We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with a one off bad point”

The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro
Ranked #19 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Standing proudly in the middle of Williams esplanade we offer all day dining with a relaxed coastal vibe. We focus on being a house of good food and a home of hospitality, offering locally sourced products, a great variety of beverages, outside dining and a kids corner. So go where the locals go and come on down to The Rising Sun!
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good with a one off bad point”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had the meat pizza adapted to suit our being vegetarian however when it arrived it was burnt and not particularly edible, however on mentioning it to the staff a replacement was speedily offered, we did decline and it was taken off of the bill.
Just an unfortunate incident as we had breakfast there the following day which was very good. Location, service and staff were all great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Shock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    266
    86
    53
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food was fine, but service wasn't”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

First, I was attacked by what looked like a very small scorpion. it fell out of the ceiling and onto my shoulder. The food was good, but our waitress didn't care about us, and it was expensive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammamet
1 review
“Service poor”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Went on valantine night , ordered just after 5 pm and got starter pretty quick , unfortunately main was well over an hour later despite the place being half empty , watched as several people where turned away being told we are booked out ..... I finally left at 8pm and it was still half empty. Service poor . Food good

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ally_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We often come here for a relaxing lunch. Plenty of variety on the menu, decent portions & nice to share amongst your table.

Service is prompt & friendly. Breezes and views are good both inside & out.

If you can take your time the long neck on ice is a good way to enjoy a beer with lunch.

Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great way to enjoy a palm cove sunset”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in the hotel above here for the week and managed to make it to the bar for happy hour a number of times in the afternoon. Staff were lovely and the cocktail selection was great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing