceeded by the food - my partner and I eat out regularly and can be described as foodies, the restaurant has a talented chef, food is excellent and the 20% discount is a great incentive, we ate their 3 times (try the 5 course degustation menu), Kerin in the restaurant was fabulous.
At reception, Gary needs to be trained, better still moved to another role, he was rude,never acknowledged the guests, no thank you's, have a nice day, nothing. If you don,t enjoy the job then find another one.
Word of advice, check if there are any weddings on...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Dear B S,

I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,

Wayne Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Property: The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Address: 99 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing