We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy salads and cocktails” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro

The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro
Ranked #16 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Standing proudly in the middle of Williams esplanade we offer all day dining with a relaxed coastal vibe. We focus on being a house of good food and a home of hospitality, offering locally sourced products, a great variety of beverages, outside dining and a kids corner. So go where the locals go and come on down to The Rising Sun!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy salads and cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had lunch here on our recent trip to palm Cove. The salads were really nice. We had the beef and the thai chicken. Both were amazing and very tasty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    244
    83
    47
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My partner and I were staying at the resort behind the restaurant. We came here for happy hour almost every day. The staff were very friendly and got to know us over the 10 nights we were there. The food was lovely and were given a discount! Compared to the other places we ate in Palm Cove this was by far the best. Not only was the food good quality, but it was not overpriced like a lot of the other places. The portion of food on our plates was also enough to fill a grown man, unlike Vivo just down the road which served a mouthful as a main.
Definitely come here for dinner if you are around! Lovely ocean view in the front as well!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ehender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Menu has changed, food is great!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I went in for a few drinks and a bite to eat on Saturday night. Staff were attentive and polite as always. I noticed the menu had changed since I'd last eaten there. We shared the calamari and hand cut chips. Both were outstanding and reasonably priced. Very happy and would definitely come here again. Like the atmosphere and food. Cheers!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank japaneselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“attentive fast service of good f ood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

In comparison with the service elsewhere in palm cove this was superb. Samosas were a delight served with an imaginative mint, corriander, chili. yoghurt sauce. Well worth a visit despite the entrance looking a. downmarket.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank martin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The only place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent quality food, good drinks, great staff. We ate here every day, great view of beach, food and drink specials, too

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pilotstrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing