We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really average”
Review of Portobello

Portobello
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A family friendly italian restaurant serving only the best local produce. Italian food with an innovative twist. Enjoy al fresco dining opposite beautiful Palm Cove beach. Dine in or takeaway. Fully licensed bar. Restaurant is available for functions and off site catering.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really average”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is just so average. Really, save your money and go to better Italians both in Palm Cove and short distances away e.g. Trinity Beach

The salads are over dressed, poorly presented
Entree - Saganaki - so thin it was just chewy and not served on pita but on cheap pizza base cut into slices (Saganaki is Greek by the way, not Italian)

Mains bland and tasteless - need lots of salt and pepper to get anything out of them

Overall - this place is not cheap and not worth the money. I feel sorry for the tourists that this place pulls in - as a local i won't be returning

PS My cutlery was dirty and was replaced when asked with more dirty cutlery!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrispySash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    343
    132
    76
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We had called a few months prior to arrange to have our wedding dinner here. Rose was so lovely and asked us to come in once we arrived to sort our options out.

Our wedding was the Friday and we went in on Thursday to sort our options. ALL the staff were so lovely! Rose gave us a number of options. We decided on the banquet for 17 people and picked out the food options.

When we arrived our seats had sashes on them which was a lovely touch. The staff greeted us and advised the starters would be out in 10 minutes which gave us time for a few pics and grab some drinks.

Everyone started their entrées and when we told them to slow down as the mains would be out soon they were amused that we got a second course as there was so much food already out.

We received the main course and everyone was so happy with the meals and selection.

Everyone is still talking about how great the food is and how great the staff and service is :-)

Thank you to Nathan, rose and Nickola (hope that is the right spelling) for great service, amazing food but most of all making our special day perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou89s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangi Wangi, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Food Experience Ever !”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Delicious meals. Fantastic service. Absolutely value for money. Have had long relaxing lunches and dinners as well. Go there every time I visit family in Cairns, which is often. Have decided to share my main so I can indulge in the mouth-watering desserts. The staff are top notch and Nathan and Rosa work hard to create a lovely atmosphere. Well done, see you next time I visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north coast, nsw
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Pasta. No Parking”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Well cooked pasta in nice surrounds. We decided to drive as there had been light rain but Restaurant Parking (clearly marked) at Mecure Rockford was full once again despite no crowds. Last parking spot was taken just before us by someone who entred the resort (& not one of the restaurants) with a suitcase & slab of beer. It's such a shame because we've stayed at that Mecure before & parked in allocated parking at the rear of the resort & in so, leaving the spaces free that the businesses & their diners rely on. Still, it was an enjoyable meal when we eventually got there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pfft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large range”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had dinner here on a recent trip. With such a massive range of meals it is a little off putting - however we were pleased with the food. Friendly service and a quite surprising wine list also helped the evening. Certainly a good option for dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BJTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing