We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is better around” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kununurra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kununurra
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There is better around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a work trip. No hot water at night and despite being assured that it was fixed none the next morning.

Staff member was not really interested, (I'm not a plumber was her response).

Rooms are ok, strong smell of disinfectant.

Nice pool area.

Despite requesting an airport pick up was forgotten.

Restaurant was dark and dingy with drinks at the front bar a little pricey. Have since moved across the road to a better similar priced hotel .

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
1
22
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Motel located in CBD across the road from shopping centre and food outlets. Motel rooms clean but smelt of smoke, left the window open onto the pool all the time so the room did not smell. Stayed 5 days and found food and drink expensive at hotel. Hotel noisey till late at night at weekends, music and singing can be heard in from most motel rooms. Garden and pool area well mantained. Purchase drinks at hotel bottle department far cheaper than bar prices and sat then sat outside of motel at tables tables provided and had nibbles and drinks . Found all staff helpful but most were very inexperienced. Motel a member of the Kimberley Accommodation chain and offer 10% discount if you stay in their accommdation throughout the Kimberley Region (you have to show them your receipt from the previous motel to obtain the discount).

Room Tip: Quieter rooms would be as far as possible from the Hotel Beer Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here just recently, the room we had was very clean and well presented. A beautiful well kept garden out the front of it. The pool was lovely and clean very well maintained. We had breakfast in the dining room which was very nice. The staff where all friendly and helpful. The room we had was very quiet, it was trivia night at the hotel and you couldn't hear a thing I would reccommend here to anyone needing accommodation in Kununrra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Ok for $200/nt it can only be described as atrocious. How this place gets three stars is beyond me obviously they pay the RAC it is not worth one star
They were meant to pick us up at the airport after twenty minutes waiting we rang and someone turned up ten minutes later ( drive into town is about 3 mins)
The room stunk like the mop was mouldy and was decorated in the 70's. The taps leak, toilet leaks and overall very tired and drab.
As we were late due to our pickup time we had dinner there - HUGE mistake
We both ordered steak to be safe and pepper sauce. The sauce had obviously gone mouldy in the fridge but was put on the steak so all you could taste was mould.
DO NOT STAY HERE
And we got charged for the meal!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laslox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kununurra hotels

Fremantle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

The staff were nice (reception staff) - that is about all that was good about the place - oh and the dinner was pretty good. When I tried to book, their online system on their website kept showing an error. When I got here the room smelt of a cross between being shut up for too long and the smell of public toilets. I opened the window (in spite of the 37oC temp outside) but could not get the smell out. The tv remote control doesnt work (2 buttons do - but the rest have died of over use and old age). The bathroom is very run down and the door is split. All the scrubbing in the world couldnt make it look clean. The aircon is noisy - very noisy. Impossible to sleep with - but temp here makes it impossible to sleep with out. I turned it on roughly every hour for 10 mins to try and cool the room, then turned it off and went back to sleep until the heat woke me, and I had to turn it on again. The room looks like it was last refurbished in 1980.... it is well overdue. There are no spare powerpoints in the room and had to plug my laptop into the bathrom. The door handle is dodgy - giving me no certainty of my security!

Seriously - I know how much it costs to run a tourism facility in the north of Australia - but if you dont start reinvesting some money in the hotels in Kununurra - no one will stay in Kununurra by choice! The All Seasons Kununurra is marginally better (in that the aircon in the room I had was at least quiet enough to sleep with)... but at much the same rate, both are well below the standard I would expect for the price.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep before midnight - ask for a room away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaycritic73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Accommodation in Kununurra is dear. So is this place. It's very basic and simple. There is a small fridge, small TV and a kettle. NO toaster.
Bathroom is OK.
Check-in staff were really nice and allowed us to check-in early.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BF_and_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I didnt hold high expectations for the hotel but couldnt get any other accommodation. the pictures of the rooms looked clean and tidy and as it was only a couple of days - it should be fine. What a surprise - the rooms were clean and tidy and even a smidge better than hotel standard. Full cooked breakfast was included in the rate and the meals were all good - backpacking reception staff also seem to have lifted the standard expected with checkin. Being called by your first name whilst checking in - in the kuimberley has never happend to me before. overall a nice surprise

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.5 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.2 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kununurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kununurra

Property: Hotel Kununurra
Address: 37 Messmate Way, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kununurra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Kununurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kununurra Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing