We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature, animals and local "family" venue”

Hartley's Crocodile Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.57*
and up
Hartley's Crocodile Adventures Day Trip from Cairns
More Info
$77.49*
and up
Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour
More Info
$74.26*
and up
Breakfast with the Koalas at Hartley's Crocodile Adventures from Cairns or Palm...
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just 40 minutes north of Cairns and 25 minutes south of Port Douglas, Hartley’s Crocodile Adventures is simply the best place to see crocodiles and local wildlife in Tropical North Queensland. With over 2100 metres of timber boardwalks and pathways leading you on a journey of discovery through woodlands and rainforest where you can see an array of wildlife, including beautiful tropical birds, reptiles, insects and other native fauna.Enjoy our entertaining and educational wildlife presentations including snakes, cassowaries, koalas, crocodiles, quolls and much more. Take a boat cruise on Hartley’s Lagoon to see crocodiles and other wildlife on our melaleuca wetland. Learn about sustainable use and conservation on our Crocodile Farm tour. The newly opened Gondwana Gateway is an innovative addition to Hartley’s where you can learn about the evolution of Australian wildlife in a beautiful forest setting surrounded by living descendants of Australia’s ancient past. Enjoy a delicious snack in Lilies Restaurant overlooking Hartley’s Lagoon and find that perfect gift, including crocodile leather products, in the Paperbark Gift Shop. Open daily from 8:30am to 5:00pm, this multi-award winning eco-adventure attraction is located just 100 metres off the Captain Cook Highway on the spectacular scenic drive between Cairns and Port Douglas.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nature, animals and local "family" venue”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was more than a Crocodile Adventure - got to see and pet kangaroos & wallabys plus a koala. The boat ride got us up close with an angry crocodile. This was a true Australian animal adventure park. We also enjoyed the tour of the farm raised crocs - now we know why crocodile bags cost so much.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peach8054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,934
    647
    80
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was well worth the money. You only need an afternoon or a morning here. Great fun doing the boat cruise and the croc attack show was great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jaw Dropping Attack Show”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I'm not sure why exactly, but I wasn't expecting much from this attraction, but it was a fantastic day out! The boat tour was great, the tour guide was especially entertaining... hilarious in fact! They did well to find such great staff, I think it's what makes this place great. This is a proper Aussie experience that taught us a few home truths about crocs. The attack show was amazing, a real jaw dropping experience. And despite the jokes about the koala feeding time being the adrenaline highlight of the day, they currently have a very young koala who is the most active koala that I've ever seen in my life, very cute.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pingerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Owner at Hartley's Crocodile Adventures, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks Pingerella for this excellent review. Our locals are always the hardest to please because we have more attractions in the Cairns/Port Douglas region than any other regional area of Australia. Funnily enough our staff in most cases have worked for us before, left seen what other people are like to work for and returned back to 'Snappyville' once more. We have a lot of fun at work and it is a great team. One of the many advantages of a family owned and run business as opposed to a giant multi-national corporation. Viva la difference!! Regards, Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great time & good people excellent value. We fed the crocs, viewed the wildlife, saw the shows & ate the food. I recommend the salt & pepper croc. The guides are great (even if they like teasing Kiwi's).They can even take a bit of teasing themselves all in good humour. You need the full day so you don't miss the shows. This is the only way to make sure you get to see a croc. I can't say more than you must go if you are in the area!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Keeps your arms inside the boat!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We took a trip Hartley's Crocodile Farm and Wildlife Park. The guided tour took us to a lagoon area where the guide explained the different crocodile traits of the male and female crocodiles. She explained their eating, mating and nesting habits. The lagoon had one large male in "his" pond, with his "harem" of female in the outer pond.

From there we walk through a wildlife area, where we were able to hand feed the kangaroos. Then we went to the dock area for a short boat ride through another lagoon.

The boat guide explain some more of the habits of these big animals. We went right up to the shoreline, where a female was guarding her nest of eggs, until they hatched. She will be very defensive of her nest until the hatchlings are out and about.

There was a big male close by. We floated up close, and the guide put some meat bait on a long stick to feed the crocadile. The "croc" came out of the water like a rocket about 4 feet to snap the bait right off the stick!. Guess that is why the guide says to keep your arms inside the boat!

Another big crocadile was close by and he did the same thing. The way they launch themselves out of the water is amazing.

On the way back to the dock, we stopped by a dead tree, the guide put some food on the limb and a hawk came swooping down out of no where and snatched it up and flew off with it. He did it twice.

Cameras are a must for this part of the visit, with the close up activity.

At the end of this part of the tour, we were taken to the farm area, where the crocodiles eggs are hatched and then put is large enclosures. As they grow they are transferred to another enclosure until they reach full size.

On the way out, we had our photos taken with a Koala Bear. We couldn't hold it, but one of the guides held it for us.

The tour was over, but well worth the trip and a great learning experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartley's Crocodile Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Hartley's Crocodile Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing