We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Tropical Zoo - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Holiday stroll

On our walk around Cairns we had heard about this zoo on the roof top of a hotel It was... read more

Reviewed December 18, 2017
Wendy066
,
Bunbury
via mobile
Loved it

We happened upon this zoo while driving up the coast. I am so glad we stopped and took the time to... read more

Reviewed March 30, 2016
travelbug2222
,
Toronto
Read all 693 reviews
  
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveler rating
359
224
76
25
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
224
76
25
9
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 693 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After our first review was removed, or misplaced we still have a right to review our experience at the zoo.
It looks run down in the buildings and pathways, a good once over will get the mould off places.
I could ramble on but that might be the reason the first review disappeared.

We did also go to Breakfast with the Birds in Port Douglas a week later it was much better.

This review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this establishment.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank LeBJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The zoo promised little animals to see and none stroke excitement the only part worth it was the aviary with parrots.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Denecastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a great place and the wildlife is fantastic. One red tailed cockatoo flew down to my shoulder and then started talking and it was great. If you look hard around the place there is a lot of birds. To see. Enjoy the time there as it is wonderful

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank dannyvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This zoo is truly a place to visit at night especially if you are a tourist and you'd love to get up close and personal with Australian Animals. From the Aussie BBQ & drinks to the expert commentary from the staff make this a real experience. This was a second visit to the night zoo from Melbourne. It's the only place where I have seen Koala's actually awake and walking around.....and where you can give them a cuddle!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Giggleslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Not a great variety of animals, i expected to see more, however they are well housed and cared for. The staff were very friendly especially the bird staff. If you want your photo taken with a koala this is the place for you, also they're effort in conservation is awesome!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank laura_dawn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews