We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Heaven”
Review of Portobello

Portobello
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $19 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family friendly italian restaurant serving only the best local produce. Italian food with an innovative twist. Enjoy al fresco dining opposite beautiful Palm Cove beach. Dine in or takeaway. Fully licensed bar. Restaurant is available for functions and off site catering.
Wangi Wangi, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food Heaven”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Four of us dined at Portabello in late April and had the most exciting food experience ever. From entrees to mains and desserts, it was the best so far. We eat here every time we visit (every ten weeks) and have never been dissappointed. My choice off the specials menu never fails to impress. Our choices of Salmon, Barramundi, Gnocchi Portobello and Fettuccine Polpette were delicious.The mains can be quite filling, so be careful if you order entrees. Desserts are to die for so save some room. Price is on par with other restaurants in the area. Authentic, tasty, well presented, visually beautiful meals served by very professional and helpful staff. Relaxing atmosphere, overlooking beautiful Palm Cove. Definitely worth a visit. Guarantee you will return next time. We certainly will.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    317
    124
    74
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, AVERAGE SERVICE”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were shown to a table just in front of the pass quite quickly, but it took quite a while for someone to take our order. When the waiter arrived, we asked for 2 mains, a mocktail and a carafe of wine. He did not write our order down and I said to my husband that this would show how good a waiter he is if he remembers everything. Whilst we were waiting for our food, I was watching the waiting staff who seemed rather flustered, even though it was quite early in hte evening. When they collected the food from the pass, they turned around facing the dininhg area and stood there with a confused expression on their faces, before the penny dropped and they realised who had ordered that dish and brought it to them. The mocktail arrived, followed closely by our meals, but no carafe of wine. Waiters were coming and going with trays of drinks and I would look up expectantly as they came towards us, but they did not stop at our table. We finished our meals and still no sign of the winbe, so we asked for the bill and I said to the waiter "I hope you're not going to charge us for the carafe of wine that we didn't have" His eyes widened "Oops, I forgot" he said. To his credit, he gave us 2 complimentary ports by way of an apology, but the fact remains that if he had written our order down in the first place, he wouldn't have forgotten.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pasta in Palmy”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends and kids, very efficient service and the pasta we all had we enjoyed. The Vagole was very tasty with a generous amount of clams. The crepes for dessert were not what we expected and as a result a little disappointing, but if you need to get carb loaded with flavour Portobello is the one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sorry not value for money”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Entree stuffed mushrooms lacked proper seasoning, we're bland, vegetarian pizza with potatoes, poor flavour balance, potatoes too spicy, artichoke too salty. Barramundi spring rolls were light full of flavour, great mix of flavours nothing was overpowering. For main the garlic prawns were pretty good, except I would say the prawns were slightly over cooked which lost a bit of that distinct prawn taste. A few of the prawns still had the vein in them. $150 can't say it was worth it sorry.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ijaz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
“Buonissimo”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We dined here tonight and the found great service, value for money and very fresh food. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing