We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worthwhile”
Review of Colonies At The Cove - CLOSED

Colonies At The Cove
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's worthwhile”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Went here on our firt night in Palm Cove and did enjoy it. I wouldt say its the greatest tasting food or greatest value, but all in all we were satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BackToMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    50
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Great Experience.not to be missed”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a trip to Cairns, Port Douglas and Palm Cove. Our memorys are of the Daintree and Colonies at Palm Cove. We were blown away with the meal on our first attendance that we had to go back again the next night. We told relatives that we were with about our experience at Colonies and they had to try it as well. They also were wrapt with the meal. I might also add that the owners and experienced staff were excellent. A job well done Colonies. We shall return again when we are next in F.N.Q.
regards, Ian & Wendy from Horsham Victoria.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colbenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummmm!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had dinner here on our last night and food was fabulous! Hubby had the special barramundi with morten bay bug & prawns and is still talking about it! I had creole calamari it was the tastiest I've ever had. Shared desserts - apple pudding, white chocolated cheesecake and toffee pudding - we ate the whole lot because they were so nice & we were greedy!
Friendly service.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deux_fils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best meal in palm cove!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Had a weeks holiday in palm cove. Great - different restaurant every night - that's what holidays are for! Last night went to colonies purely on spec and look of menu. Menu turned out to be very classy. Credit to chef. Really good meal finished off great holiday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Cove
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food and excellent, friendly service”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is a restaurant I would go back to again and again. The food was great, nice fresh ingredients and cooked to order. The restaurant was cosy, relaxed and personal. Service was friendly and accommodating.

Really enjoyed the Bay lobster linguine (aka Thenus Orientalis, flathead lobster, bay lobster or more colloquially moreton bay bug! - sorry couldn't stop myself after reading one of the other reviews - lucky we're Australian and know that ;o) )

The wine list is not extensive but has some very nice options, we were quite happy with the house white.

It was a great place to have our romantic dinner, and we never felt rushed with time to enjoy and digest each course before the next was served.

Highly recommended

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GFGFGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonies At The Cove also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing