We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ribs”

The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro
Ranked #19 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Standing proudly in the middle of Williams esplanade we offer all day dining with a relaxed coastal vibe. We focus on being a house of good food and a home of hospitality, offering locally sourced products, a great variety of beverages, outside dining and a kids corner. So go where the locals go and come on down to The Rising Sun!
La Paz, Bolivia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ribs”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved going to this restaurant. Great prices and great food. The ribs were divine and I reccomend them to anyone that loves a good rack. The cocktails were yummy and the wait staff so forthcoming. Thank you guys for a great time

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PabloVa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    260
    85
    51
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very average breakfast”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Aren't here for breakfast, which was very average. I had banana bread toast which didn't seem fresh, was very dry. My husband had eggs benedict which also wasn't great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pomelo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Parmas are huge!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We've been here a few times and enjoyed it each time. Good quality food and service was always friendly and good.

The parmas are great but very filling as they're made from a huge chicken breast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Customer Service and Food in Cairns - nothing positive about this place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place is shocking and I am sure they must have paid to have any kind of award and the positive reviews on here - um are they for real? I have never in my life been to a place with such rude and unaccommodating wait staff and then been told after we waited for half an hour for two chicken wraps - after we said 'oh we didn't realise there was onion in the wrap as it wasn't on the menu' the waiter/cook said sarcastically - oh there's lots in the food that's not on the menu, what do you want?? - no apology no offer to fix it nothing. It kind of stunned us - and to mention the food ummm don't order the chicken wrap - it is a stale wrap roll, with lettuce, onion and if you look very carefully some chicken oh and a massive slab of fetta - sure it said avocado to....hmmmm. Yes customer service is not the best in Cairns cafes/restaurants but I have never complained or took to social media. DONT GO TO THIS PLACE.....HUGE WASTE OF MONEY, worst service in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely location, good food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best location in palm cove, looking over the beach. The kids meals were nice and they were accommodating towards the kids. The adults meals were very nice. They have a lot of weddings here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneScorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing