We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average but...”
Review of Vivo Palm Cove

Vivo Palm Cove
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: All day dining from 6.30am daily. Happy Hour and Tapas from 3-5.30pm. Beachfront dining offering stunning views out to the Coral Sea, incorporating outdoor seating as well as verandah seating in a classic Queensland colonial building. Proudly serving Genovese coffee.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Better than average but...”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

had dinner at Vivo as we usually do on our trips to Palm Cove. Once again the food was generally good with their calamari entree being a hit. However they sometimes try to do too much with the food as was the case with my wife's main course. I very nice piece of fish done up with a crust that did not enhance the fish at all. My linguine with spanner crab was fresh and tasty however i could only find one substantial piece of crabmeat in the dish. Whilst the service was quick and friendly surely they would offer cracked pepper and perhaps some parmesan cheese to go with the pasta!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chappelli1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,449
    695
    186
    66
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went to Vivo on 3 separate occasions during a 10 day stay in Palm Cove - breakfast, dinner and coffee.

On all occasions, I found this place to be very relaxed, set in a perfect open- air environment. The waiters were all friendly and professional, (especially the guy that served us for breakfast). The menu was extensive and prices where on par with the other restaurants along the strip.

The food on all occasion was delicious...although my poached eggs for breakfast were not as runny as I would have liked them!

I would have given this place 5 stars if it wasn't for the small serving of smoked trout that my friend was given as a side order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and I used Trip Advisor as a guide for brunch as there are so many restaurants in Palm Cove. Vivos did not disappoint. The breakfast menu is varied and although a bit more expensive, totally worth it. I have the trout omelette and my partner had the home made baked beans item on the menu which he raved about. My omelette was huge and delicious and kept me full until dinner time. My partner loved having coconut water with his breakfast and the views and service were excellent. Can't wait to come back here some time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinchyNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Will Cater for Vegans”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Vivo has been a favourite of ours since our first visit in 2011. We had our first meal in Palm Cove here and we always try and eat there when we are staying in town.
Vivo has exceptional service standards—the staff aren't snobbish or pretentious like other places in the area, instead they are professional, friendly and always helpful, from the bar staff, to the chefs to the waiting staff, we have never had a bad experience. So, we always leave a nice tip.
We were concerned when we went there last year, that as we had become vegan, we would not be able to eat at Vivo. However, I emailed the restaurant and they promptly responded with a personalised menu for us. It was absolutely brilliant and not full of the usual insulting meals like salads, risotto, pasta, sorbet and so forth.
This year, we emailed them again, but we didn't receive a reply, I assume this is because they were busy. When we went in to ask about vegan meals they were able to cater for us that night. We got bruschetta and vegetable pasta, which was very nice considering the short notice. The waitress, who was vegetarian and therefore understood exactly what we were after, was absolutely brilliant. She recommended the fruit platter, so we came in the following night to take her up on her recommendation, and it was beautiful: tropical fruits presented skillfully, washed down with some delicious cocktails.
Vivo also does 'Happy Hour' between 3-6pm where all cocktails are $10 and you can get tapas. We had a simple bowl of chips, which was very nice and then tried four different cocktails. Sitting out on the deck sipping mojitos and watching the waves through those stunning palm trees is up there with only the best of experiences, and I certainly recommend it.
What I love about Vivo, apart from the service, the fact they will cater for us, and the quality of the food, is the location. Unlike restaurants further up and down the main road, Vivo is set apart from the crowd. It stands in it's own building, so the atmosphere is intimate and sophisticated, without being crowded or 'touristy'.
This is one of the best restaurants we've been to, and if they keep serving the vegan fare, we'll be happy to eat there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantalTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Perfect level of service, beautiful meals, so much to choose from on the menu , relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend for a special meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlokefromGove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivo Palm Cove also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Vivo Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing