We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New (best) location in Cairns, still amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nu Nu Restaurant

Nu Nu Restaurant
Reserve with
Nu Nu Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $73
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New (best) location in Cairns, still amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We've eaten at many restaurants around the world, and have returned time and again to NuNu. The food is conisistently brilliant, the menu clever and dynamic and the staff attentive and well informed. It really is one of the great Australian dining experiences, and the ambience of the new location will only entrench its world class reputation. We love it, and can't wait to come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    235
    137
    100
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Region, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Dinner at Nu Nu is a delicious experience. I tried the 5 course taster menu with matched wines and each course was an explosion of beautiful flavours. Imaginative food served by warm friendly knowledgeable staff. I loved it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddleEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nu Nu....YES YES!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I have dined at Nu Nu quite a few times over the ten years that they have been in this area and went again recently to check out the new venue....and WOW!!!! Absolutely love the new setting; simply beautiful...watching the moon rise over the ocean through swaying palm trees, you know you are definitely in paradise!!
My partner and I decided on the tasting menu and were both completely satisfied with the variety, quality and quantity of the meals. I would go so far as saying that it was the best meal I have ever had at Nu Nu, if not the best meal ever.
Service was also wonderful...very friendly and knowledgable...loved the detailed description of each meal as it was delivered to our table.
Well done team...can't wait for my next visit!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kspazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easily the Best Restaurant in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I am in love with Nu Nu's food. Having just moved to the new absolute beachfront location - divine for cocktails before eating the best food available in Cairns. Personal favourites the ribs, betel leaf entree, exotic and unusual fusions, I think the chef is a genius. Try the crab omelette for breakfast, and the duck fried rice for a great lunch. I went elsewhere and just had to keep going back I think I have eaten the whole menu....too good to miss.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bootja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
1 review
“best mudcrab ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

we decided to check out the new Nu Nu last night and we were not disappointed. Firstly sitting down so close to the water listening to the waves and watching the moonlight glisten off the water set us up for a fantastic experience. The friendly and attentive service matched the brilliant location we ordered quickly off the exciting and varied menu and didn't have to wait very long for our food .
The Red Emperor parcels were tasty and exotic, the palm heart salad hit the spot and the whole Mudcrab really blew us away.I would say if you go to one restaurant whilst staying in Cairns go to this one it really encapsulates the spirit of Far North Queensland using local ingredients to highlight this beautiful place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikey692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu Nu Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Nu Nu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing