We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here as a base for our Queensland stop on Honeymoon Feb 2005. Very boutique, lovely big rooms with amazing Jacuzzi on the balcony. Was private enough walk around naked and dip in and out of tub without offending other guests. Lovely little place to base yourself from. The spa was also lovely, and treatments were out of this world!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciscobloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear ciscobloke,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 827 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely setting and the facilities are very good. We enjoyed our stay and the lady at the desk was very helpfull when we checked in although some of the other staff were a bit off hand.
My only criticism was the standard of cleanliness. Our bathroom floor was dirty and still had someone else's hair on it which didn't move while we were there. I felt that some areas could do with a good clean but I have to admit that given the humidity of Palm Cove it must be difficult to keep things pristine.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor was light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear Pat F,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Reef House with my boyfriend for just the one night and it was such a lovely experience!

First of all, the staff was so friendly and welcoming, we had been travelling the whole day and they were all so nice. Norman (I believe that was his name) was such a pleasure to deal with (especially after some hotel staff in Cairns who were mediocre if not rude). My boyfriend and I were celebrating a special occasion and I really felt that the staff at the Reef House ensured it was that little bit more special. Our room was beautiful and the late check out was a fantastic finishing touch.

The resort facilities are great too! Their pools are wonderful (they have both freshwater and saltwater ones). The resort is so relaxing and Reef House even has bikes you can use.

Needless to say, I would thouroughly recommend staying here and it was really worth getting out of Cairns for a bit (my only regret being that I didn't schedule 2 nights outside of Cairns instead of 1)!

Thank you Reef House - if we're ever far north queensland again we will definitely we will definitely be staying with you again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank v_james_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear v_james_22,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Very unimpressed.
Staff were rude sloppy and unkept. In the mornings we went down for our complimentary breakfasts and received no smiles or "good mornings" just a rude "what's your room number, it cost $10 to upgrade". We didn't upgrade and the basic breakfast was fine ( fruit, yogurt, toast, cereal) however on the second day the fruit had mostly gone bad. When my partner asked for soy milk for her coffee she was huffed at before being given a tiny drop of milk.
On our first night we were told that our were playing music too loud in our room. ( keep in mind it was 4pm and we were playing our iPod from a tiny iPod dock that the hotel provided. )
We turned the music off IMMEDIATELY and yet were told of by a very rude staff member AGAIN when we walked down stairs for dinner. This staff member argued with us for 10 minutes and was very patronising just because we are two young ladies. ( one a successful lawyer, the other a high school teacher - not in the business of trouble making).
The next morning we were rudely told off for the music AGAIN by the manager who was rude and very messy looking sweating and shirt untucked - Not what we expect from a '5 star resort'.
The room it's self was ok but very boring and you couldn't shut the windows properly - probably a bad idea in a tropical environment. The bugs were shocking.
On our second day the resort was doing heavy Maintenance for the entire day - drilling, hammering and making heaps of noise. Really ruined our last day there we didn't want to sit by the pool as we couldn't even hear each other talk.
No warning of this disturbance and no apologies.
The evening punch which we were looking forward too was a joke, a sad looking bowl of juice sitting alone in a bench with no one around in sight, including staff, to stop the flies from swimming it.
We would have loved to talk management about our horrible experience however on our last day at check out there was no "how was your stay?" just a swipe of the credit card.
Having had a read of all the prior comments below it is clear that whenever a bad review is put up someone from the resort tries to justify their bad behaviour and blame the customer, so ild love to state in advance the customer is always right (especially when paying $320 per night) and the staff here do need some training in hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heidiandtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear heidiandtash,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here with my partner for two nights in mid-March. This is a picturesque complex with two rectangular pools, around either of which you can easily while away the hours on a lounger. The staff here are excellent and serviced all of our requirements promptly. It's in a great location - on the beach esplanade in the centre of Palm Cove. Our room was high up on the 2nd or 3rd floor overlooking the spa roof, but we still had a good view of the ocean and it was a very comfortable and large room on the end of the building. I think the bed was posturepedic or something, because it was very comfortable and had a mozzie net over it, which wasn't required, but was a nice feature. We didn't get around to trying any spa treatments - they were very booked up, so they must be worth it? A great place (especially on a deal :).

Room Tip: Can't comment on the spa, because we didn't get a chance to use it. Obviously better if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogey147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear bogey147,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you're looking for a wonderful place to relax, sleep by the pool, have dip in the ocean (in the safety nets!) and enjoy great food - Reef House will suit you to the ground. A bit of renovation work happening at the moment, but we were placed far away from it, and with two pools to choose from, it wasn't painful at all. It does have that old world charm - arrival cocktails, honour system bar - and how lovely is that?! It is top little hotel in one of the most gorgeous spots in Australia - Palm Cove is blessed with a beautiful beach, lots of great restaurants to try and an amazing laid back feel. Reef House fits the bill nicely.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ecky_thump69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear ecky_thump69,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

OK, let's note up front this "old girl" suffered when it left the Sebel brand, going into the wilderness for a year or so and not worthy of the luxury tag. Now part of M Gallery, even the staff have a Spring in their step again. It deserves to be treated as a boutique hotel. If you want squeaky clean and new, this is not for you. One of the first resorts ever built at Palm Cove, fashioned around an original millionaire's beach house, rooms spread out with a Mediterranean feel, stone, arches, white, you get the idea. Rooms with louvres, fans and mosquito nets over the bed hark back to its early life. Two pools provide choice, the restaurant deck has the million dollar sea view and their famous honour system bar still draws one and all at dusk. We spent an idyllic weekend, wandering aimlessly to and from dinner at night, striding out on the pier by morning. Just lovely.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank J0hnnyG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear J0hnnyG13,
I know it has been a while since your stay with us however I just wanted to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Take care and we hope to see you back at the Reef House again in the near future,
Best regards,
Wayne Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,406 reviews
0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,169 reviews
21.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Address: 99 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: $165 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing