We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal”
Review of Portobello

Portobello
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A family friendly italian restaurant serving only the best local produce. Italian food with an innovative twist. Enjoy al fresco dining opposite beautiful Palm Cove beach. Dine in or takeaway. Fully licensed bar. Restaurant is available for functions and off site catering.
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a meal here last year and loved it. Unfortunately the same waiter (he was great) was not there, but the lady who served us was good. The pasta was fantastic, the sauce was to die for. The sirloin steak was different matter. Too much fat and sinew. The plate presentation was what you expect at a pub, not an expensive restaurant . The mussel shells came out without the mussels. At least I ended up with extra mussels when I advised the waitress. The wine $45 a bottle, a bit too much for that quality wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBTLC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    323
    125
    76
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a bloody joke”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

if u never go u never no...so if u want to go.. this restroom restaurant is no no..................the food was sloppy overpriced..no service..bill was over the real value, no joke it was like a nightmare...no one to complain grim faces no standard in hospitality...pasta was not fresh you can see from supermarket even its said was hand made...and fish was so over salted and gms.. yellowish..i cant said no more..just don't go...or if u go don't think you are there............

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ingrid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“this is nightmare in esplanade palm cove”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Gost restaurant...with outdated cheers with terrible service no manager kitchen in dismayed very dirty...i went with my wife two kids...and imagine my daughters are better waiters and outspoken..worst 200 dollars i spent...food was not fresh..and every meal was sloppy greasy..and full of salt.............be aware...very dark atmosphere.............. Why it didn't rain...so we could get up fast fast..er..............

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ingrid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Service was pleasant & generally responsive, although we did have to on several occasions flag the server to request items (e.g. Water, pepper, the cheque at the end of the evening). Wine is over-priced however we did enjoy the $45 Shiraz that we picked (although I'm certain you could get it for a fraction of the price at Dan Murphy's). The pasta was absolutely amazing though, and I can comfortably recommend it and will most certainly return on a future visit. A great location & an overall lovely dinner out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBTLC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having stayed in Palm Cove for 5 days we thought we would end our trip having dinner at a nice Italian Restaurant. Unfortunately not the place to dine if you’re after a nice meal. Part of our order included gluten free pizza bases and assorted mains, if you’re hungry you might want to reconsider! The GF bases are no bigger than 8" in diameter and priced at a premium to the normal bases without being disclosed on the menu. Our other dishes such as the fish of the day lacked the taste and presentation for the dollars the dish commands, I've had better at the local pub. The manager was less than apologetic when we raised this issue and gave us the feeling he didn't care. I don’t usually write reviews but on principle best to know what you’re in for before you part with your hard end money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davo1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing