We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilarious and informative”

Hartley's Crocodile Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.01*
and up
Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just 40 minutes north of Cairns and 25 minutes south of Port Douglas, Hartley’s Crocodile Adventures is simply the best place to see crocodiles and local wildlife in Tropical North Queensland. With over 2100 metres of timber boardwalks and pathways leading you on a journey of discovery through woodlands and rainforest where you can see an array of wildlife, including beautiful tropical birds, reptiles, insects and other native fauna.Enjoy our entertaining and educational wildlife presentations including snakes, cassowaries, koalas, crocodiles, quolls and much more. Take a boat cruise on Hartley’s Lagoon to see crocodiles and other wildlife on our melaleuca wetland. Learn about sustainable use and conservation on our Crocodile Farm tour. The newly opened Gondwana Gateway is an innovative addition to Hartley’s where you can learn about the evolution of Australian wildlife in a beautiful forest setting surrounded by living descendants of Australia’s ancient past. Enjoy a delicious snack in Lilies Restaurant overlooking Hartley’s Lagoon and find that perfect gift, including crocodile leather products, in the Paperbark Gift Shop. Open daily from 8:30am to 5:00pm, this multi-award winning eco-adventure attraction is located just 100 metres off the Captain Cook Highway on the spectacular scenic drive between Cairns and Port Douglas.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hilarious and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great fun for the whole family , the staff there are really passionate about wildlife preservation and really knowledgable as well . The tours are fun and you learn a lot as well . Would totally do it again , and recommend it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPrincess83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,793
    607
    78
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Well done Hartleys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Although we have lived in FNQ for 11 years, this was our first visit to Hartley's.
Our son and daughter in-law and our 2 1/2 yr old grandson were visiting and they wanted to have the day there. It is a great place to take most age groups.
As adults we loved it. The exhibits and educational programs were well done. The area and facilities are well kept. The food is a reasonable price, with good sized, or oversized portions. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and know their jobs well.
Will be pleased to take other visitors to Hartley's

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank aussienomadAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

great place to go and visit, well priced and importantly not a rip off for food and drinks.
both kids and adults loved the visit - would visit again next time in area

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bustrav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smashing Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is basically a zoo but it doesn't seem like one since the kangaroos roam around and the koalas sleep in the little trees. Best of all are the crocodiles in the lagoon. On our boat trip the guide put meat on a branch and an eagle swooped down to snatch it while a large crocodile tried vainly to snatch at the eagle. The area is quite extensive with a lot of native animals and birds. also we saw a quoll for the first time. It's all very well done.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emilymichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“After a Reef trip, this is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Crocodiles are awesome and are one of the things Americans associate Australia with. So we had to go here, especially after the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. It took about 35 minutes to drive up from downtown Cairns. Beautiful drive, too BTW.

Now I'll get to the crocodile stuff in a second. But first off I have to mention how awesome the petting zoo area is here. Nobody mentions it but if you want to see kangaroos and wallabies up close and personal, this is the place to go. They have this large fenced in forest that has a huge assortment of these guys running around. You can feed them and they're not that shy. Great opportunity for pictures. When we went in, it was just me and my two friends. It was crazy. There's also another set of koalas in there that are just out of reach but so close it felt odd for us not being supervised by anyone.

On to the the crocs. Yeah they have a ton of them. They have a schedule everyday that you can follow as there are keepers giving talks and demonstrations from the freshwater ponds, to the saltwater lagoon where you ride in a boat and see a feeding up close. And of course the attack show later in the day. The farm tour is good, too. It's interesting enough and doesn't drag on. Our handler pulled a smaller crocodile out of the pit and let everyone come up and pet its belly.

They also have snake and koala shows. You can pay $20 to take a picture with these animals, too.

With free parking and $35 AU per adult, this place was a steal. We were there from 11-4:30. Lots to do.

Hit it up.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartley's Crocodile Adventures also viewed

 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Hartley's Crocodile Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing