We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeting place with friends”
Review of Vivo Palm Cove

Vivo Palm Cove
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: All day dining from 6.30am daily. Happy Hour and Tapas from 3-5.30pm. Beachfront dining offering stunning views out to the Coral Sea, incorporating outdoor seating as well as verandah seating in a classic Queensland colonial building. Proudly serving Genovese coffee.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meeting place with friends”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Lovely setting across from the water. Verandah areas on different levels. Interesting and modern menu. Service is friendly and helpful. Open all day. Our experience was for dinner. Cost of meals are reasonable. Cost of alcohol is high. A very pleasant evening. We met with friends we haven't seen for 20plus years and were last to leave. Staff were happy to leave us sit as long as we liked?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,445
    695
    186
    66
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Enjoyed dinner here a couple of nights ago, catching up with friends we hadn't seen for several years. We enjoyed a glass of wine sitting out the front, watching the world go by and the light fade from the sky over the beautiful Palm Cover waterfront. Moved inside to our table for dinner, very attentive waiter who was good enough to apologise for the fairly lengthy time we had to wait for our meals. We all enjoyed our meals - nicely presented, interesting dishes, well cooked. Probably a bit pricey by our standards, specially as you have to pay for any accompaniments in the way of vegetables or salads, but overall very happy we went there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgeingGracefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

On our last day in FNQ we headed to Palm Cove for breakfast. Vivo had been recommended to us, and did not disappoint. We eat breakfast out a lot in Melbourne, and had been struggling to find something here that was as good. Vivo was the place! the setting was glorious. we sat in the front corner, nestled in a hedge of green, overlooking the palm trees and beach. The first test was the coffee - and it was a winner. Both my husband and I had 2! We ordered a range of dishes - French toast, banana hotcakes, bacon and eggs with sides of hash brown, avocado and tomatoes. The only minor niggle was that my son didn't like his "lemon pepper hash brown". It was quite an unusual flavor, but still well cooked. The husband scored it to add to his plate! The kids enjoyed a mango smoothie and banana smoothie to accompany their food. The atmosphere was wonderful, and the service attentive. They were extremely busy when we first arrived, so we had to go to collect an extra plate ourselves as we couldn't raise the attention of a staff member, but this was very minor. A second course ordered was delivered very promptly as the breakfast rush quietened. I would highly recommend Vivo to visitors in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Officious maître d'”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We are here in Palm Cove for the week and Vivo was recommended by a friend. So on Monday we stopped by for dinner. True, we didn't have a reservation but we found the maître d' off-hand and unfriendly.

We were then put at table in the middle of a thoroughfare and we bounced around as each waiter bounded past us.

While the maître d' was unhelpful the rest of the wait staff were great and the food tasty. Hence the average rating.

Helpful?
Thank ShawnC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and service.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Always come here to eat when we are in palm cove and never disappointed. Food and service is always excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivo Palm Cove also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Vivo Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing